Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Labels


mebrown5

Recommended Posts

mebrown5 Newbie

Someone was telling me today there is a difference between certified gluten free labels and just gluten free labels? 

 

I thought this was the same thing. I live in Canada and from what i understood if something is labelled gluten free then it is 100% safe.

 

Am i wrong in thinking this? Is there a difference between certified gluten free and just gluten free? (I dont think i have even seen anything that says certified gluten free)

 

Sorry i was just diagnosed a week ago and am still a huge noob!

 

Thanks


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Gemini Experienced

A certified gluten-free label means that the company in question has tested their product down to a certain level.  Usually it's less than 5 or 10 ppm's.  You can call them to find out, if you wish. 

 

Straight gluten-free labeling, without the certification, used to mean that a company may not have tested their product but they use no gluten ingredients or the product is basically gluten-free but no testing has been done to find the actual gluten content.  The labeling laws here in the States changed and, someone correct me if I am wrong, in order to label a product gluten-free, it has to be tested to be under 20 ppm's...the level that is considered safe for the vast majority of Celiac's.  To be honest, I generally refer to the label of ingredients on products that are not certified.  If there is a concern about shared equipment, you can always call the company to find out what their process is for dealing with that. Some companies do a great job and others do not but you will learn that as time goes on.  When in doubt, ask the forum!  :)

 

Welcome to the club!  Make sure to read the newbie section on here for great pointers on getting started.

bartfull Rising Star

Actually the regular gluten-free labeled foods are NOT tested, but they are supposed to be gluten-free anyway. I believe they only have to test if someone complains. The thing is, most companies want to preserve their reputation so they won't put gluten-free on the label unless they are reasonably sure the stuff would pass the test.

 

It is because testing is so expensive that a lot of good companies (like Kraft) don't test. They would have to charge more and they want to keep their prices down. But they KNOW their stuff is gluten-free if there are no gluten ingredients and they are not made on the same line or facility as gluteny foods. Many companies won't tell you about shared lines because they don't have to. Kraft is one of the good guys who do.

 

That's why, like Gemini, I always read the ingredients instead of relying on "gluten-free" on the label. I know with companies like Kraft, Con Agra, and several others if there are no gluten ingredients or shared line/facility warnings, I can eat to my heart's content.

psawyer Proficient

You were asking about Canada.

 

Here is the applicable Canadian regulation. It applies to all food sold in Canada, regardless of where it comes from.
 
Food and Drug Regulation B.24.018
 
It is prohibited to label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is a gluten-free food if the food contains any gluten protein or modified gluten protein, including any gluten protein fraction, referred to in the definition "gluten" in subsection B.01.010.1(1).
 
Subsection B.01.010.1(1) reads:
 
"gluten"
 
(a) any gluten protein from the grain of any of the following cereals or the grain of a hybridized strain created from at least one of the following cereals:
 
(i) barley,
(ii) oats,
(iii) rye,
(iv) triticale, or
(v) wheat, kamut or spelt; or
 
(b) any modified gluten protein, including any gluten protein fraction, that is derived from the grain of any of the cereals referred to in subparagraphs (a)(i) to (v) or the grain of a hybridized strain referred to in paragraph (a). (gluten)
 
In Canada, the gluten grains are "priority allergens" and must be clearly disclosed on the label of a food containng them.
 
Open Original Shared Link.
 
Note that testing is not required by the government.
 
"Certified" means an independent party has and continues to test to verify compliance. Certification in Canada is usually by the Open Original Shared Link.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,794
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MarciO
    Newest Member
    MarciO
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...