Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Serielda

Recommended Posts

Serielda Enthusiast

Ok, so I found an hot tea, that I liked that  stated that it was gluten-free, ( some teas do contain preservatives that contain gluten) but when drinking it today I noted a headache coming on and a  mild discomfort in my stomach.  The brand is called Revolution  and it is a  Ginger Peach tea. I checked the ingredients and for  gluten-free markings to ensure safety on the box, and both seemed to check out. No other warnings that  show it could have been cross contaminated either(as most products I seen at Whole Foods, or The Fresh Market will warn of that possibility).  Has anyone ever experienced problems with this brand?

 

edit note:  My hubby  had  also checked that box when buying it and it is certified gluten-free, I myself  just double checked and it is certified.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Just an FYI - some teas are made with barley or called " malted". Those are the ones with gluten.

I haven't had this flavor - ginger teas don't agree with my stomach. I have had other flavors and been fine.

Serielda Enthusiast

Thanks for the info.

I actually  have done some research on tea's and  threw out or gave away a lot of my old teas that  was  I dunno, or not safe. Any tea's I have bought recently have all been listed on the product that they are  certified gluten-free and absent of Barley.  It could be Ginger issue, but not sure needless to say I am will be giving it to a friend as  I hate to just waste things by throwing them in the garbage when  I have friends who  could use it. Most of my  old foods I had around upon diagnosis, I  gave away.  I tend to  because I am new be very paranoid of things that don't state they are safe, or ask questions to try and figure out if they are.

Just an FYI - some teas are made with barley or called " malted". Those are the ones with gluten.

 


I haven't had this flavor - ginger teas don't agree with my stomach. I have had other flavors and been fine.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,872
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cathy Repa
    Newest Member
    Cathy Repa
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...