Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Confused About Gluten Free Labeling/manufacturing


txveronica

Recommended Posts

txveronica Newbie

Hello, all. I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease a couple of days ago after an upper GI endoscopy. My husband and I have bought a few gluten-free products to get me started, but I'm concerned about the manufacturing and cross contamination. Can I eat a product if the label says "gluten-free" and none of the ingredients contain gluten or do I have to go as far as research the manufacturing process? If a label doesn't include information about manufacturing, is it safe? If the label states the product was produced in a facility that also process wheat-containing products, is it automatically out for me, or is that a CYA statement?

 

I'm wondering if I should stick with products that have various gluten-free "seals of approval" such as those from Celiac organizations.

 

Sorry for so many questions in one post. I am very concerned for my health and want to do everything right. Thanks!!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



bartfull Rising Star

In the USA, they can no longer put "gluten-free" on the label unless it IS gluten-free. However, they are not required to test their products in order to call it gluten-free. MOST companies who put gluten-free on the label should be safe, but under the new law, they are only required to test if someone complains.

 

The products you see that say "Certified gluten-free" HAVE been tested and are safe for us to eat.

 

Companies are not required to state whether or not their products are made in the same facility or on the same line as gluten containing products. Some companies do though - Kraft, Unilever, Nestle, Con-Agra, General Mills, and probably some others. Planter's nuts for example, are a Kraft product and although the label doesn't say gluten-free, if you read the ingredients and don't see a gluten ingredient or "processed in the same facility/line...", you will know they are safe. (I eat them all the time.)

 

So that opens up lots of possibilities for you. In the US, wheat MUST be labeled, rye is mostly only found in rye bread, so the only thing you have to watch out for is barley (things like malt). Also, oats, unless they are certified gluten-free are almost always contaminated. And there are some celiacs who can't even tolerate certified gluten-free oats because the protein (the part we react to) is so similar to gluten.

 

Now, all that being said, you should stick to whole foods at first. Meats, rice, potatoes, fruits, veggies and nuts. It's hard to digest foods when your gut is damaged and these things will be easier for you. Shop the outside aisles where whole foods are more likely to be found. The fewer ingredients in a food, the better.

 

gluten-free substitutes are full of calories and have very little nutrition. They are also very expensive. There ARE some decent tasting breads out there, but save them for later. First of all, you will have time to heal, and second of all, you will "forget" what regular bread tastes like and they will be more palatable. Do not, I repeat, Do NOT try Ener-G bread. It is the nastiest, vilest tasting thing ever invented! :wacko:  :lol: When the time comes for you to buy bread try Udi's multi-grain or Canyon Bakehouse Seven Grain.

 

Now, go to the coping section and read the Newbie 101 thread to learn LOT'S, then come on back with any questions.

 

And welcome to the forum. :)

StephanieL Enthusiast

Welcome to you!  There is a lot to learn at the beginning but I'm sure you will figure it all out!


Many people here will suggest you start by getting away from packaged foods for a while to help aid in your healing.  Some suggest up to 6  months.  Everyone is different thought so you need to do what is right for you.  So people are extremely sensitive that they do need to research manufacturers or stick to those with certifications.  Some can manage with anything that doesn't have gluten in it and are fine.  You will have to see where you fall in the scope of things.  

 

Also, it is often recommended that you try and stay away from restaurants in the beginning to try and be as true to the gluten-free diet as you can be.

 

Again welcome and I'm sure others will be around with more thoughts for you!

bartfull Rising Star

Oh yeah, as far as same facility/same line, it depends on the item. I mostly stay away from things made on the same line because I'm 60 years old and have worked long enough to know that quite a few employees at any job will cut corners when they can. That means even if they SAY they clean the lines between batches, I just don't trust them to be clean ENOUGH.

 

But same facility is a different thing. If they make baked goods or pastas where there is likely to be flour dust in the air, I don't eat them. But other things like soups, I don't worry about.

sunny2012 Rookie

You should give your body a few months to actually heal before trying those "gluten free" labeled items off the shelf. They can leave a 100% gluten free facility and then be cross contaminated during shipping, handling, and shelving in the stores.

 

It is best to shop around the edges of a grocery store. Purchase the fresh (or frozen) veggies and meats. That will prevent most gluten issues until you are more certain. 

 

 in the US, The standard for gluten free is below 20 ppm. Manufacturers are self policing. So there are occasions when gluten free is not so completely gluten free. But watch the internet for news about such situations.

bartfull Rising Star

"You should give your body a few months to actually heal before trying those "gluten free" labeled items off the shelf. They can leave a 100% gluten free facility and then be cross contaminated during shipping, handling, and shelving in the stores."

 

Sunny, according to that statement, ANYTHING can be cross-contaminated during shipping, handling, and selving in the store. If a product is wrapped that is very unlikely. Fresh fruits and vegetables on the other hand are not wrapped. But we wash them before eating them whether we are gluten-free or not so we aren't eating dirt and pesticides, so those aren't a problem either.

 

It's a good idea (again, whether we are gluten-free or not) to wash the tops of cans before we open them so we don't get possible flour dust, regular dust, or germs in our food.

 

The 20 PPM or less standard for gluten-free labeling does not mean there are 20PPM. It says, "OR LESS". Some things have NO PPM. But most celiacs can tolerate 20 PPM or less so that is the standard they use. Things that have the CERTIFIED gluten-free label are often tested down to 5 or 10 PPM, but because they ARE tested, they are perfectly safe. You don't even need to read the ingredients on them.

 

One other thing Veronica, once you start eating processed foods again that DON'T have a gluten-free label,  it is vital that you read every label, every time. Companies change ingredients often depending on price and availability. Something you bought last week that didn't contain gluten might contain it this week.

nme23 Apprentice

Question, natural flavoring a, can there be gluten in there?if there is will it list contains wheat? And modified food starch is it safe. I have read varying comments and it going either way.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

Question, natural flavoring a, can there be gluten in there?if there is will it list contains wheat? And modified food starch is it safe. I have read varying comments and it going either way.

If you are in Canada, or the US, wheat is an allergen whose presence must, by law, be clearly disclosed. If you see the items you mentioned, but do not see wheat on the label, it should be safe. In the US, barley can be legally hidden under "flavoring" but in reality it is not. Barley malt is an expensive ingredient, and rather than hide it, manufacturers will boast about it.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,804
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ptherrien1028
    Newest Member
    Ptherrien1028
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
×
×
  • Create New...