This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Homemade Bagel Recipe?

WinterSong

WinterSong Community Regular

Hi everyone!

I'm looking for a good gluten free bagel recipe. I'm a good baker, so I think I'm up for the challenge! The recipe I have in my go-to book has a LOT of potato starch in it, and I'd like to make something a little more nutritious. Also, I prefer baking from scratch rather than using mixes. Anyone have a recipe they can share?

Also, I found this one online. Has anyone tried it? Open Original Shared Link

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Alwayssomething Contributor

I tried one with a Cup4Cup flour, it was very good and I am sure you could experiment with your own flour mixture.  I always experiment with 1/2 the recipe for my first try.

2 packets active quick rise dry yeast 

2 cups warm water

5 1/2 cups Cup4Cup all purpose gluten free flour

3 Tablespoons Sugar

2 Teaspoons Salt

2 quarts boiling water

2 Teaspoons Canola Oil

Combine yeast and warm water, disolve about 5 minutes

In a standing mixer using a dough hook, combine flour, sugar, salt, mix untell a well forms

Pour water/yeast mixture into the center and beat on medium speed, cover the dough to rest for 10 minutes

Divide dough into 12 equal pices, roll each piece into a cylinder and moisten the ends to fust them to form a ring.   Place them on a baking sheet and cover with plastic wrap.  Allow dough to rise for 30-40 minutes (until they rise about 30%)

While dough is rising, bring two quarts of water to a boil and add oil.   Preheat over to 400 degrees