Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Heb Blendables


RachelCherie

Recommended Posts

RachelCherie Newbie

Pretty new here. 

 

HEB (/Central Market) makes these things called Blendables - it's just frozen fruit but it's supposed to be in a convenient quantity of different ones so that all you do is add water and you have a smoothie. 

I know fresh fruit is safe, but what about frozen fruit? Is that generally considered safe to eat? Or do I need to call the manufacturer?
Also they don't have weekend hours so I can't call til Monday, so if anyone on here knows already if they are considered to be gluten free that would be great. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



LauraTX Rising Star

Welcome to the forum Rachel!

 

I shop primarily at HEB and have bought the blendables things.  HEB has a lot of products that they will put the gluten-free seal on, and that is not one of those.  However, when I have contacted them before, they let me know they are constantly getting new HEB brand products from many manufacturers and are working on putting the brown gluten-free seal on more things, so it not having that doesn't mean it is not gluten-free.  I buy them myself, and just like any other frozen fruit or veggie as long as there is no shared equipment warning, etc, I consider it good to go.  They periodically have sales on those and I will stock my freezer.  Also, if you want something more rich you can make them with milk, or milk and yogurt.

kareng Grand Master

I don't have that brand, but I have eaten several varieties of plain frozen fruit. All they are is fruit - no sugar, no preservatives, etc. not sure why they wouldn't be safe. Can't really process wheat where you process fruit. Not even the same bins to take them to the processing plant.

LauraTX Rising Star

HEB is a supermarket chain in Texas.  They have Central Market which is their more upscale gourmet place, in the big cities.  They have lots of good store brand stuff and are the best around here as far as labeling store brand things as gluten-free which helps save money on that gluten-free grocery budget. 

RachelCherie Newbie

Thanks, ya'll. I was thinking they should be safe being only fruit but I just wanted to check. 

 

:)

LauraTX Rising Star

You're very welcome.  Are you new to the gluten-free diet?  HEB has some great store brand stuff... their gluten-free cornbread mix is really good and I use it often, but other mixes in the brown boxes not as much.  They have gluten-free chicken nuggets and strips... they are in the freezer section in a big blue/tan bag.  Those are my favorite to keep on hand for "oops I can't cook" days and price per pound is about half of any other brand.  Their little brown gluten-free shelf labels made it much easier for me when I was first diagnosed, gave me a place to look first on those vast shelves.  

RachelCherie Newbie

Yes, I am new to gluten free. I was diagnosed with Celiac disease about a month ago. I am not a very good cook so for me it's those "Oops, I messed up that recipe" days, haha. I really appreciate the suggestions. There's actually not an HEB directly in my city, but we have Central Market and they have several HEB products since they are technically the same company so I will look out for those. Thanks so much!! 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,794
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MarciO
    Newest Member
    MarciO
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...