Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Tortillas


Zebra007

Recommended Posts

Zebra007 Contributor

Hi there! I made myself a Maize tortilla, and looking on the packet it appears everything is fine, but then I read a recipe somewhere where it stated they used gluten-free Maize flour! so now I am a little confused..are some people concerned about cross contamination and that's why they need to purchase it gluten-free.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



glutenfreeliac Collaborator

I'm not quite sure what you're saying here, but... Corn tortillas are generally gluten-free, but some are produced in factories that also make flour tortillas, raising concerns of cross-contamination. I have never encountered a problem, but completely understand the need of others to be extremely cautious. I tend to purchase corn tortillas labeled "gluten-free" because I appreciate the manufacturer's decision to make sure I know the food is safe.

 

That being said, I have encountered what are being marketed as "artisinal" corn tortillas, and these are clearly made with gluten. I would be particularly cautious about buying tortillas from manufacturers who do this because the chances of cross-contamination on shared equipment increases.

celiac sharon Apprentice

Yes, you have to make sure you buy gluten free ground corn products of all kinds. They often make their corn meals in the same factory as gluten flours and risk of contamination is high

Zebra007 Contributor

Thanks folks, I think I will just have to order some gluten-free Maize flour online in future to be on the safe side.  Its a bit annoying though as I had recently started eating  tortillas with chopped banana for breakfast in place of my usual 2 eggs  but I think I have developed an allergy to eggs, not sure yet, but it is looking that way and the gluten-free Oats in my cupboard made me feel ill.  Luckily I have some gluten-free Cornflakes which I can have in the morning....    

BlessedMommy Rising Star

I purchase Bob's Red Mill gluten free masa harina flour from Vitacost for my homemade tortillas. They taste great and I have peace of mind that they are fully gluten free. 

LauraTX Rising Star

If you are buying maize flour made in your country, inquire with the manufacturer and ask them if they make anything with wheat in the same plant.  If tortillas are a highly consumed item in Costa Rica where you are, there are probably places that make just maize flour and/or maize tortillas. 

Zebra007 Contributor

Thanks BM  I will order that then to be on the safe side....

 

Thanks LTX You are right, I could try emailing them and see if they reply, its worth a shot!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



BlessedMommy Rising Star

Vitacost is pretty good for shipping products overseas. We shipped a fairly heavy box over to our friends in Micronesia and the shipping charges were only $9.99.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,794
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MarciO
    Newest Member
    MarciO
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...