Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Glutened By Flavored Coffee? Anyone Had This Problem?


moose07

Recommended Posts

moose07 Apprentice

I recently bought a different type of vanilla flavored coffee than I normally get. The box said nothing about any allergies so, stupidly, I figured it would be ok. However, now I'm thinking it glutened me. This whole week I've had headaches. This use to happen to me before going gluten free and usually lead up to a massive migraine. Anyways, I at first was thinking the headaches were just the stress of starting grad school but the headaches just kept getting worse as the week went by. Today I have GI symptoms, body pain, of course a terrible headache, I'm breaking out, and nerve tingling/pain. All of these are typical of a gluten reaction for me. The only thing I can think of it the different brand of coffee. I've gone over anything else that could have done it and this is the only culprit. After looking it up I found a site that said Folgers (the brand I bought) flavored coffee's may have barley malt in them but because it's such a small amount they of course don't have to disclose this info.

 

What I'm wondering is in anyone else has had this happen? I'm also curious about if people have reacted differently to barley gluten than they do to wheat gluten. I know if I get CC'd by wheat gluten my reaction to it is fairly quick and extreme where as this reaction and one other time I got CC'd by barley, the reaction took days to happen and was rather tame. Or if maybe because the barley in the coffee flavoring is so tiny it took a while to build up in my system and cause a reaction? Thanks for any help!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



shadowicewolf Proficient

Gluten is gluten, regardless of form.

 

That being said, its kind of disturbing that the company has a "may contain" statement without fully disclosing it. I even went searching on amazon to find a better image of the coffee in question and it was still confusing.

 

This being said, I am also fully not convinced that the coffee had the gluten in it to begin with. It says "natural and artificial flavor" on the images i've seen. Generally speaking, when barely malt is in something, it is clearly listed because it is a rather expensive ingredient when you compare it to, say, cane sugar.

 

Are you certain that coffee itself is not giving you the issue here? It can be rather harsh on a person's system.

moose07 Apprentice

I drink other types of coffee without any problems.

IrishHeart Veteran
   from the website:                Do Folgers products contain gluten?

Coffee is not a source of gluten, and our Folgers roast and ground coffee items are produced in a dedicated facility where no other types of agricultural crops are handled or processed; however, due to the use of common equipment within the agricultural community to harvest, store and transport crops, our roast and ground products may contain trace amounts of grain-based ingredients.

Additionally, our Open Original Shared Link products may contain added ingredients that are not gluten free. 

 

 

My honest opinion? I would not drink it.

 

It does not seem to matter if it is wheat or barley gluten for me.....it all makes me sick.

 

Green mountain flavored K cups are G F, if that helps.

moose07 Apprentice

Yeah that is what I found, another website I think it was a Gluten Free GiGi website that said she had contacted Folgers and they told her about the barley malt being a source of flavoring. I also normally drink the green mountain k cups but the store was out so I bought something else. Big mistake I guess.

IrishHeart Veteran

Sorry, Kiddo. :(

Happens to us all at some point or another.

 

Drink a lot of water to flush your system, maybe try charcoal tabs for a day or so.... and just try to get extra rest..

Your body took a hit.

I had migraines all of my life, so I know how horrid they are. 

 

Hope you feel better soon! 

dilettantesteph Collaborator

Gluten is gluten, regardless of form.

 

That isn't true.  Barley gluten and rye gluten have different chemical structures and even different names (hordein and secalin).  I don't know if reactions are different or not.  Looking at it as a chemist, it could fit the binding site differently.  They are different when it comes to detection methods.  This mentions it a bit, but you would have to do more searching for more information.

www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19763549


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



shadowicewolf Proficient

That isn't true.  Barley gluten and rye gluten have different chemical structures and even different names (hordein and secalin).  I don't know if reactions are different or not.  Looking at it as a chemist, it could fit the binding site differently.  They are different when it comes to detection methods.  This mentions it a bit, but you would have to do more searching for more information.

www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19763549

...yet it is still gluten and it still causes reactions.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...