Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Goya Product Surprise


WinterSong

Recommended Posts

WinterSong Community Regular

I was at the NJ Gluten and Allergen Free Expo last weekend and spoke with a nutritional representative from Goya. I was surprised to hear that they only have a handful of products that are gluten free. I think only two or three of their canned bean variations were on their gluten-free list. She told me that they are going through a gluten-free certification process and are working on ensuring their products are truly gluten-free.

 

I asked her about canned chick peas, since that is the product of theirs that I use the most. Even though there is no mention of possible gluten/CC issues on the label, she said that there may be some cross contamination and to only get the low sodium chick peas for now. Then she said that if I wash/soak the regular chick peas really well, it would wash away traces of gluten. Then I was like  :wacko:

 

I emailed her a few days ago to get more information, but so far I haven't heard back from her....Emailing someone else from the company now. I'll let you know....


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



greenbeanie Enthusiast

Thanks for this info. I used to eat Goya canned beans and cream of coconut all the time, and I stopped because of uncertainty about whether they were safe, but I'd love to go back to eating them if they are gluten free. Please do keep us posted if you find out more! I seem to recall finding a gluten-free list on their website at one point last year, but I can't find it again now. Maybe they changed it after the new FDA regulations went into effect? Anyhow, I'm glad they are checking things out, and I hope it turns out that their black beans and kidney beans are ok!

LauraTX Rising Star

Hopefully the narrow list is just because they want to be certain, for now.  I saw their booth in one of the pics on a facebook post, and it had me wondering.  Perhaps they will get some more info out and the list will be larger, soon!

WinterSong Community Regular

No word yet from Goya, but Stop and Shop has just told me that their chick peas are gluten free and made in a facility without wheat. Stop and Shop, here I come!

WinterSong Community Regular

The Stop and Shop brand was on sale for 49 cents per can.....and I just bought 30.  :P

 

I called my mother because I knew she would get a kick out of my shopping adventure. "You have a studio apartment! Where are you going to put all of those!" she asked, to which I replied, "Anywhere I can! They were 49 cents!"

 

Still waiting to hear from Goya....

LauraTX Rising Star

Where are you going to put all of those.... down your hatch?  LOL

WinterSong Community Regular

Bottoms up! lol


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 2 weeks later...
WinterSong Community Regular

After emailing both the woman I spoke to and the company again, I finally got a response:

Thank you for sending in your email and for your kind words. I am glad I was able to help you at the Gluten Free/Allergen Free Expo Sept 6 &7th.

As to the Goya Low sodium canned beans, Look for these 7 low sodium canned beans with the following imprints on the can:

ITEM# LOW SODIUM CANNED BEANS IMPRINT CODE

2330 Red Kidney LOW SODIUM NLSLRSB 15.5oz can

2331 Pink beans LOW SODIUM N LSPKM 15.5oz can

2332 Black Beans LOW SODIUM NLSTBSM 15.5oz can

2333 ChickPea Beans LOW SODIUM N LSPTO 15.5oz can

2334 Pinto beans LOW SODIUM N LSSWM 15.5oz can

2335 sml White Beans LOW SODIUM N LSSWM 15.5oz can

2345 Drk Red Kidney beans LOW SODIUM N LSDRKN 15.5oz can

These products are produced in Angola, NY which is a gluten free facility. Plus they have done testing on the products which have come back gluten free as to FDA specifications. The letter “N” stands for Angola.

That will help assure they are gluten free.

It was nice meeting you . I wish you much good health and happiness.

Regards,

Meriterese

MeriTerese Racanelli, M.S.,R&D Food Scientist/Nutritionist

Email: MeriTerese.Racanelli@Goya.com

CELL: (973)809-0373; Tel: (201)348-4900 ext 2210 ; Fax: (201)348-3004

GOYA FOODS, INC. 100 Seaview Drive Secaucus, NJ 07094

poneelovesyou Newbie

Wow, I didnt even think about if my canned beans had cross contamination. Good to know! Seems like even naturally gluten-free foods are contaminated these days.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,872
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cathy Repa
    Newest Member
    Cathy Repa
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...