Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Dymatize Nutrition - Elite Gourmet Protein Whey & Casein Blend Powder Vanilla


JAJameson2010

Recommended Posts

JAJameson2010 Newbie

Sorry for being a bit of a moron about reading labels... I've been not doing so well for the past 6 weeks and it's finally dawned on my that it may be gluten that's causing this. So I'm going to try 2 weeks with zero gluten and see where that gets me. So I'm mourning the loss of my bread right now LOL\

 

I'm going through my stuff in the house and trying to understand what has gluten and what doesn't. I can't figure out if this protien stuff has it.... I usually mix this with soem spinach, milk, and frozen fruit for a breakfast smoothy.

 

Could someone please let me know if it's safe for me to use for breakfast? Thanks for any help! (and any tips on how to read labels...)

 

 

 

Dymatize Nutrition - Elite Gourmet Protein Vanilla Creme - 5 lbs. Supplement Facts Serving Size: 1 scoop (31g) Servings Per Container: 73+     Amount Per Serving %DV   Calories 120     Calories from Fat 15     Total Fat 1.5 g 2%   Saturated Fat 0.5 g 4%   Trans Fat 0 g     Total Carbohydrate 5 g 2%   Dietary Fiber 0 g 0%   Sugars 0g     Cholesterol 20 mg 6%   Protein 21 g     Sodium 75 mg 3%   Vitamin A   0%   Vitamin C   2%   Calcium   25%   Iron   2%   *Daily Value Not Established.
†Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your diet values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.   Other Ingredients: Whey Protein Matrix (Whey Protein Concentrate, Whey Protein Isolate, Whey Peptides), Milk Protein Matrix (Milk Protein, Containing Micelular Caseines & Caseinates, Calcium Caseinates), Natural and Artificial Flavors, Soybean Oil, Guar Gum, Potassium Chloride, Acesulfame-Potassium, Sucralose. Contains Milk and Soy.

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



notme Experienced

nope, no gluten in your drink mix - however, if you are sensitive to milk/dairy/casein or soy, that is clearly labeled.  new allergy labeling makes it alot easier to determine if something has wheat or other common offenders in it.  ie:  if it doesn't say 'wheat' in the ingredients but something in the product is derived from wheat, it is supposed to say it at the bottom of the ingredients like this:

 

contains:  wheat (or eggs, milk, nuts, etc....)  

JAJameson2010 Newbie

Oh thanks so much! That makes reading labels a lot easier and makes sense. I sure hope it's not a milk and dairy thing. The lack of ice cream may be the end of me! :rolleyes:  Luckily my coconut run is gluten safe.

 

I'll start my morning breakfast smoothies again tomorrow morning :)

 

I haven't had any tummy cramping or pain so far today so maybe it is a gluten sensitivity. It's going to be an interesting 2 weeks. 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,877
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    SamEsplanade
    Newest Member
    SamEsplanade
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (LC) for quite a few years, so I have been gluten-free and DF.  I would like to get tested for Celiac Disease because of the possibility of cross contamination and colon cancer.  And if you were hospitalized and didn't have a celiac diagnosis you could not get gluten-free food, I don't know if that is true or not.  Also because there is chance of colon cancer so I want to know if I have Celiac Disease and need to be on very restrictive diet.  The only testing I did was a sigmoid scope and Enter Lab but no gene testing.  I know I can go back to eating gluten for a few months, but I would worry you would have to stay home for the few months while getting gluten.  What other options do I have?  Should I do the gene testing?  Maybe through Entero Lab?  Any other tests?  How important is it to have Celiac diagnosed? Thank you! Barb
    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
×
×
  • Create New...