Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Unintentional Glutening Suspects


skelly247

Recommended Posts

skelly247 Rookie

I was diagnosed about a month ago and have managed to unintentionally gluten myself twice, once with a spaghetti strainer that I thought I cleaned really well and once with foods that have no business having gluten, in my case, barley malt in chocolate as a sweetener.

 

In the interest of avoiding glutening myself (and any new celiacs as well), what are some things that you didn't expect to have gluten in them that actually do (and sorry if this topic already exists, I looked back a few pages and didn't see any similar)?
 

Thanks! 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

The good thing is, if we read the ingredients, we will see the gluten ingredient.

Some things people are surprised to find contain gluten-

Cereals like Rice Krispies and cornflakes ( there are gluten-free versions)

Non- gluten-free oats

Licorice

Contadina flavored tomato paste ( Italian herb)

Soy sauce and " Asian" flavors that contain non gluten-free soy sauce

Butterscotch baking chips

Might add to this as I think of others

Adding: I wanted to make sure I was clear- these foods have gluten in them, which surprised me. However, the gluten wheat or malt, is clearly labelled in the ingredients. I just didn't expect to see gluten in them.

NoGlutenCooties Contributor

I'd have to say I've been more annoyed than surprised.  Just want to reiterate the Celiac mantra... every label, every time.  If I'm unsure about any ingredient I Google it from my phone before I even buy it.  I was actually most surprised that maltodextrin does NOT contain gluten.

BlessedMommy Rising Star

Jam & soymilk were a couple that surprised me.

 

There was a brand of jelly that had wheat glucose syrup in it. Some soymilk is barley malt sweetened.

notme Experienced

I'd have to say I've been more annoyed than surprised.  Just want to reiterate the Celiac mantra... every label, every time.  If I'm unsure about any ingredient I Google it from my phone before I even buy it.  I was actually most surprised that maltodextrin does NOT contain gluten.

 

yeah, i confused 'barley malt' <GLUTEN with' maltodextrin' <NOT GLUTEN for quite a while :/  the thing i probably googled over and over the most in the beginning lolz

Jam & soymilk were a couple that surprised me.

 

There was a brand of jelly that had wheat glucose syrup in it. Some soymilk is barley malt sweetened.

always be reading your labels :)  pick up box, turn box over, read third ingredient, make disappointed face, turn box back over, return box to shelf lolz

skelly247 Rookie

Thank you all so much!

 

The barley malt was in one of those lindor truffles, they were giving away free samples at costco and I didn't even think to check because it was chocolate, why would there be gluten in chocolate....?

 

BlessedMommy, is there really gluten in jams? That's really depressing.....

notme Experienced

BlessedMommy, is there really gluten in jams? That's really depressing.....

i have never seen gluten in jam, but that's why reading the labels is so important.  if it's in the product, they have to list it.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



C-Girl Contributor

The most annoying one for me was GoodBelly's berry flavor, and others, contain barley. Why do they need barley in a fruit juice???

gilligan Enthusiast

Canada Dry Ginger Ale!  Some sites say it contains gluten in the coloring and other sites say it's okay.  I just wish I knew for sure.  It's the only carbonated beverage I drank.  

kareng Grand Master

Canada Dry Ginger Ale!  Some sites say it contains gluten in the coloring and other sites say it's okay.  I just wish I knew for sure.  It's the only carbonated beverage I drank.

I have never seen a soda with gluten. I drink this sometimes.

IrishHeart Veteran

Canada Dry Ginger Ale!  Some sites say it contains gluten in the coloring and other sites say it's okay.  I just wish I knew for sure.  It's the only carbonated beverage I drank.  

 

What site says "it contains gluten?" I'd like to see their proof. 

 

I would not worry about ginger ale, hon. 

Nikki2777 Community Regular

Hershey's miniatures. But the full size is ok. Weird, right?

Fwiw, I drink Canada Dry Ginger Ale all the time.

NoGlutenCooties Contributor

The most annoying one for me was GoodBelly's berry flavor, and others, contain barley. Why do they need barley in a fruit juice???

 

For the same reason they feel the need to put high-fructose-corn-syrup in a can of pineapple.  Either we've all gotten so used to eating stuff that is so over-sweetened that we can't taste anything anymore - or the quality of our soil and of our food has gotten so poor that it tastes like crap without a ton of sugar on it. 

:angry:

<getting down off the soapbox>

NoGlutenCooties Contributor

Canada Dry Ginger Ale!  Some sites say it contains gluten in the coloring and other sites say it's okay.  I just wish I knew for sure.  It's the only carbonated beverage I drank.  

 

I'm not usually one to drink soda, but I have had Canada Dry Ginger Ale once since being diagnosed and not only did I not have any issues with it I was actually drinking it to calm my stomach after my one accidental glutening.  It worked.

FWIW.. whenever I come across contradictory information like that I contact the company directly.  They can usually set the record straight.

kareng Grand Master

Hershey's miniatures. But the full size is ok. Weird, right?

Fwiw, I drink Canada Dry Ginger Ale all the time.

You mean the little candy bars? I eat those. Not the ones that have gluten in every size - like Krackel bars. I haven't noticed a change in the ingredients between the big and little chocolate bars. They even say they don't have all the products on the list and to read ingredients.

From Hersheys:

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Please note, this list is not all inclusive as we have other products that do not have gluten containing ingredients.

The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.

NoGlutenCooties Contributor

You mean the little candy bars? I eat those. Not the ones that have gluten in every size - like Krackel bars. I haven't noticed a change in the ingredients between the big and little chocolate bars.

 

Hersey's miniatures are on the NON-gluten-free list:  Open Original Shared Link

(although I haven't checked the packages - I'm not really a junk-food person)

 

Also, regular Rolos are gluten-free but the mini's have wheat in them.  (Edited to add... Hersey's actually doesn't include Rolos on their gluten-free list either even though there are no gluten-ingredients in them... I *think* this because of the possibility of cross-contamination.)

 

So while most full-size and mini versions may be created equal... not all of them are.  (Every label... every time...)

Nikki2777 Community Regular

Yes - here's the clip from the about.com site that NoGlutenCookies cited above:

 

The following Hershey's products are NOT gluten-free:

  • Hershey's Special Dark Bar
  • Hershey's Cookies 'N' Creme Bar
  • Hershey's Air Delight
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Drops
  • Hershey's Miniatures
  • Mr. Goodbar
  • Symphony Bar
  • Hershey's Extra Dark Chocolate

 

What I read somewhere that it has something to do with an emulsifier that they use in the minis.  And I was so sad that Special Dark Bars were on this list.  Those are my favorites!

GF Lover Rising Star

I'm not really a junk food person my self.  I'll file away the information for next time I look at the candy isle and get sick.

 

Caddbury Caramel eggs are not junk food, just sayin...

 

Colleen

Dianaw Newbie

What gets me is that Reeses cups are on the gluten free list, but seasonal shapes are not.  I used to love the christmas trees.

NoGlutenCooties Contributor

I'm not much for junk food either, but once in awhile you just need something unhealthy :)

I miss ice-cream sandwiches... but luckily Eddy's Fudge Tracks are safe!

kareng Grand Master

I'm not much for junk food either, but once in awhile you just need something unhealthy :)

I miss ice-cream sandwiches... but luckily Eddy's Fudge Tracks are safe!

If you can find these..... So good! They come in different sizes.

Open Original Shared Link

NoGlutenCooties Contributor

Thanks Kareng - I'll keep those in mind.  I haven't experimented with hardly any gluten-free processed food yet - actually just bought a few rolls for the first time today. 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,087
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    C.E.L
    Newest Member
    C.E.L
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121.1k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Dc91
      Perfect, I guess I won’t know for certain until I know if I need a endoscopy/biopsy. My father is also celiac so I’m guessing that’s where I’ve got it from. My doctors has told me to start a gluten free diet which I’m 4 days into but it would be nice if I could have my last hurrah at eating gluten again. I’ll ring in the morning and ask if she’s referred me for an endoscopy/biopsy. 
    • trents
      The tTG-IGA is considered the centerpiece of celiac disease blood antibody testing. Your test results exceed 10x normal range so you could be officially declared to have celiac disease without going through an endoscopy/biopsy of the small bowel lining. As you used the term "bloods" to refer to your antibody testing, I am assuming you live in the UK and it has become common practice there since the COVID pandemic years to dispense with the endoscopy/biopsy when the tTG-IGA score reaches 10x normal. Though I would not go so far as to say it is yet a universal practice to do so. So, I would hold off on the gluten free diet until you find out if you will be required to undergo an endoscopy/biopsy of the small bowel. If you quit gluten now, healing of the small bowel lining will commence and it may generate a false negative biopsy by the time you get to the procedure. So, ask that question of your doctor. That is, if he feels a need to refer you to a GI doc for an endoscopy/biopsy.
    • GeoPeanut
      I had no idea! Thank you. 
    • Dc91
      Hi Cristina, 0-6.9 is normal range and I’m >100
    • cristiana
      Hello Dc91 and welcome to the forum! Could you first just add the lab ranges for us for your TTG IgA Antibodies as they vary?   Cristiana  
×
×
  • Create New...