Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Recently Diagnosed, Need Help With Some Food Questions!


deluxlux

Recommended Posts

deluxlux Newbie

Hello guys,

I was diagnosed with Celiacs like 2 weeks ago, but been suspecting it for couple of weeks before that, while testing.

Now that my doc and I am sure of my diagnose, I really need to make somekind of diet to keep me in shape since im working out in the gym a lot and I lost like 6 kilos so far, after going gluten free :(. I also have no vili left, so i need to keep my weight somehow...

And here in Bulgaria, there is not much stuff about the desease which can help me out, including labels on foods etc.

I would love if someone more experienced and into things answer these questions

 

 

1. I need a gluten free protein, for recovery after workouts. So i contacted most manufactures and the ones who told me their products are gluten free are OLIMP -SPORT. (Croatian brand). But when i check the ingrediends list of the gainer powder,  I saw some ingrediends like dextrose, which I belive might be gluten or am i wrong?

Ingredients are : maltodextrins, dextrose,whey protein concentrate,micellar casein,ultrafiltrated egg protein, malic acid,xanthan gym, carboxy methyl celulose.

Are any of these dangerous for Celiacs, since its really important for me to take some kind of gainer every day :(

 

 

 

2. Are TOBLERONE bars 100 % gluten free, since I really need to eat some kind of chocolate between meals and Lindtt cocoa ones turned out to have cross contamination or whatever.

 

3. I decided to drink loads of juices to keep me well energyzed also, but now i see "glucose-fructoze" in the ingredients of most. Is that dangerous for Celiacs?

 

4. Cheese. Can I eat cheese or its not safe? LIke balkan white cheese is the one we have here.  Like this one :

Open Original Shared Link

 

5. Ice cream. Since all the gluten free brands i find in the internet are like different here in my country, what kind of icecream i can trust that is full gluten free or something.

 

6. how to help my vili recover faster. I read that Glutamine helps recovery, but what else? Because I do not want to lose anymore weight.

 

Any tips from someone who workouts with Celiac Desease would be awesome also.

 

Cheers and hope u guys can help me with most of this stuff, because im really frustrated.

Before the diagnose I had a perfect body, but I felt bad inside and tired all the time i guess because i was eating gluten.

Now that im going gluten free, I lost all ive worked out for years, but at least im starting to feel better a bit as health.

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

I only know what the labeling laws are in the US.  So I'm answering from that perspective.

 

Cheese should be safe.  I haven't seen any with gluten except for a few gourmet cheeses made with beer.  Perhaps you could call a company that makes the type of cheese you are talking about and ask.  However, if your villi are severely damaged, it will be hard to digest dairy products.  It might help to wait 6 months or more, until you heal to try dairy products.

 

Glucose and fructose are just sugars.  They should be gluten free. 

 

For most foods, I just read the ingredients.  In the US, if its made from wheat it will be labeled. 

kareng Grand Master

Hello, and welcome to the board.

Glucose, like all sugars, is highly refined and is considered safe regardless of the source.

Shelley Case, RD, is a source I trust completely on these issues. In her book, Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide, she lists as gluten-free and safe for celiacs:

Dextrose;

Fructose;

Glucose;

Glucose syrup;

Lactose;

Maltose;

Sucrose.

The Canadian Celiac Association also lists all of the above sugars as safe.

Make your own decision. As I said, I trust Shelley Case.

 

 

This is an explanation from another thread that might be helpful.

ibjonezy Newbie

OP, most if not all recovery protein products that are whey are already gluten free as far as I know.

deluxlux Newbie

OP, most if not all recovery protein products that are whey are already gluten free as far as I know.

 

 

thanks mate.

Well i just checked the ingredients of the gainer which i take to maintain my weight and they are as follows:

-maltodextrins

-dextrose

-whey protein concentrate (whey??)

-micellar casein

-ultrafiltrated egg protein

 

The company claimed the product is gluten free, should i trust them and continue taking it on everyday routine, or some of those might be dangerous for Celiacs?

thanks.

 

Also i just read, that old fans and stuff are almost impossible to clear from gluten traces, so i need to buy brand new ones or?

w8in4dave Community Regular

Wow I didn't know there was something to help Villi recover faster. I will have to look that up. Thanks! 

kareng Grand Master

whey & casein are milk.  If they say Gluten free, they likely are.

 

I don't understand about fans.  Did you mean pans? :D

 

Have you read this thread for People new to Celiac:

 

 

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/91878-newbie-info-101/


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



deluxlux Newbie

whey & casein are milk.  If they say Gluten free, they likely are.

 

I don't understand about fans.  Did you mean pans? :D

 

Have you read this thread for People new to Celiac:

 

 

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/91878-newbie-info-101/

yes i belive it was supposed to be Pans :D

also i just read i gota find a freakin gluten free SHAMPOO, toothpaste, and what not ...

so are sun tan protection creams or tan boosting creams also with gluten and i cant use them anymore or..?

:D

kareng Grand Master

yes i belive it was supposed to be Pans :D

also i just read i gota find a freakin gluten free SHAMPOO, toothpaste, and what not ...

so are sun tan protection creams or tan boosting creams also with gluten and i cant use them anymore or..?

:D

 

 

In the US, I have never seen a toothpaste with gluten.  The shampoo and lotions are just because they can get in your mouth.  If you don't think you will get them in your mouth, don't worry about it.  I don't worry about sun lotions because I don't get them in my mouth.  I haven't seen any with anything obviously wheat.  You could find wheat germ oil maybe.   I have seen wheat germ oil in shampoos and lotions occasionally.

deluxlux Newbie

In the US, I have never seen a toothpaste with gluten.  The shampoo and lotions are just because they can get in your mouth.  If you don't think you will get them in your mouth, don't worry about it.  I don't worry about sun lotions because I don't get them in my mouth.  I haven't seen any with anything obviously wheat.  You could find wheat germ oil maybe.   I have seen wheat germ oil in shampoos and lotions occasionally.

thanks kareng for all ur replyes.

i decided to follow this SCD *strict carbohydrate diet"or whatever, which eliminates even more stuff than gluten, but makes ur guts heal faster, because u do not feed the bacteria in it with sugars etc.

Hope it helps me get my weight back fast enough...

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,885
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    susieq312
    Newest Member
    susieq312
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • plumbago
      Since some time between 2010 and 2014, my HDL-C has been going up and you might even say elevated. The last time I could find in my records that my HDL was normal was in 2014 when it was 67. Last week, it was 101, and it’s been 88 and above since about 2015. A significant life event happened in 2010 when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease and in May of that year began a gluten free diet. An informal perusal of a previously posted topic on HDL on this forum shows that a lot of members responding had high normal or high levels of HDL, so it doesn’t seem to be that unusual. But because my HDL numbers have been so high for so long, I am now officially concerned enough that I will probably reach out to a cardiologist who specializes in lipids. I would like to know if I should have a genetic test, as a specific genetic mutation can be one reason for high HDL numbers. I will also ask if he/she thinks a cardiac work up including a coronary artery calcium score should be considered. I think by now most of us are done with the ridiculous good and bad cholesterol labels; the amount of what we don’t know about HDL is quite large. For me my questions include is it a matter of production or an inability to clear HDL, and are the high levels having an effect on my vasculature? My last TSH level was normal, so it's likely not a thyroid issue. I also take B12 regularly. I’ve read that niacin can cause HDL levels to go up, but B12 is not niacin, and I could find no definitive link between robust B12 supplementation and abnormally high HDL levels. Any input is appreciated! Plumbago
    • Scott Adams
      @Mynx, how long have you been gluten-free? I ask because many newly diagnosed celiacs react to many things, and often think their reactions are caused by gluten, when in fact, they are really caused by a combination of a sensitive gut due to damage, as well as additional food intolerance/leaky gut issues to other foods which may be temporary until their villi heal.
    • Scott Adams
      Many major brands of distilled vinegar in the USA, including Heinz white vinegar, are typically made from corn. In the United States, corn is a common and cost-effective raw material used in the production of distilled white vinegar. The process involves fermenting the sugars derived from corn into alcohol, which is then further fermented into acetic acid to produce vinegar. Distillation follows, which purifies the liquid and removes impurities, including any residual proteins or allergens. While the source of the vinegar (e.g., corn) is not always explicitly stated on the label, corn-derived vinegar is widely used in the food industry due to its neutral flavor and affordability. For individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, distilled vinegar made from corn is generally considered safe, as the distillation process effectively removes gluten proteins. However, if you have concerns about cross-contamination or specific sensitivities, it’s always a good idea to contact the manufacturer directly to confirm the sourcing and production practices. Heinz, for example, has stated that their distilled white vinegar is gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease, but verifying this information can provide additional peace of mind. The belief that distilled vinegar is gluten-free is rooted in the scientific understanding that gluten proteins, which are large and complex molecules, are generally too big to pass through the distillation process. Distillation involves heating a liquid to create vapor, which is then condensed back into a liquid form, leaving behind larger molecules like gluten proteins. However, the concern about cross-contamination arises from the possibility that gluten-containing ingredients may have been present in the liquid prior to distillation. While the distillation process itself is highly effective at removing gluten, the equipment used in production could potentially introduce trace amounts of gluten if not thoroughly cleaned between batches. For most individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, distilled vinegar is considered safe because the gluten content, if any, is typically below the threshold that would trigger a reaction. However, for those with extreme gluten intolerance or celiac disease, even trace amounts can cause adverse effects. This is why some individuals, like yourself, may choose to avoid commercially produced distilled vinegar and opt for alternatives like apple cider vinegar, which can be verified as gluten-free. The meticulous process of researching ingredients and preparing homemade products, such as ketchup, is indeed challenging but crucial for maintaining health and avoiding gluten exposure. It’s important to note that regulatory standards for gluten-free labeling vary by region, and in many places, products labeled "gluten-free" must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is considered safe for the vast majority of people with celiac disease. Nonetheless, individual sensitivity levels can vary, and your approach highlights the importance of personalized dietary management for those with severe gluten intolerance.
    • Bebee
      I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (LC) for quite a few years, so I have been gluten-free and DF.  I would like to get tested for Celiac Disease because of the possibility of cross contamination and colon cancer.  And if you were hospitalized and didn't have a celiac diagnosis you could not get gluten-free food, I don't know if that is true or not.  Also because there is chance of colon cancer so I want to know if I have Celiac Disease and need to be on very restrictive diet.  The only testing I did was a sigmoid scope and Enter Lab but no gene testing.  I know I can go back to eating gluten for a few months, but I would worry you would have to stay home for the few months while getting gluten.  What other options do I have?  Should I do the gene testing?  Maybe through Entero Lab?  Any other tests?  How important is it to have Celiac diagnosed? Thank you! Barb
    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
×
×
  • Create New...