Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate
  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Additional Things to Beware of to Maintain a 100% Gluten-Free Diet

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.
    • Rice and soy beverages because their production process may utilize barley enzymes.
    • Bad advice from health food store employees (i.e., that spelt and/or kamut is/are safe for celiacs).
    • Cross-contamination between food store bins selling raw flours and grains (usually via the scoops).
    • Wheat-bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc.
    • Lotions, creams and cosmetics (primarily for those with dermatitis herpetaformis).
    • Toothpaste and mouthwash.
    • Medicines: many contain gluten.
    • Cereals: most contain malt flavoring, or some other non-gluten-free ingredient.
    • Some brands of rice paper.
    • Sauce mixes and sauces (soy sauce, fish sauce, catsup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc.).
    • Ice cream.
    • Packet & canned soups.
    • Dried meals and gravy mixes.
    • Laxatives.
    • Grilled restaurant food - gluten contaminated grill.
    • Fried restaurant foods - gluten contaminated grease.
    • Ground spices - wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping.

    Edited by Scott Adams



    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Guest Carol the Dabbler

    Posted

    According to the manufacturer's web site all varieties of Rice Dream non-dairy beverages and all varieties of Soy Dream non-dairy beverages are currently GLUTEN-FREE.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest louis

    THANK YOU

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Kathryn

    Posted

    Rice Dream states directly on the packaging that it is 'gluten free.' .

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Barbara

    Posted

    I called the manufacturer of Rice Dream, and was assured that their (at least the organic variety) rice beverage was completely gluten-free. And as for malt flavoring, check with the manufacturer again, as some malt flavoring is from corn, not barley. It's annoying to have to make calls, but better safe than sorry, and sometimes you get the happy surprise that a seemingly 'unsafe' product is really safe.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Eddie Acevedo

    Posted

    I have been diagnosed with Celiac since 2004 and never thought of the toaster oven as being a gluten carrier. Thank you so much for the tip. It's so hard to maintain a 100% gluten free diet in this high gluten society.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Nancy Adams

    Posted

    What a great site, and very helpful information. My daughter who is 14 just got diagnosed last month and I also now have to read all labels and help her make sure that she is following the diet as best as she can. Thanks for the great work......

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest cluppins

    Posted

    Rice Dream irritates my stomach. I use West Soy Rice beverage, plain. It tastes like real milk. Don't forget to shake the rice containers before drinking because of settling.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Doug Newsam

    Posted

    Many thanks for this column! It is a wonderful source of invaluable information.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Virginia Wood

    Posted

    Your site is very helpful. Thank you for sharing all the information with us. I am newly diagnosed with this wheat gluten allergy.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest melenda casey

    Posted

    Thanks you for this site, it is very helpful. keep up the good work

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Paula

    Posted

    Re: Cluppins and Rice Dream irritating stomach. You're tummy may actually be bothered by the thickener used in many alternative 'milks' such as Rice Dream - carrageenan. My doctor brought this to my attention, along with problems attached to sugar substitute Chicolin. Both can cause cramping and stomach upset in general. Both don't bother my husband but they did me.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Paula

    Posted

    Oops. I didn't realize that Rice Dream actually has barley in it. I was diagnosed AFTER I had stopped drinking it. However, my comments still stand for anybody out there regarding Chicolin and Carrageenan. Cheerio.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate
  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients)
    Celiac.com's safe food and ingredient list has been compiled and maintained for nearly 25 years. We keep the list updated with any additions or changes. Feel free to comment below if you believe something should be added to it.
    A
    Acacia Gum
    Acesulfame K
    Acesulfame Potassium
    Acetanisole
    Acetophenone
    Acorn Quercus
    Adipic Acid
    Adzuki Bean
    Acacia Gum
    Agar
    Agave
    Ajinomoto (msg)
    Albumen
    Alcohol (Distilled Spirits)
    Alfalfa
    Algae
    Algin
    Alginic Acid
    Alginate
    Alkalized Cocoa
    Allicin
    Almond Nut
    Alpha-amylase
    Alpha-lactalbumin
    Aluminum
    Amaranth
    Ambergris
    Ammonium Hydroxide
    Ammonium Phosphate
    Ammonium Sulphate
    Amylose
    Amylopectin
    Annatto...


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 12/10/2000 - As reported in Ann Whelans September/October issue of Gluten-Free Living, the American Dietetic Association (ADA) has released the 6th edition of its Manual of Clinical Dietetics, which offers revised guidelines for the treatment of celiac disease. This manual is currently used by hospitals and doctors all over North America, and represents the most up-to-date source of information with regard to the dietary treatment of various illnesses. The new standards set in this publication conform more closely with current international standards. Included on their safe list are items that have been on Celiac.coms safe list for over five years, including: amaranth, buckwheat, distilled vinegar (no matter what its source), distilled alcoholic beverages (including...


  • Recent Activity

    1. - knitty kitty replied to MomofGF's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      18

      Not sure if this is Celiac or just a gluten-free intolerance

    2. - Brook G replied to MomofGF's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      18

      Not sure if this is Celiac or just a gluten-free intolerance

    3. - trents replied to cameo674's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      7

      Testing positive for antibodies, are there visible changes to the colon that could be seen without a biopsy?

    4. - cameo674 replied to cameo674's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      7

      Testing positive for antibodies, are there visible changes to the colon that could be seen without a biopsy?

    5. - cameo674 replied to cameo674's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      7

      Testing positive for antibodies, are there visible changes to the colon that could be seen without a biopsy?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,687
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Princess.dfc
    Newest Member
    Princess.dfc
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Popular Now

    • cameo674
    • Liamclarke
      4
    • MomofGF
    • AmandaA
      25
    • CDW
  • Popular Articles

    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
  • Upcoming Events

×
×
  • Create New...