Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lipton Onion Soup


mbrookes

Recommended Posts

mbrookes Community Regular

I know there was much discussion earlier about the possibility of barley in this soup. No problem. I have been using it for years with no problem. The last package I looked at seems to have changed ingredients. Now there is "soy sauce (fermented soybeans, wheat, and salt)". Are we screwed? I am afraid to use it now.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

If there is now soy sauce with wheat, then, yes, we have lost this as a safe food. There are so few prepared soups that are safe--the loss of one is sad.

mbrookes Community Regular

I plan to contact the company and let them know how many customers they have lost. In the South we have a saying: "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"

kareng Grand Master

i think the soy sauce would change the flavor, too?  I looked on-line and didn't see these new ingredients listed.

mbrookes Community Regular

I just called the company and spoke to a customer service supervisor. She said the change was made in July. 2014. I guess the new stuff just got to my store. I told her about the thousands of people who could no longer use their product. No reason for the change that she could find. Maybe if a whole lot us us complain they will change it back. She did say they log the comments and turn them in to (somebody?) weekly.

bartfull Rising Star

Someone should insert a link to this in the Newbie thread just to prove to folks that it really is important to read every label every time.

mamaw Community Regular

There are  many gluten-free  onion  soup reipes  over the net but  there are  ready made  gluten-free  ones too... although we loved  Lipton's  we  found  good  alternatives that are  gluten-free..... Book's  is  a  kosher gluten-free one... Vogue Cuisine ,  Chef Swagger's Kitchen Riega  onion  soup mix... Mom's gluten-free  onion  mix....just a  few... many  can be  found  on  the Big "A" web store...not  sure  if  we  can mention the name again!!!!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mbrookes Community Regular

I just checked at my grocery store, and the Kroger brand is also OK. It is not marked gluten free, but a quick read of the ingredients made it sound safe.

mamaw Community Regular

glad you found one in your local Kroger.... we no longer have Kroger in our area,,,,

Lisa Mentor

I intend to call Lipton to make my peace.

Lisa Mentor

I just called the company and spoke to a customer service supervisor. She said the change was made in July. 2014. I guess the new stuff just got to my store. I told her about the thousands of people who could no longer use their product. No reason for the change that she could find. Maybe if a whole lot us us complain they will change it back. She did say they log the comments and turn them in to (somebody?) week WE can make this change.

We can make this change.  Who's in?

mynxr Rookie
  • We don't have Kroger's here either.  Unfortunately, there is now no French Onion soup that I can use.  I've started making it from scratch which is not a lot of fun but it's better than having nothing.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...