Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate
    1. Scott Adams

      Scott Adams

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate
  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Gluten-free Flour from Used Coffee Grounds Wins SnackFutures ‘Shark Tank’ Award
    Celiac.com 05/28/2019 - Denmark-based start-up Kaffe Bueno recycles used coffee grounds into oils for skin care products, but they are also suitable for use as sweeteners, natural colorings and preservatives in foods and beverages.
    The company also makes a flour from the coffee grounds, which can be used to fortify baked goods. They source used coffee grounds from cafes and hotels in Copenhagen, and then use a biotechnology process to extract the oils which leaves behind a naturally gluten-free coffee flour.
    According to the company, the oil extraction process removes most of the coffee flavor, resulting in a flour with a nutty, caramel, chocolatey taste that can complement many products.
    Kaffe Bueno claims its coffee flour contains three times the protein per gram t...


    Jefferson Adams
    Fifteen Common Questions About Gluten-Free Alcohol and Booze
    Celiac.com 09/16/2019 - Here are some of the most common questions we get about gluten-free alcoholic beverages.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, under US labeling law, beverages made from ingredients containing wheat, rye, or barley, cannot be labeled or advertised as 'gluten-free.'So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process. You'll find an extensive list of gluten-free alcohol, booze and liquor here.
    Gluten Sensitivity Can Vary
    Many people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity can tolerate whiskey, gin and other liquor distilled from grains, but many...


    Scott Adams
    FDA Rules All Distilled Alcohol is Gluten-Free
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “We commend FDA for this consumer-friendly ruling that will allow ‘gluten-free’ labelling claims to be included on distilled foods made from...


    Scott Adams
    Is Kahlúa Gluten-Free?
    Celiac.com 01/15/2021 - Is Kahlúa gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? One question we get a lot is about gluten-free alcohol and liqueur. Specifically, is Kahlúa gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? 
    Kahlúa is a coffee liqueur from Veracruz, Mexico. The drink contains rum, sugar, and 100% arabica coffee. Distilled rum alcohol is gluten-free. Coffee is gluten-free. Sugar is gluten-free. The ingredients themselves are gluten-free. So, is Kahlúa gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease?
    According to Kahlúa, the ingredients used to make the coffee liqueur are gluten-free. Although Kahlúa coffee liqueur is not specifically labeled "Gluten-Free," Kahlúa, along with all of the top brands of coffee liqueur we've looked at are made witho...


  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to JenFur's topic in Super Sensitive People
      1

      Popcorn pain

    2. - JenFur posted a topic in Super Sensitive People
      1

      Popcorn pain

    3. - trents replied to marinke's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Type 1 diabetes (4year old) and positieve ttg

    4. - Mari replied to James47's topic in Coping with Celiac Disease
      1

      Long term recovery

    5. - marinke posted a topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Type 1 diabetes (4year old) and positieve ttg


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,633
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Amanda25
    Newest Member
    Amanda25
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Popular Now

    • Tazzy11
      4
    • Sergiu2020
      6
    • Sandi20
      4
    • Lynnard
    • TerryinCO
      23
  • Popular Articles

    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
  • Upcoming Events

×
×
  • Create New...