Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Travel Vaccines


LMC26469

Recommended Posts

LMC26469 Newbie

Hi everyone, 

 

I am new to this forum, but not new to celiacs (10 years now). I am traveling to Africa this summer and was given cruecell brand typhoid pills. My travel doctor said that she confirmed that they were gluten free, but I wanted to double check if anyone had taken them before. 

 

now, I would normally be concerned about a reaction yes, and that would nor fun at all but my doctor explained that the typhoid absorbs in the intestines (that is why you cannot eat an hour before or after taking the pills). If I have a celiac reaction, that would make the absorption a little questionable. 

 

 

Thanks for your advice!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

I have never heard of a doc that has any clue if a med has gluten. Some of them will tell you it doesn't becasue they think it silly.

 

The best way to know if the med is gluten-free is to call or email the company.

Guest2000 Newbie

Looks like the best option is to ask your local pharmacist or contact the CDC for information as to what is in the live oral pills. Open Original Shared Link

LMC26469 Newbie

Thanks for the advice! The pharmacist called the company (Crucell) and they confirmed that the ingredients, packaging as well as casing were all gluten free! 

  • 2 months later...
krych Newbie

Does anyone know if it is also dairy free?

kareng Grand Master

The best place to get current info would be to call the company

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,750
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajustice
    Newest Member
    Ajustice
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...