Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

L'occitane?


WinterSong

Recommended Posts

WinterSong Community Regular

Does anyone know if their products are gluten free? My boyfriend got me hand lotion from their store for Christmas. I'd hate to hurt his feelings if I couldn't use it but I've gotta check.

Thanks!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



IrishHeart Veteran

Are there any ingredients listed on the package? Do you see wheat germ oil there or hydrolyzed wheat protein? If not, it's probably not a problem.

 

With cosmetics, the only thing I ever really concern myself with is lipstick. I know others take extra measures and that's fine, too. :)  I have even used shampoo with hydrolyzed wheat protein in it.

 

 

But, I do not have a contact wheat allergy in addition to celiac, so that kind of thing is not a problem for me.

WinterSong Community Regular

There's nothing in the ingredients that say wheat, barley or oats. I don't have any skin problems if I am in contact with gluten but I worry about questionable lotion if I put it on and then eat something with my hands and forget about it.

IrishHeart Veteran

It's funny, but I got some Lancome lotion for a gift and as I was reading the label, I was thinking about your post and wondered what you decided to do.

 

From all the research I have ever read, even if there were a minute amount of hydrolyzed wheat in a lotion or a lipstick, it would take tubes of it to be concentrated enough to produce a problem.

 

Open Original Shared Link

 

But if you are worried, maybe you could just use the lotion on your legs, feet,arms, back etc. 

WinterSong Community Regular

Sorry for the long amounts of time in between my posts - I've been away for Christmas and have been ignoring my phone and computer. Bliss!  :D

 

Anyway, thanks for that article. I generally don't worry too much about perfume and makeup other than lip stick, and I always wash my hands thoroughly after applying my make up (I'm pretty sure that 95% of it is gluten free anyway). I may end up using the lotion at night since I always wash my hands in the morning. Good compromise  :)

IrishHeart Veteran

Sorry for the long amounts of time in between my posts - I've been away for Christmas and have been ignoring my phone and computer. Bliss!  :D

 

 

that IS bliss ! LOL

 

Happy New Year! 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,874
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Charli.stoz09
    Newest Member
    Charli.stoz09
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...