Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Dextrin


mynxr

Recommended Posts

mynxr Rookie

Last night my husband and I had potato skins made by Heinz.  I did my research, searched numerous websites including Heinz's website.  Everywhere I looked said they were gluten free so I ate them.  This morning I am ill from gluten ingestion.  I read the label and noticed that there is dextrin listed in the ingredient label. 

 

How do I know if dextrin is safe or not or is it never safe?  Is there a way to tell if dextrin has a wheat component or like natural flavors, soy sauce, vinegar, etc. should it just be if present do not eat?

 

I am so very sensitive that even vinegar will make me ill if they are distilled from wheat.  Yes, I know that everyone says the protein doesn't pass through the process.  However, I have gotten very ill from eating nothing but dill pickles.  The only dill pickles that don't make me ill are Mount Olive brand which doesn't distill their vinegar from wheat.

 

Thanks,

 

Kathleen


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



hrenee101 Newbie

Dextrin is a food additive made from starch.   I have problems with food additives, I try not to eat anything with additives, because I know they make me feel like I am being glutened even if I'm not.  

LauraTX Rising Star

Hi Kathleen,

Dextrin is usually made from corn, but can be made from wheat.  Good news is that if it is made from wheat, in the US, it must say so on the label.  The illness may just be from eating junk food, or cross contamination.  Also, remember not every illness is caused by gluten.  Aside from gluten problems, tummy aches can come from various foods and bugs that can give us similar symptoms, so sometimes we Celiacs can be too quick to pull the trigger on a usual culprit.  

 

Also, I do want to let you know that we have a section for people who consider themselves to be super sensitive Celiacs, such as those who feel they react from vinegar, which is generally a safe ingredient for most people with Celiac disease.  The answers on the general forum are going to be from all Celiac sufferers, so please feel free to use that category to restrict answers to those who understand the needs of the super sensitive.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...