Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Butter


w8in4dave

Recommended Posts

w8in4dave Community Regular

Is there a substitute for butter? Or a margarine I can use? For lactose intolerant? Butter is Killin me! Or can I use the stuff for lactose intolerant? Forget the name of it off hand. Just amazes me how delicate I really am. Used to be a joke. Lol not so much anymore!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



IrishHeart Veteran

When I had to be dairy free for the first 9 months or so, (and that was awful because I LOVE cheese and BUTTAH, as we say in Boston lol.) I discovered that some margarines contain butter. Crazy, I know.  

 

I used ghee (or clarified butter) and it did not bother me. Clarifying removes the casein and the lactose. Maybe you could try that? I have always used KerryGold butter and it will render you some yummy ghee.

 

Just  a suggestion!

 

Open Original Shared Link

 

OR you can buy it.

w8in4dave Community Regular

Thanks! I will Def. Make some! Might have to run to the store today for some of that nice irish butter :) I am so glad I don't have to give it up! :) Whew! I was so upset when I figured that part out! Ughhhhh! How stupid of me! 

IrishHeart Veteran

Thanks! I will Def. Make some! Might have to run to the store today for some of that nice irish butter :) I am so glad I don't have to give it up! :) Whew! I was so upset when I figured that part out! Ughhhhh! How stupid of me! 

You aren't stupid, hon. This is all a giant education--for us all. Hope the ghee works out for you! :) 

1desperateladysaved Proficient

I couldn't use ghee either, so I use coconut oil.

 

D

w8in4dave Community Regular

OMG The Ghee tastes wonderful! How easy was that to make also!! Sorry it didn't work out for you Diane :( I have not used too much of it as of yet. But it taste amazing! I have not bought that fantastic butter yet either. I just made it with good ole butter! Salted kind too! 

 

Diane my Daughter just said to me tonight you can try Coconut oil mom alot of people use that instead. Love my Coconut Oil! 

But seriously the Ghee I am hoping will do the trick. I think it has already helped! 

w8in4dave Community Regular

You aren't stupid, hon. This is all a giant education--for us all. Hope the ghee works out for you! :)

I just did not realize Butter was on the NONO list! Lol I didn't know it had Lactose in it. Yea talk about giant education! ... might be an understatement! I told the neighbor about my food issues, he said and Dave is still here? You mean he hasn't shot you and put you out of your misery? LOL I said hey as long as theres fresh fruit , veggies and Meat! I can eat! :) Not hard!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cap6 Enthusiast

Please don't use imitation butter, there is so much "junk" in it!!   The ghee is good and you might want to give the coconut oil a try.  Yummy! Use it just like butter.  Smear a little over some roasted veggies....good stuff!

w8in4dave Community Regular

Please don't use imitation butter, there is so much "junk" in it!!   The ghee is good and you might want to give the coconut oil a try.  Yummy! Use it just like butter.  Smear a little over some roasted veggies....good stuff!

I have never liked imitation butter or margarine , I do use Coconut oil but usually not in place of butter. I have tasted it and it doesn't really have a taste. So I will continue to cook with it but as for substitute for butter I will use my Clarified butter :) Thanks everyone. Just love it! 

  • 2 weeks later...
gilligan Enthusiast

This may sound a bit silly, but I really don't know!  Does ghee contain whey?  Or is it rendered out?  Lactose is a problem for me, but now either casein or whey is also a problem.  I'm not sure which one is making me miserable when it's mistakenly eaten. 

psawyer Proficient

Ghee is clarified butter--essentially pure fat. It has no detectable lactose or casein. Whey is a by-product of cheese production, and is not found in butter or ghee.

gilligan Enthusiast

Ghee is clarified butter--essentially pure fat. It has no detectable lactose or casein. Whey is a by-product of cheese production, and is not found in butter or ghee.

Thank you for your help.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,826
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Chadrick Hinson
    Newest Member
    Chadrick Hinson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
×
×
  • Create New...