Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lindt Lindor Chocolate And Barley Malt Ugh!


daisymae106

Recommended Posts

daisymae106 Apprentice

Hi Everybody!!

 

Well, the holidays are here and I just made a HUGE mistake!  I ate a Lindt Lindor Dark Chocolate truffle ASSUMING that it was ok.  I have celiac disease and have been gluten free for 3 years now and I should have known better!  I am so mad at myself! :angry:  Anyway, this is the first time that I can remember that I know I definitely ingested gluten since going gluten free.  I'm sure I have had gluten unknowingly or have been cross contaminated because I have had reactions over the last three years, but nothing that I could 100% pinpoint.  Anyway, I am not sure what my reaction will be, but I just wanted all of you to know that after researching this just now, most Lindt Chocolate DOES contain barely malt.  I think the white chocolate truffles appear to be safe according to the ingredient list although it does list artificial flavors and I am not sure about that.  I also have read that Lindt does not maintain that ANY of their products are gluten free.  Thanks for listening!!  Maybe barley malt does not illicit as strong a reaction as other sources of gluten?? I hope all of you stay clear of gluten in all of the Christmas goodies being passed around out there! Have a safe and blessed holiday season!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



LauraTX Rising Star

Yep, Lindt used to be something I would treat myself with, one of the first things I learned was a no-go when I got diagnosed.  Barley malt is something to watch for in chocolates, sadly. Hopefully your reaction isn't as bad this time, I don't think there is going to be a large amount of gluten from the barley malt (versus accidentally eating gluten pasta, etc), so hopefully that goes in your favor!

mamaw Community Regular

me too, I  used to  love  Lindt chocolates....

cristiana Veteran

Me too.  Lindt, are you listening? Can you use something else?!  Please! 

icelandgirl Proficient

Me too! I miss those truffles!

nvsmom Community Regular

I made that same mistake a year ago too.  I hope you feel better.

BethM55 Enthusiast

Well, heck.  Godiva chocolate also states that their products are not safe for celiac or NCGI folks.  Sigh.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



LauraTX Rising Star

Ghirardelli is a good choice (they have shared equipment but great practices to clean lines in between), and my favorite is See's Candy, of which everything is now gluten-free.  They are a bit pricey, though.

mamaw Community Regular

I just  found  out  See's  candy shoppe  is  all gluten-free  now.....I make  the  cookie/candy  turkeys  for  thanksgiving  &  needed  a  replacement  for  the  malted candy   that   is  used  for  gluten eaters & I found  the  perfect  size  ball  at  See's.....

cristiana Veteran

Anyone know a chocolate manufacturer that actually does a good gluten-free impersonation of Lindt Lindor bonbons with that melty chocolate inside? I haven't found one yet.

BethM55 Enthusiast

try these....  Open Original Shared Link

cristiana Veteran

Those look just right.  I don't see that they sell them in the UK yet but usually good ideas catch on fast!  Thanks so much.

MitziG Enthusiast

Been there, done that! Lindy used to be my favorite. Personally, I have less of a reaction to Barley, you may get lucky!

LauraTX Rising Star

Anyone know a chocolate manufacturer that actually does a good gluten-free impersonation of Lindt Lindor bonbons with that melty chocolate inside? I haven't found one yet.

 

Sees candy makes a Milk Chocolate Butter and Dark Chocolate Butter that I think match the outer/inner texture pretty well.  They aren't spheres, just regular fancy chocolate candy shape.  But they have that smooth center.... yum.  I am craving chocolate now.  But, I eat a lot of chocolate, probably way too much, and luckily I have a See's store semi-near me, so I stop in and treat myself sometimes.  Haven't found anything else near the Lindt truffle bon bon ball things, they used to be a favorite treat.

 

They are the first two on this selection page: Open Original Shared Link Not to be confused with  "Milk Chocolate Buttercream", although that is good, too.

w8in4dave Community Regular

Is it just the Lindt Truffles that have Malt in it?? Or is it all the chocolates????? Every once in a while I treat myself to lindt chocolate bar. I guess thats a nono huh??

LauraTX Rising Star

Is it just the Lindt Truffles that have Malt in it?? Or is it all the chocolates????? Every once in a while I treat myself to lindt chocolate bar. I guess thats a nono huh??

 

Every time I see something new that is lindt, I take a look at the ingredients, and I have not yet found one that is safe.  I wish there was.  Definitely steer clear, and read every ingredient list, every time!  Its always the mundane little things that get ya.

cristiana Veteran

I have a feeling that the very high percentage cocoa bars might be gluten free but make sure you check the labels. But those aren't the ones I really like, the Lindor chocolate is what sets it apart from the others....  

LauraTX Rising Star

This is from the Lindt Open Original Shared Link:

 

"Gluten can be found in several premium chocolate products that Lindt &Sprüngli produces; either as a cereal ingredient or as a barley component. Additionally, there are some specific premium chocolate products that are manufactured without cereal or barley malt; however, and even though Lindt & Sprüngli incorporates the most stringent cleaning process of all of our manufacturing lines, trace amounts of these gluten ingredients and components may have the opportunity to come in contact with non gluten products, and therefore we cannot make the statement that any of our premium chocolate products are purely "gluten free." "

 

Given all the other chocolate brands that are out there and are safe, I would pass over any Lindt item.  

RMJ Mentor

My boss gave me a bag of Lindt truffles today. Thanks to this topic I immediately checked the ingredients and saw barley malt. My cubicle mate was happy to take them off my hands.

celiacmom55 Newbie

I got my son some Endangered Species chocolate bars for his Christmas stocking.  He's had them before, they come in several flavors and he likes them.   They were the only ones I could find that are certified gluten free.  And, as an added bonus, 10% of the profit is donated to endangered species wildlife, something our family supports.  No, they are not truffles, but if you crave chocolate and want to know its safe, they are a good choice. 

  • 2 years later...
Tigerlily200 Newbie

I was just  given  some  lindt  choc  balls  i search for  ingredients and it didnt say  gluten  so I ate  one   and then on further  research  yes  they do have  the  malt  barley in them  so  great  now  i will have to wait  and  see  how  my gut   is  later  tonight .. so  frustrating    i did not  know they were truffles  and ate it   only to see  that  The  truffles   did  have  the  barley  it tasted  delicious  btw  ...

annlisa Rookie

BAKERS PURE  BAKING CHOCOLATE BY KRAFT  ITS THE BEST  AND EASY TO FIND

PURE COCOA IS EASY TO MAKE CHOCOLATE DIY  JUST GOOGLE

 

Ennis-TX Grand Master
16 hours ago, Tigerlily200 said:

I was just  given  some  lindt  choc  balls  i search for  ingredients and it didnt say  gluten  so I ate  one   and then on further  research  yes  they do have  the  malt  barley in them  so  great  now  i will have to wait  and  see  how  my gut   is  later  tonight .. so  frustrating    i did not  know they were truffles  and ate it   only to see  that  The  truffles   did  have  the  barley  it tasted  delicious  btw  ...

Last post was from 2014, ingreidents do often change and you always have to check the package.

 

 

3 hours ago, annlisa said:

BAKERS PURE  BAKING CHOCOLATE BY KRAFT  ITS THE BEST  AND EASY TO FIND

PURE COCOA IS EASY TO MAKE CHOCOLATE DIY  JUST GOOGLE

 

I use Hershey Dark and Hershey cocoa both are gluten free also,  I sometimes source other powders like Gerbs Allergen Friendly foods or Big Tree Raw cocoa for different flavors. I also buy Crio Bru ground roasted cocoa beans. Different ones like the Ghana, Ecuador, Dominican republic, with different roast like the dark Ghana all have different profiles. I love these in snack mixes. For premade chips, I use Enjoy Life, and Gerbs in my bakery. I am working on sourcing some sugar free bars for the holidays and am looking at three sources, The latter of which has a ton of great options I linked the dark but they have milk if you like dairy.
Open Original Shared Link
Open Original Shared Link
Open Original Shared Link

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,005
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    anjie patterson
    Newest Member
    anjie patterson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...