Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Paderborner Pilsener


Zebra007

Recommended Posts

Zebra007 Contributor

Hi Folks,

 

I realize that lager contains Gluten, and I need to purchase Gluten free lager, but I was wondering if anyone would know if Paderborner Pilsener is Gluten Free, it states it is very pure...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



LauraTX Rising Star

Welcome to the forum!

 

In general, beer is going to contain gluten unless it is specifically formulated without the gluten containing grains that most beers are made of.  I looked up that brand of beer and saw a mention of hops, and no mention to the absence of gluten, so that is not going to be a gluten-free lager.  Purity with beer is something totally different than the potential absence of gluten/allergens.  When looking for a gluten-free beer, look for a brand that states it is naturally gluten free.  Some brands use gluten in production and then claim to remove it, but I would still stay away from those and go with something that was never made with it in the first place.  

Zebra007 Contributor

Welcome to the forum!

 

In general, beer is going to contain gluten unless it is specifically formulated without the gluten containing grains that most beers are made of.  I looked up that brand of beer and saw a mention of hops, and no mention to the absence of gluten, so that is not going to be a gluten-free lager.  Purity with beer is something totally different than the potential absence of gluten/allergens.  When looking for a gluten-free beer, look for a brand that states it is naturally gluten free.  Some brands use gluten in production and then claim to remove it, but I would still stay away from those and go with something that was never made with it in the first place.  

I see..thank you for replying so swiftly, I will buy the correct stuff tommorow.

Georgia-guy Enthusiast

There is also the option of getting their customer comments number off their website or a bottle of their beer and calling them and asking. Or if you see a distributor at the gas station, grocery store, liquor store, etc you could ask them. In my experience they tend to have a good knowledge of what products they deliver are gluten free (and for legal reasons shouldn't be dumb enough to say it is if they aren't positive). I even had a distributor call a brewery directly for me when asking about a beer.

kareng Grand Master

Regular beer usually has barley in it - malt, barley malt, malted, etc.  Hops are gluten-free but malt is not. Some beer also has wheat.  Being "very pure" has nothing to do with gluten free.  You would need to find a beer labelled gluten free.  Most hard ciders are gluten free - not exactly beer but might be easier to find.

Zebra007 Contributor

Thank you all!...I have another question, something different, but will post as new thread.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,815
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    lbksunyoga
    Newest Member
    lbksunyoga
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...