Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate
  • Jefferson Adams
    Jefferson Adams

    Top Brands of Gluten-Free Mayonnaise

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Wondering which top brands of mayonnaise are gluten-free?  Look no further.

    Top Brands of Gluten-Free Mayonnaise - Image: CC BY 2.0--wuestenigel
    Caption: Image: CC BY 2.0--wuestenigel

    Celiac.com 11/10/2021 - We get a lot of questions from celiac community members wondering if certain products are gluten-free. One question we see a lot is about mayonnaise. Specifically, which top brands of mayonnaise are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? 

    Except for eggs, nearly all top brands of mayonnaise are manufactured without known allergens, including gluten. So, most can be considered gluten-free. That said, not all of them are labeled gluten-free. 

    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):
    Also, be careful and always check the label, especially for flavored varieties. Watch for gluten ingredients, and choose carefully.

    The following top brands of mayonnaise are either labeled gluten-free, or made without gluten ingredients and considered safe for people with celiac disease (Egg is the only listed allergen on nearly all of these products):

    Best Foods
    All Hellman's and Best Foods Mayonnaise are made without gluten ingredients, including:

    • Best Foods Real Mayonnaise
    • Extra Creamy Mayonnaise
    • Avocado Oil Mayonnaise Dressing
    • Best Foods Light Mayonnaise
    • Best Foods Mayonnaise Dressing with Olive Oil
    • Best Foods Canola Cholesterol Free Mayonnaise Dressing
    • Best Foods Low Fat Mayonnaise Dressing
    • Best Foods Vegan Dressing & Spread

    Blue Marble
    Blue Marble makes Woodstock Farms Organic mayonnaise, which is gluten-free and certified kosher.

    Blue Plate
    Extra creamy Blue Plate mayonnaise is made with oil, vinegar and egg yolks.

    Chosen Foods
    Chosen Foods Mayonnaise is made with pure avocado oil, cage-free eggs, organic vinegar and just a pinch of salt.

    Duke’s Mayo
    Known for their smooth, creamy, texture, and slightly tangy flavor, Duke's Mayo is gluten-free and certified kosher.

    Earth Balance
    Earth Balance mayonnaise is made without gluten ingredients, and is vegan, dairy-free, lactose-free, egg-free, soy-free, and non-GMO.

    • Original Mindful Dressing & Sandwich Spread
    • Olive Oil Mindful Dressing & Sandwich Spread

    Goya
    Goya Mayonnaise is made without gluten ingredients, including:

    • Goya Mayonnaise 
    • Goya Mayonnaise with Lime

    Hain
    Hain Pure Foods Safflower Mayonnaise is made without gluten ingredients.

    Hellman's
    All Hellman's mayonnaise products do not contain any gluten ingredients, including:

    • Real Mayonnaise
    • Extra Creamy Mayonnaise
    • Light Mayonnaise  
    • Mayonnaise Dressing with Olive Oil
    • Organic Spicy Chipotle Mayonnaise
    • Canola Cholesterol Free Mayonnaise Dressing
    • Low Fat Mayonnaise Dressing
    • Homestyle Mayonnaise
    • Relish Sandwich Spread
    • Avocado Oil Mayonnaise Dressing
    • Vegan Dressing & Spread

    Kraft
    Kraft Mayonnaise is made without gluten ingredients, including: 

    • J.L. Kraft Chipotle Aioli with Chipotle Peppers
    • J.L. Kraft Garlic Aioli with Roasted Garlic
    • Kraft Real Mayo Mayonnaise
    • Kraft Real Mayo Creamy & Smooth Mayonnaise
    • Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil Reduced Fat Mayonnaise
    • Kraft Homestyle Mayo Rich & Creamy Real Mayonnaise
    • Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil Reduced Fat Mayonnaise
    • Kraft Mayo with Avocado Oil Reduced Fat Mayonnaise
    • Kraft Mayonnesa with Lime Juice
    • Kraft Mayo Real Mayonnaise with No Artificial Flavors
    • Kraft Light Mayo ½ the Fat & Calories of Regular Mayonnaise
    • Kraft Extra Heavy Mayonnaise

    McCormick
    McCormick Mayonesa is a traditional mayonnaise, but with the tangy twist of lime juice.

    Miracle Whip
    Another Kraft product, Miracle Whip contains no gluten ingredients. 

    Sir Kensington
    Sir Kensington Mayonnaise is made with high-quality sunflower oil, citrus and free-range eggs.

    Spectrum
    Made by Hain, Spectrum Organic Mayonnaise is made without gluten ingredients, including:

    • Organic Omega-3 Mayonnaise
    • Canola Mayonnaise
    • Organic Mayonnaise with Olive Oil
    • Vegan Light Canola Oil - Squeeze

    Stonewall Kitchen
    Stonewall Kitchen's Mayonnaise products are made without gluten, including:

    • Farmhouse Mayo
    • Basil Pesto Aioli
    • Everything Aioli
    • Cajun Street Spice Blend
    • Habanero Mango Aioli
    • Roasted Garlic Aioli
    • Down East Tartar Sauce
    • Ghost Pepper Aioli

    Woodstock
    Woodstock Organic Mayonnaise is gluten-free and made with cage-free eggs and expeller pressed soybean oil and contains no artificial colors or preservatives.

    Remember, while most plain mayonnaise is gluten-free naturally, things can change when you get into added flavors. As always, read labels, avoid gluten ingredients, and choose carefully.

    Have we missed a favorite brand of gluten-free mayonnaise? Let us know in the comments and we'll put it on our list.
     



    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Kate Murray

    Hello Jefferson, thanks for this article about gluten free mayo. I have some thoughts because I am seeking a truly gluten free mayo and still have yet to find one. While years ago many of the ingredients were simple, I am finding that because “natural flavor” is contained in the ingredients of most of these brands, it cannot truly be considered gluten free because the “natural flavor” is derived from barley. This is the case with many brands of mayonnaise that you have identified above. While the product may contain “less than 2%” this could be okay for those with an intolerance to gluten, but for true Celiacs Disease, the 20ppm is still far too high and causes reaction. Reading articles like this published on Celiac.com can be very confusing as people seek credible information about what is truly gluten free, certified by an independent third party, versus what the FDA deems an acceptable level of gluten for the vendor to claim it’s still gluten free. I’ve found with most condiments above, that they still contain these words “natural flavor” and that is the differentiating factor which makes them not safe for Celiacs to consume. Perhaps on a website dedicated to “gluten free” this list may be relevant, but I would expect a website specifically for Celiacs to provide more accurate information about these nuances, especially that the difference between 5-10ppm is significantly different than 20ppm. The commercial food system is hurting us, and the level of up to 20ppm is also hurting us, so the more awareness we have about this nuance, not just with regard to mayo but also ketchup, sauces and other condiments, the better. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    trents

    @Kate Murray, I disagree with your deployment of terminology when you distinguish between those with "true Celiacs Disease" and "those with an intolerance to gluten". I would argue they are one in the same. There are two gluten-related disorders, celiac disease and Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity or NCGS. The latter group is commonly referred to as "gluten sensitive" and those with celiac disease are commonly referred to as "gluten intolerant". Yes, there are still those who use "gluten intolerant" and "gluten sensitive" interchangeably but I would point out that the word "sensitive" is actually found in the official term for those with NCGS.

    You state that "for true Celiacs disease, 20ppm is still too high and causes reaction." This simply is not true. The overwhelming majority of "true Celiacs" do not react to 20ppm of gluten and that is why that standard was applied by the FDA after much testing. What is true is that a minority of those who actually have celiac disease require a stricter ppm standard to avoid a reaction. And that is why independent testing groups developed the "Certified Gluten Free" standard and labeling. 

    I suggest that if you start looking for mayo products with the "Certified Gluten Free" label if, in fact, mainline mayo products with "natural flavor" causes you to react.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Scott Adams
    3 hours ago, Kate Murray said:

    Hello Jefferson, thanks for this article about gluten free mayo. I have some thoughts because I am seeking a truly gluten free mayo and still have yet to find one. While years ago many of the ingredients were simple, I am finding that because “natural flavor” is contained in the ingredients of most of these brands, it cannot truly be considered gluten free because the “natural flavor” is derived from barley. This is the case with many brands of mayonnaise that you have identified above. While the product may contain “less than 2%” this could be okay for those with an intolerance to gluten, but for true Celiacs Disease, the 20ppm is still far too high and causes reaction. Reading articles like this published on Celiac.com can be very confusing as people seek credible information about what is truly gluten free, certified by an independent third party, versus what the FDA deems an acceptable level of gluten for the vendor to claim it’s still gluten free. I’ve found with most condiments above, that they still contain these words “natural flavor” and that is the differentiating factor which makes them not safe for Celiacs to consume. Perhaps on a website dedicated to “gluten free” this list may be relevant, but I would expect a website specifically for Celiacs to provide more accurate information about these nuances, especially that the difference between 5-10ppm is significantly different than 20ppm. The commercial food system is hurting us, and the level of up to 20ppm is also hurting us, so the more awareness we have about this nuance, not just with regard to mayo but also ketchup, sauces and other condiments, the better. 

    Please see:

     

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Kate Murray

    @trents Comment wasn't really for me, it was to bring transparency to the way this article is written because it presumes that all of the above referenced mainstream mayo (and other condiments) are safe for celiacs, and the reality is, they might not be. It is my opinion that forums should be clear and transparent. Many natural flavors are derived from wheat, barley and rye, most especially those in condiments, and just because the FDA has regulations in place does not mean people are protected from the dangers of ingesting gluten that is "hidden" behind these words. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    trents

    From the article linked above by Scott Adams: "If wheat were used to make natural flavoring it would always need to be disclosed, even on products not labelled gluten-free."

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Kate Murray

    @trents and the sad reality is......it's not always disclosed. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    trents
    3 hours ago, Kate Murray said:

    @trents and the sad reality is......it's not always disclosed. 

    Can you offer specific case instances to back that claim? And even if this is true, it is beyond the scope of what Jefferson Adams' article was dealing with. Occasional exceptions do not invalidate a general truth.

    In reality there probably is no such thing as a food product that is literally and absolutely gluten free. I promise you, if we had sensitive enough instruments to be able to detect it, the very air we all breathe has some gluten in it. Wheat dust from farms and factories will get into the air and will be carried by the wind around the globe. I will continue to breathe, nonetheless.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Kate Murray

    @trents specific instance? I am the mother of an 18 year old, who I personally drove to the ER on 6 separate occasions, so quite literally yes, I’ve got examples. I’m not interested in a back and forth about the pain and suffering my family has experienced, what I am interested in is bringing awareness to  the dangers of trusted websites which are supposed to be considered credible resources providing information that isn’t fully transparent. The generalizations are dangerous. It’s important for the public to have full and complete transparency about the nuances so they can make decisions about their health. In our case, the dangers of the “natural flavor” as a hidden place that does contain gluten is important to know. A credible source should not be making claims that almost all commercial mayo is gluten free because it’s not. I really don’t have the time or desire to entertain this discussion any longer. People can take the information and make their own decisions about what to consume. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    trents

    But the onus is not on Jefferson Adams. What he reported in his article was true and accurate according to FDA regulations. What happened to your son daughter has happened to others regardless of how the food product was labeled, whether making no specific claim of being gluten free or whether it was labeled "Gluten Free" or even "Certified Gluten Free". Did you see the thread started back this summer over the "gluten free" (bagels?) sold by Trader Joes that turned out to far exceed the 20 ppm threshold? And the other one from back this summer about the significant percentage of products certified by GFCO that tested in excess of their 10 ppm threshold? Neither Jefferson Adams, you or me or anyone else has control over whether companies comply with reporting standards. What Jefferson did report was true according to FDA reporting standards as pointed out in the article linked by Scott Adams. 

    Edited by trents
    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    knitty kitty

    Mayonnaise is high in Histamine.

    Histamine Intolerance (HIT) frequently occurs in Celiac Disease.   Histamine release is part of the immune response in Celiac Disease or any infection.  Histamine Intolerance has symptoms similar to being glutened.

    Histamine Intolerance occurs when our bodies become overwhelmed by histamine.  Our body makes histamine.  Plants and other animals make histamine, so we ingest histamine when we eat foods.  

    Our bodies can have difficulty clearing histamine if we don't absorb sufficient vitamins needed to make DiAmine Oxidase, (DAO), an enzyme that breaks down histamine.   

    Mayonnaise is a high histamine food.  Fermented foods, foods containing vinegar, contain high levels of histamine.   

    Following a low histamine diet, taking DAO supplements, and taking vitamin supplements to counteract the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease helps reduce symptoms. 

    Histamine is released by mast cells as part of the autoimmune response in Celiac Disease.  Mast Cell Activation Syndrome (MCAS) can also occur in Celiac Disease.  In MCAS, mast cells release histamine at the least provocation, keeping histamine levels in the body high.  Again, vitamins, DAO and a low histamine diet helps.

    Not everything is a response to hidden gluten.  Knowing how our bodies work is important.

    References:

    Histamine Intolerance: Symptoms, Diagnosis, and Beyond

    https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11054089/

    Non-responsive celiac disease may coincide with additional food intolerance/malabsorption, including histamine intolerance

    https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33268003/

    Edited by knitty kitty
    Typo correction, additional information
    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Kate Murray

    @knitty kittythank you, and yes, tryptase levels were measured as part of her reaction to look at or rule out MCAS. In fact, many, many additional blood tests and other tests were run for a variety of autoimmune reactions. After keeping a highly detailed food and symptom log for several months, the “hidden” gluten exposure was still found to be the ultimate culprit. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    knitty kitty

    @Kate Murray,

    Has your daughter been checked for nutritional deficiencies?  

    Low Vitamin D and low Thiamine can contribute to MCAS.  Vitamin D levels should be between 70 and100 ng/mL .  

    Is she following a low histamine diet?  

    https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC10672129/

    P.S.  Can you share with us the "hidden gluten" sources discovered from her food journal?

    P.P.S. Was she checked for SIBO (Small Intestinal Bacterial Overgrowth)?  Fructose Malabsorption Syndrome?   H. Pylori?

    Edited by knitty kitty
    Added Post Script
    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate
  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University. His articles, essays, poems, stories and book reviews have appeared in numerous magazines, journals, and websites, including North American Project, Antioch Review, Caliban, Mississippi Review, Slate, and more. He is the author of more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His university coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, physiology, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously devised health and medical content for Colgate, Dove, Pfizer, Sharecare, Walgreens, and more. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of numerous books, including "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.

    >VIEW ALL ARTICLES BY JEFFERSON ADAMS

     


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Twelve Top Gluten-Free Barbecue Sauce Brands
    Celiac.com 09/13/2019 - As barbecue season sails on, it's good to keep in mind that many sauces from major manufacturers either contain gluten, or are not labeled gluten-free. These twelve brands of BBQ sauce are labeled gluten-free, so you can trust them for your loved ones with celiac disease or other gluten sensitivity. Many of these brands also make a number of gluten-free barbecue-related products, including rubs, marinades, and other sauces. Lastly, if you know of any good brands we've missed, please let us know in the comments section below.
    Bone Suckin' Sauce
    Bone Suckin' Sauce Bone Suckin' Sauce Sweet Southern Bone Suckin' Sauce Thick Sweet Southern Bone Suckin' Sauce Spicy Sweet Southern Bone Suckin' Sauce Extra Hot Honey Bone ...


    Scott Adams
    What Brands of Ketchup are Gluten-Free?
    Celiac.com 11/11/2020 - Most ketchups are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients. However, many brands do not label their ketchup as gluten-free. That's not necessarily a big deal, but some people like to play it safe.  These brands of ketchup go the extra mile to make sure their products are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Top Brands of Gluten-Free Ketchup include:
    Annie's Organic Ketchup
    Annie's Organic Ketchup is gluten-free to 20 ppm, Certified organic, Vegan, Non-GMO, Made with California grown tomatoes, Contains no artificial flavors, colors or preservatives, and no high-fructose corn syrup. The company reports that the vinegar in Annie's Organic Ketchup is sourced from corn ...


    Scott Adams
    Top Brands of Gluten-Free Steak Sauce
    Celiac.com 12/05/2020 - We recently fielded a question about whether A-1 stake sauce is gluten-free by pointing out that it was not labeled gluten-free, but likely safe, as it contains no gluten ingredients, and manufacturer Kraft is very good about labeling allergens, including gluten. A product made with no gluten ingredients not having a gluten-free label is not necessarily a big deal, but many people with celiac disease like to play it safe. 
    It's also true that there numerous brands of steak sauce are gluten-free. These brands go the extra mile to make sure their steak sauces are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Dale's Steak Seasoning
    Dale's Steak Seasoning is gluten-free, and comes ...


    Jefferson Adams
    Is Hellman's Mayo Gluten-Free?
    Celiac.com 10/01/2021 - We get a lot of questions about which products and brands are gluten-free. We especially get a lot of questions about salad dressings and condiments. In this case, mayonnaise. Specifically, is Hellman's Mayonnaise gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?  
    The short answer is yes, Hellman's Mayonnaise is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. In some cases, it's not immediately clear on the label, but the Unilever website notes that Hellman's Mayonnaise is gluten-free.
    Hellman's is also known as Best Foods Mayonnaise in some parts of the U.S. Both brands are part of the Unilever company. The mayonnaise is the same for both brands. So, this answer applies to both brands.
    Egg is the only allergen listed on the Hellman'...


  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to marinke's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Type 1 diabetes (4year old) and positieve ttg

    2. - Mari replied to James47's topic in Coping with Celiac Disease
      1

      Long term recovery

    3. - marinke posted a topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Type 1 diabetes (4year old) and positieve ttg

    4. - Baz replied to soulcurrent's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      65

      Shortness Of Breath (the "sighs")?

    5. - DayaInTheSun replied to soulcurrent's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      65

      Shortness Of Breath (the "sighs")?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,599
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Javzaa
    Newest Member
    Javzaa
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Popular Now

    • Tazzy11
      4
    • Sergiu2020
      6
    • Sandi20
      4
    • SamClaire
      4
    • Matt13
      7
  • Popular Articles

    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
    • Scott Adams
  • Upcoming Events

×
×
  • Create New...