-
Welcome to Celiac.com!
You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.
-
Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):
-
Get Celiac.com Updates:Support Our Content
-
Celiac.com - Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Support Since 1995
What is Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease (aka coeliac disease) is a genetic autoimmune disorder where ingesting gluten (a protein in wheat, barley, and rye) triggers an immune response that damages the small intestine's lining. This damage leads to inflammation and atrophy of the villi, tiny finger-like projections in the intestine responsible for nutrient absorption. As a result, individuals with celiac disease may experience symptoms like diarrhea, bloating, fatigue, and malnutrition. Over time, untreated celiac disease can lead to more severe health problems, including anemia, osteoporosis, weight loss, and increased risk of certain cancers. A strict gluten-free diet is the only effective treatment. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease, not a wheat allergy. It's also different from non-celiac gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance, or sensitivity to gluten.
My Long Journey to Celiac Disease Diagnosis
Like many people, I spent a lot of years, a lot of dollars, and endured many tests and misdiagnoses, before doctors finally discovered that I had celiac disease (also known as coeliac disease or celiac sprue), and needed to eliminate gluten and all gluten-containing ingredients from my diet. Gluten is a protein found in the three main gluten-containing grains: wheat, rye, and barley; and is often hidden in processed foods, and things like soy sauce and beer...[READ MORE about my long and winding road to a celiac disease diagnosis and recovery.]
Gluten-Free Diet
To treat my celiac disease I had to go on a gluten-free diet for life. That meant learning to read food labels to avoid gluten ingredients, and eating a diet of mostly naturally gluten-free foods like meats, fruits, nuts, vegetables, and packaged foods only if they are certified gluten-free or labeled gluten-free, for example gluten-free breads made using gluten-free grains.
Breaking Celiac Disease News & Info:
-
Get Celiac.com Updates:Support Celiac.com:
-
Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):
-
Recent Activity
-
- trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications20
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification. In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution... -
- Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications20
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a... -
- Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications20
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate... -
- trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications20
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
@Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those... -
- Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications20
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation...
-