Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Grain Alcohol Has Gluten?


Shamilton

Recommended Posts

Shamilton Rookie

Is there some controversy about whether or not grain alcohol (from a "gluten" grain) has gluten in it? Soy Delicious told me there Soy Icecream is gluten-free (they clean the machine well, so they feel there is a low chance of cross contamination..), but they do use flavorings with grain alcohol. They seemed to think it is not proven there is gluten in the alcohol. My daughter is still reacting to something, so we are going to eliminate the soy icecream (she will be sad!), but I was just wondering. Also, is there any non-dairy, non-gluten icecream that is "safe"?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



seeking-wholeness Explorer
Also, is there any non-dairy, non-gluten icecream that is "safe"?

I haven't found one. My son reacted to Rice Dream "ice cream" (which I read somewhere does NOT use a barley enzyme in the processing), and I have been reluctant to try others. If you find one, please let me know!

  • 4 weeks later...
jen-schall Rookie

As far as I know - and I'm pretty certain - any grain-derived alcohol contains gluten. Depending on distillation processes, some companies insist the gluten molecules are "removed," but most doctors, including mine, recommend you still not partake, just to be safe. Grain alcohol is what causes most of the problems with natural or artificial flavors containing gluten. A solution, although it's kind of a pain, is to call the company and ask if their product contains gluten and if they use grain alcohol. Many companies will tell you they don't know for sure or they cannot guarantee if they have many sources of raw materials... this typically means you have to eliminate that food.

The good news is: Imagine Foods Soy Dream ice cream is completely non-dairy (vegan) and gluten-free! and it's good!

tarnalberry Community Regular

You could also get an ice cream maker to make your own out of safe soy milks or sorbets.

  • 1 month later...
tom Contributor

Hmmm surprising. I was sure i'd read in numerous sources that the distillation breaks down the gluten/gliadin to the point that it's not the same type of molecule at all. I thought this was why any distilled vinegar from any source is safe.

I'm sure a technical explanation wouldn't claim anything is "removed", as much as broken down into components.

tarnalberry Community Regular

Actually, "removed" is the correct term for what happens to the gluten in the distillation process. Basically, distillation is where the more volatile (and lighter) molecules are evaporated off of a liquid. The gluten molecules are too heavy to make it through the many steps of a distillation process.

I know that there are people who still suspect grain alcohol despite this, but I went through too many chemistry labs to suspect it any farther. That is NOT to say that a company may not completely distill their products or that some of the undistilled liquid could get into the distilled liquid in a poor quality process, of course. And there is some alcohol that has ingredients added to it after the distillation process which could contain gluten.

tom Contributor

Aha, thx for the explanation. Not sure WHAT i was thinking. I should look something up b4 posting sometimes.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 5 years later...
Gfree in MI Newbie
Is there some controversy about whether or not grain alcohol (from a "gluten" grain) has gluten in it? Soy Delicious told me there Soy Icecream is gluten-free (they clean the machine well, so they feel there is a low chance of cross contamination..), but they do use flavorings with grain alcohol. They seemed to think it is not proven there is gluten in the alcohol. My daughter is still reacting to something, so we are going to eliminate the soy icecream (she will be sad!), but I was just wondering. Also, is there any non-dairy, non-gluten icecream that is "safe"?

It's very possible that the problem is an allergy to soy in addition to gluten sensitivity. Why don't you try Turtle Mountain's Purely Decadent made with Coconut Milk Ice Cream (Open Original Shared Link) or Coconut Bliss (www.coconutbliss.com)? Both are very good.

As for the grain alcohol issue, I found the following article online at Open Original Shared Link

See section entitled "Alcohol derived from wheat"

Celiac Disease and Safe Grains

Donald D. Kasarda, Ph.D.

Research Chemist (Retired)

U. S. Department of Agriculture

Albany, CA

July, 2003

Learning Objective: To review the relationship of wheat, rye, and barley, the harmful grains in celiac disease, to other grains that might suitably be included in the diet of celiac patients.

Celiac disease

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,650
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    NancyW
    Newest Member
    NancyW
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jenn D
      Hi. Did your ema levels ever go negative? My son is 2 years in gluten free and they are still positive.  I'm scared he has refractory celiac disease. Please if anyone has any info greatly appreciate it. His ttg is 3 which is considered normal.
    • MomofGF
      I will have that info soon but it was a laundry list of a test and 9 viles. ok so there were some days she was gluten she barely ate because of the reactions. I told her 3 weeks of atleast 10g’s a day and no gluten-free days. Thanks so much for your help! I didn’t know my suggestion for gluten-free days would have hurt her.    I will come back with the list to make sure the req was proper!! 
    • trents
      A "gluten challenge" of two weeks would be the bare minimum for expecting to render valid testing, and that would have been paired with eating a minimum of 10 g of gluten each day (the equivalent of 4-6 slices of wheat bread). And with the three gluten free days in the midst of that two week gluten challenge I would not have confidence in the results of the testing. Was there a blood test done for IGA deficiency? Can you post the test names that were done with the scores and with the reference ranges used by the lab? By the way, with celiac disease the issue is not being able to digest gluten. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder defined by the fact that ingestion of gluten triggers an immune system response that attacks the membrane that lines the small bowel. The immune system mistakenly identifies the protein gluten as a biologic invader.
    • MomofGF
      Hey all!! M i want to thank everyone for their suggestions and advice - I am a single mother of 4 (now 3) and was helping with my oldest leaving the nest. I have another child with medical issues and with work (it’s our end year), life has been crazy and I haven’t had the time to answer.    so we got a blood test done for my daughter that can’t digest gluten. She had been eating gluten for 2 weeks. The blood work came back normal? How is that possible. I see her with my own eyes and it’s not normal. Is that not long enough?  I am thinking about having her eat gluten another week then go to the hospital and see what they say.    She did have 3 gluten-free days in those 2 weeks but she was getting afraid to eat and I told her to may take a day off - was this a bad thing to do? Girl was having constant back pains and muscle soreness as well. Headaches/migraines…should I wait longer. I did see 4-6 weeks of Gluten consumption prior to testing… kind of at a loss now.    Thanks to everyone for whatever advice you can give.   Enjoy your Sunday 😃👋👋      
    • Scott Adams
      This article has some detailed information on how to be 100% gluten-free, so it may be helpful (be sure to also read the comments section.):    
×
×
  • Create New...