This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Butterfinger/lindt

Jess

Jess Apprentice

Hi everyone! I'm a German student residing in North Carolina and I'm not too familiar with the local products. As far as I know declaration laws for ingredients are a bit different here but wheat has to be declared on the package (in the EU all ingredients that contain gluten have to be stated on the package). Now I read that Butterfinger is gluten-free but on the package it says that it contains cornflakes.

My question is: Did Nestle change the ingredients or are those cornflakes gluten-free?

Another question I have concerns Lindt chocolate. I know that the Lindt chocolate you get in Germany contains barley malt extract but Lindt says that it's gluten free - or at least their supplier told them so - and I heard that malt extract is usually gluten free anyway because of the way it is made.

I'm not an expert on this so I just wanted to make sure that the Lindt chocolate they sell here in the U.S. really contains gluten. (I'm pretty careful about my diet but since my gluten sensitivity is not as strong as with some people the possibility of cross contamination would not necessarily keep me from eating it.)

Thanks in adavance!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

francelajoie Explorer

I know that Lindt chocolate is gluten free. Their truffles are not because they contain barley malt.

As for the butterfinger, I'm not 100% sure.

jerseyangel Proficient

Butterfingers are gluten-free. They don't use regular corn flakes, they use confectioners corn flakes--just corn.

cgilsing Enthusiast