Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Food Allergen Labeling Bill


lbarton

Recommended Posts

lbarton Newbie

Now that the Food Allergen Labeling Bill will take effect in January 2006, how will that help us? If we see that the food does not have a "contains wheat" label, what else do we have to look for?

What are

the

hidden sources of barley, rye and oats?

I know we need to look for malt -- even rice malt and the following

foods

which may have barley/malt in them: invert sugar, brown sugar, inulin,

rice

syrup, caramel coloring. Sausages and wieners may have flavorings and

so on

from barley, rye or oats. I expect I can't eat that until further

investigation with the manufacturer.

Have I thought of everything? Is "food starch" or "modified food

starch" on

a label without a wheat warning likely to have barley, oats or rye?

Are

"natural flavors" or "artificial flavors" likely to be derived from

barley,

oats or rye?

Thanks! I just want to know what to do once the law is in force.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

I don't know about all this, but I bet richard is on top of this issue. If there is any help we can do to contact our Representatives in our local districts, I am sure that we can help make this happen, if not already.

I would like to join this issue as I used to work on Capital Hill (many years ago). I think that I have heard that they may need to list the six or eight related allergines on the labeling.

If anyone knows more information about this I would like to know.

Kasey'sMom Enthusiast

Here's a link that describes the Food Allergen Labeling Law that will be inforced by Jan. 1, 2006. The law should help us with identifing wheat. From what I've read, I think you're exactly right. We will still need to look for barley, rye, oats.

The "final" guidelines for the labeling term "gluten free" on products will be active by 2008. :) (As stated in the article below...)

Open Original Shared Link

lovegrov Collaborator

There's no way I can answer everything at this point. However, rye and oats are never or virtually never hidden. They are not a concern in that regard.

Rice malt comes from rice and corn malt comes from corn. Not a concern. However, most malt is from barley, so you need to automatically consider malt a threat.

Sugars are OK and I still have yet to find a caramel coloring that has gluten. I understand that caramle colorings from other countries MIGHT have gluten, but I don't know of any. If anybody else does, please post it.

Sausages and hot dogs are in fact almost all gluten-free, but not all. Always check. The only hot dog I know of with gluten is Nathan's.

MFS can be a threat until the new law kicks in, but I've never heard of one made from barley, and in reality have almost never heard of one from wheat.

richard

mookie03 Contributor

ok i know we cant have malt but what about things with malt in the word? Im confused b/c i know maltodextrin is made from corn- so what about maltitol? maltitol syrup? isomalt? does that mean there is barley or is this a cruel joke to make this more difficult for us?!

-stefi

Guest TerpyTaylor
ok i know we cant have malt but what about things with malt in the word? Im confused b/c i know maltodextrin is made from corn- so what about maltitol? maltitol syrup? isomalt? does that mean there is barley or is this a cruel joke to make this more difficult for us?!

-stefi

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Maltodextrin is usually made from barley, unless it specifically says otherwise (like "corn maltodextrin"). It makes me super sick! Getting glutened from maltodextrin has actually made me sicker before than getting glutened from a wheat derived source. I know some friends who are not celiacs but are really sensitive to barley maltodextin. Interesting! So anyways, I always avoid it if there's any question at all. I'm actually not sure about maltitol, what have you found that in? It could be something I need to watch out, I'm still getting sick a lot and we're not sure why. :(

good luck!

Taylor

lovegrov Collaborator

Maltodextrin is usually made from barley, unless it specifically says otherwise (like "corn maltodextrin"). It makes me super sick! Getting glutened from maltodextrin has actually made me sicker before than getting glutened from a wheat derived source. I know some friends who are not celiacs but are really sensitive to barley maltodextin. Interesting! So anyways, I always avoid it if there's any question at all. I'm actually not sure about maltitol, what have you found that in? It could be something I need to watch out, I'm still getting sick a lot and we're not sure why. :(

Actually, it's the complete opposite in the U.S. Maltodextrin made from wheat )I've never heard of it being made from barley) MUST by law say so. It is doesn't say wheat then it's gluten-free.

richard


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



VydorScope Proficient

Okay... Im slighty confused here. After this new law goes in to effect, and "wheat' is forced to be labled, what does that leave for us to look for? Do we still worry about "natural flavors" and the other genric terms? So we just look for "Contains: Wheat" and then look fro Oats, Barly, and rye, and thats it?

mookie03 Contributor
Maltodextrin is usually made from barley, unless it specifically says otherwise (like "corn maltodextrin").  It makes me super sick!  Getting glutened from maltodextrin has actually made me sicker before than getting glutened from a wheat derived source.  I know some friends who are not celiacs but are really sensitive to barley maltodextin.  Interesting!  So anyways, I always avoid it if there's any question at all.  I'm actually not sure about maltitol, what have you found that in?  It could be something I need to watch out, I'm still getting sick a lot and we're not sure why.    :(

good luck!

Taylor

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

ive seen maltitol (and syrup), etc. in a lot of candies, gums, stuff like that. Also in sugar-free items, which is why i was wondering if it is a sugar substitute and not actually malt. I just wonder b/c I really like mints and i hate all that extra sugar, but most sugar-free mints have words with malt in them- i dont know if i can have them! And yes, Richard is correct- in US maltodextrin will be labeled if from wheat.

Taylor- i still get sick too, it is SO hard to eliminate gluten completely (especially in my lifestyle!) but it seems to be the little things that get me now (like these mints?)

Stefi

lbarton Newbie
There's no way I can answer everything at this point. However, rye and oats are never or virtually never hidden. They are not a concern in that regard.

Rice malt comes from rice and corn malt comes from corn. Not a concern. However, most malt is from barley, so you need to automatically consider malt a threat.

Sugars are OK and I still have yet to find a caramel coloring that has gluten. I understand that caramle colorings from other countries MIGHT have gluten, but I don't know of any. If anybody else does, please post it.

Sausages and hot dogs are in fact almost all gluten-free, but not all. Always check. The only hot dog I know of with gluten is Nathan's.

MFS can be a threat until the new law kicks in, but I've never heard of one made from barley, and in reality have almost never heard of one from wheat.

richard

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Thanks so much for your answer! I just want to verify that natural flavors and artificial flavors don't have barley, rye or oats included in them.

lbsteenwyk Explorer
ok i know we cant have malt but what about things with malt in the word? Im confused b/c i know maltodextrin is made from corn- so what about maltitol? maltitol syrup? isomalt? does that mean there is barley or is this a cruel joke to make this more difficult for us?!

Isomalt is derived from sugar - despite the name, it does not contain gluten.

Maltitol is a sugar alcohol and also gluten free.

elonwy Enthusiast

From wikipedia:

For example, maltodextrin is a moderately sweet polysaccharide used as a food additive, unrelated to barley malt. It is produced from corn starch and is usually found as a creamy white hygroscopic powder. Maltodextrin is easily digestible, being absorbed as rapidly as glucose. The CAS number of maltodextrin is 9050-36-6.

From wheat-free.org:

When labeled as "maltodextrin" in the US, this ingredient must be made from corn, potato or rice but not wheat. Confusion comes from the name. Malt is usually made from barley and dextrin can be made from wheat. But maltodextrin is gluten free. Recently there has been some evidence that wheat might be used to produce maltodextrin. If it is, the label will specifically say "wheat maltodextrin" or "maltodextrin (wheat)"."

I had to go research cause that was freaking me out.

HTH

Elonwy

lovegrov Collaborator

There are indeed a handful of products now that say "wheat maltodextrin," although I can't remember specific ones. Generally they are made in Europe or made in the U.S. and distributed in Europe. They use wheat to avoid the chance of getting GMO corn.

In the U.S., just read the ingredients.

richard

  • 2 weeks later...
Idahogirl Apprentice

My understanding is if there is wheat "hidden" in natural flavoring or MFS or anything else, it will have to be listed on the label with the new law. So, it would follow that the only thing we will need to look for is barley, rye or oats. Correct me if I'm missing something?

The one thing I would be careful of at first is, products produced before the new law, but still on the shelves. I can't imagine stores would be forced to get rid of all products on December 31 that don't have the new labeling on them. I think a lot of manufactures have already started this, and it is soooo helpful! Especially since wheat is the most common culprit for gluten.

I'm glad maltodextrin is safe, since it is in virtually everything that tastes good!! :P

Lisa

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,748
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Jojo W.
    Newest Member
    Jojo W.
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
    • K6315
      Prior to being diagnosed, I had a gluten heavy diet. I stopped all gluten exactly a week ago and have continued to feel sick in the ways I did prior to going gluten free - primarily on and off nausea, brain fog, and fatigue. Wondering if this is normal and, if so, how long can I expect to feel this way?
    • Scott Adams
      Some of the largest contract manufacturers in the U.S. include companies like NutraScience Labs, Capsugel (part of Lonza), and Thorne Research. These companies produce supplements for a wide range of brands, from small startups to well-known names.
×
×
  • Create New...