Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I Got Sick


eblue

Recommended Posts

eblue Apprentice

Last night I stopped by a local our local kangaroo gas station and got a cherry slushie. I thought that surely a slushie would be safe. Well, I thought wrong. Within about 20 minutes after drinking it I started having all of my "I got glutened" symptoms. Stomach cramps, gas, bloating, lower back pain- all of which I get when I eat gluten.  I have only been diagnosed for a little over a month, and I have been extremely careful and havent eaten out much at all since then. In fact, I decided not to eat out for the rest of the summer to give my gut time to heal. But good grief, I didnt think a slushie of all things would hurt me! I was wrong :(

 

Have yall had any bad luck with slushies? I just dont understand what could have been in there that made me sick, unless its the artificial coloring. I read somewhere that coloring can have gluten...?

 

Im still sick this morning :(


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



pricklypear1971 Community Regular

You can't ever assume something is gluten free. This is the sucky thing about eating gluten-free: spontenaity goes out the window.

You will compile a list of safe junk foods after a while - snickers, sodas, etc. but don't EVER assume something is gluten-free. You must always KNOW. If you can't read the ingredients or get confirmation do NOT put it in your mouth.

Ps - We ALL have done this at some point. Don't beat yourself up over it. Gluten is going a good job of that already. Hope you feel better soon.

psawyer Proficient

I read somewhere that coloring can have gluten...?

If you read that, the source was misinformed. Color (including caramel color) is gluten-free. A few people react to some specific colors. but that is not gluten related.
eblue Apprentice

Looks like I am not the only one who has had a problem with this

 

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/47862-coke-and-cherry-icees/

 

It has been 24 hours since I ate the icee and I am SO sick. My belly is in so much pain that it is sensitive to the touch. Stay away from convience store icees!!

kareng Grand Master

I see you are posting in several threads about your slushie experience. When you checked the ingredients, what was the gluten item? I have never seen any of these type drinks in the US with gluten - the ones I have checked.

kareng Grand Master

Looks like I am not the only one who has had a problem with this

 

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/47862-coke-and-cherry-icees/

 

It has been 24 hours since I ate the icee and I am SO sick. My belly is in so much pain that it is sensitive to the touch. Stay away from convience store icees!!

According to the company, all Icees are gluten-free.

Open Original Shared Link

eblue Apprentice

According to the company, all Icees are gluten-free.

Open Original Shared Link

Yeah I read that last night. Maybe its just a problem at my local gas station. I dont know. But I am still sick from it. And I know that is what made me sick because I was feeling great all day before I drank it. And then about 20 minutes after I started drinking it, all the symptoms started.

 

I am still sick. I havent noticed any intolerances to any other types of food so far, so other than gluten I don't know what else it could have been. And it felt like a gluten reaction. Who knows....I just hope I start feeling better soon


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Yeah I read that last night. Maybe its just a problem at my local gas station. I dont know. But I am still sick from it. And I know that is what made me sick because I was feeling great all day before I drank it. And then about 20 minutes after I started drinking it, all the symptoms started.

I am still sick. I havent noticed any intolerances to any other types of food so far, so other than gluten I don't know what else it could have been. And it felt like a gluten reaction. Who knows....I just hope I start feeling better soon

Yeah I read that last night. Maybe its just a problem at my local gas station. I dont know. But I am still sick from it. And I know that is what made me sick because I was feeling great all day before I drank it. And then about 20 minutes after I started drinking it, all the symptoms started.

I am still sick. I havent noticed any intolerances to any other types of food so far, so other than gluten I don't know what else it could have been. And it felt like a gluten reaction. Who knows....I just hope I start feeling better soon

Are Icees the ones that foam up? Those ones have always bothered me. I can do the straight frozen cokes or Koolaid type ones. But the foam up ones give me bloating. I think its whatever makes them " foam". Bothers my boys, too if they get a big one. And they do not have Celiac.

Edited: According to the Icee website, the foam is carbonation. But every flavor I have checked, the first ingredient is high fructose corn syrup. I know at least one of us has a problem with that sometimes ( OK in small amounts - 1 soda and with food)

Now I'm wondering if it could be a bit of food poisoning?

Adalaide Mentor

Yup, Icee are the ones that are sort of "foamy." I've enjoyed a few in the past year and a half with no problem at all. It is an occasional indulgence when I find myself at a convenience store in the middle of summer and I can't get an ice cream cone. They are absolutely gluten free.

 

There are many reactions we can have things to that seem like a reaction to gluten but aren't. Just because you haven't had a reaction to something in the past does not mean you won't now. Besides, it is possible that you have been reacting to something(s) in the past but didn't know because your body was so overwhelmed by everything else going on. Also, it is not at all unusual for a reaction to something that did have gluten in it to be delayed by hours or even a day or two. It is possible that you ate something earlier in the day that just decided on that time to start bothering you with symptoms, which is normal for many people. It is also possible as early as you are into your diagnosis and gluten free diet that you're just going to have occasional random issues that can't be pinpointed at all while things clear up.

djs89 Rookie

Maybe it is something else in the slushie making you feel sick, possibly the excessive sugar? I would be sick if I had a slushie or soda, just because of the excessive sugars/corn syrup.

eblue Apprentice

I just dont understand. Its been 3 days since I drank the icee and I am still sick. My stomach is so bloated that I look 6 months pregnant, and I have had horrible gas and D. Last night I also experienced really bad anxiety, brain fog, and body aches (kind of felt like the flu) i know the website says gluten free but I am just so confused as to why I could be so sick from them. It feels like a gluten reaction. And theres no way that anything I had eaten earlier that day could have had gluten. Its not food poisoning either, because hubs had one and he did not get sick at all...Oh well...I guess I will never know...I just hope i get better soon 

eblue Apprentice

I, now wondering if it could have been the red dye...? I have never noticed problems with it but who knows

MissyBB Explorer

Maybe it is something else in the slushie making you feel sick, possibly the excessive sugar? I would be sick if I had a slushie or soda, just because of the excessive sugars/corn syrup.

 

This was my initial thought, too, when I first read the OP's post. If you are not accustomed to a boat load of over-carbing, as most celiacs don't have the luxury of doing, a Slushie can throw your blood sugar into over-drive. I know that I can't tolerate the sugar load in such drinks either.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,886
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Old Soul Elder
    Newest Member
    Old Soul Elder
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Nicbent35
      Hi, I have a 3 1/2 year old daughter..I would say she has had tantrums since even before she was a year old. Challenging but not extreme. Lately, her behavior had gotten extreme. Just so angry, yelling mean hateful things, completely defiant, was causing a lot of disruption in our house, I felt like I had lost the little girl I knew, we were baffled.   Something just didn’t seem right to me, I have been researching and read about how gluten can sometimes affect kids behavior. I took her off gluten a week ago tomorrow. The next couple days after I took her off gluten the days were much easier. About 4 days in she had one of the worst days I’ve seen her have tho. I kept on with it tho and the past two days she has been angelic. Is this common that if it is gluten that she could still have a bad day like that a few days after taking her off of it? Should I try to reintroduce it at some point to see if it’s really a gluten intolerance? I’m not gonna lie, if she continues with the great behavior she’s had the past couple days I will probably be scared to reintroduce it but don’t want her to have to avoid gluten if it’s not necessary. Anyone have advice? 
    • trents
      But HDL is considered to be the "good" cholesterol, right?
    • plumbago
      Since some time between 2010 and 2014, my HDL-C has been going up and you might even say elevated. The last time I could find in my records that my HDL was normal was in 2014 when it was 67. Last week, it was 101, and it’s been 88 and above since about 2015. A significant life event happened in 2010 when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease and in May of that year began a gluten free diet. An informal perusal of a previously posted topic on HDL on this forum shows that a lot of members responding had high normal or high levels of HDL, so it doesn’t seem to be that unusual. But because my HDL numbers have been so high for so long, I am now officially concerned enough that I will probably reach out to a cardiologist who specializes in lipids. I would like to know if I should have a genetic test, as a specific genetic mutation can be one reason for high HDL numbers. I will also ask if he/she thinks a cardiac work up including a coronary artery calcium score should be considered. I think by now most of us are done with the ridiculous good and bad cholesterol labels; the amount of what we don’t know about HDL is quite large. For me my questions include is it a matter of production or an inability to clear HDL, and are the high levels having an effect on my vasculature (or a result of a less than optimal vasculature)? My last TSH level was normal, so it's likely not a thyroid issue. I also take B12 regularly. I’ve read that niacin can cause HDL levels to go up, but B12 is not niacin, and I could find no definitive link between robust B12 supplementation and abnormally high HDL levels. Any input is appreciated! Plumbago
    • Scott Adams
      @Mynx, how long have you been gluten-free? I ask because many newly diagnosed celiacs react to many things, and often think their reactions are caused by gluten, when in fact, they are really caused by a combination of a sensitive gut due to damage, as well as additional food intolerance/leaky gut issues to other foods which may be temporary until their villi heal.
    • Scott Adams
      Many major brands of distilled vinegar in the USA, including Heinz white vinegar, are typically made from corn. In the United States, corn is a common and cost-effective raw material used in the production of distilled white vinegar. The process involves fermenting the sugars derived from corn into alcohol, which is then further fermented into acetic acid to produce vinegar. Distillation follows, which purifies the liquid and removes impurities, including any residual proteins or allergens. While the source of the vinegar (e.g., corn) is not always explicitly stated on the label, corn-derived vinegar is widely used in the food industry due to its neutral flavor and affordability. For individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, distilled vinegar made from corn is generally considered safe, as the distillation process effectively removes gluten proteins. However, if you have concerns about cross-contamination or specific sensitivities, it’s always a good idea to contact the manufacturer directly to confirm the sourcing and production practices. Heinz, for example, has stated that their distilled white vinegar is gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease, but verifying this information can provide additional peace of mind. The belief that distilled vinegar is gluten-free is rooted in the scientific understanding that gluten proteins, which are large and complex molecules, are generally too big to pass through the distillation process. Distillation involves heating a liquid to create vapor, which is then condensed back into a liquid form, leaving behind larger molecules like gluten proteins. However, the concern about cross-contamination arises from the possibility that gluten-containing ingredients may have been present in the liquid prior to distillation. While the distillation process itself is highly effective at removing gluten, the equipment used in production could potentially introduce trace amounts of gluten if not thoroughly cleaned between batches. For most individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, distilled vinegar is considered safe because the gluten content, if any, is typically below the threshold that would trigger a reaction. However, for those with extreme gluten intolerance or celiac disease, even trace amounts can cause adverse effects. This is why some individuals, like yourself, may choose to avoid commercially produced distilled vinegar and opt for alternatives like apple cider vinegar, which can be verified as gluten-free. The meticulous process of researching ingredients and preparing homemade products, such as ketchup, is indeed challenging but crucial for maintaining health and avoiding gluten exposure. It’s important to note that regulatory standards for gluten-free labeling vary by region, and in many places, products labeled "gluten-free" must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is considered safe for the vast majority of people with celiac disease. Nonetheless, individual sensitivity levels can vary, and your approach highlights the importance of personalized dietary management for those with severe gluten intolerance.
×
×
  • Create New...