Celiac.com 08/09/2022 - We get more than a few questions from our readers about which items, brands and products are gluten-free.
Lately, we've been getting numerous questions about tomato sauce. Specifically, which brands of pasta and tomato sauce are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease?
Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):
The answer is that, unless it contains added wheat or gluten ingredients, most tomato pasta sauces are naturally gluten-free. However, some are not.
Many brands, like Del Monte, do not specifically label their tomato sauce as gluten-free, even though they contain no gluten-ingredients. That's not necessarily a big deal, but some people like to play it safe.
These brands of tomato sauce are either labeled "Gluten-Free," or use no gluten ingredients and no gluten or wheat allergens. That means that you can breath extra easy about safely serving them to people with celiac disease.
As always, read labels, avoid gluten ingredients, and choose carefully. If we've missed a favorite brand, let us know in the comments below.
Top brands of gluten-free tomato sauce include:
Amy's Kitchen
- Amy's Kitchen makes a variety of pasta sauces, including Marinara and Tomato Basil, both of which are gluten-free, according to the company website.
- Amy's Family Marinara Sauce
- Amy's Red Spaghetti Pasta Sauce Tomato Basil
Barilla
- All Barilla Pasta Sauces are free of gluten ingredients, according to the company website.
Cento
- Cento makes a number of tomato sauces that are labeled gluten-free.
- Cento Sauce Italiano Tomato Sauce
- Cento Yellow Pasta Sauce
Contadina
Even though Contadina is not labeled gluten-free, they are made by Del Monte, so, all Contadina tomato sauces are considered gluten-free.
- Contadina Tomato Sauce
Del Monte
Even though their labels do not list a gluten-free claim, all Del Monte tomato sauce is made without gluten ingredients, and is considered gluten-free. EXCEPT Del Monte tomato sauce flavored with meat.
- Del Monte Tomato Sauce
- Del Monte Flavored Tomato Sauce
Dell'Amore
- Dell'Amore Premium Marinara Sauce is gluten-free.
Due Amici
- Due Amici Marinara Sauce is gluten-free.
Newman's Own
Newman's Own makes the following sauces that don't contain any gluten ingredients:
- Fire Roasted Tomato & Garlic Sauce
- Marinara Sauce
- Organic Marinara Sauce
- Organic Olive Oil, Basil & Garlic Sauce
- Organic Tomato & Basil Sauce
- Sockarooni Sauce
- Tomato & Basil Sauce
- Vodka Sauce
Prego
Prego makes several gluten-free spaghetti sauces, including:
- Classic Marinara Sauce
- Traditional Italian Sauce
- Tomato Basil Garlic Italian Sauce
Recommended Comments
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now