Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Dry Skin Cream


Yan05

Recommended Posts

Yan05 Newbie

Hi. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for gluten free cream for dry skin. The skin on my chin and around my mouth has started getting really dry and since it is so close to my mouth, I really don't want to take any chances and use something that contains gluten.

 

Help would be greatly appreciated,

Thank you

 

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

CeraVE cream in the round jar.

cyclinglady Grand Master

I use Cerave too, but their facial sunscreen contains OATS! Be careful! I am still fuming about that recent change! I use coconut oil too. I like smelling like a Mounds candy bar or the beach!

LauraTX Rising Star

Coconut oil also works great on dry facial skin.  Works nice for me since I tend to get allergic reactions to a lot of cosmetics.

Yan05 Newbie

Thank you very much for all your help.

 

Cheers

Zebra007 Contributor

CeraVE cream in the round jar.

Hi Kereng, I am also looking for a good face cream and so I looked at the ingredients and it has "Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate" which is a derivative of milk, this  would be fine for most people, but for some people with casein intolerance probably not.  I Just thought I should mention that :)  

Zebra007 Contributor

I have just remembered  "Emu oil" is good, its good for legs and arms, and some use it on their face too!

 

Google it you might be surprised as it appears to have healing properties too.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Hi Kereng, I am also looking for a good face cream and so I looked at the ingredients and it has "Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate" which is a derivative of milk, this would be fine for most people, but for some people with casein intolerance probably not. I Just thought I should mention that :)

Probably still OK. But I was answering a question about gluten. The fact is, most people do not eat thier lotion. The amount that might actually get swallowed is extremely small and any one ingredient is even smaller than that. The chances that an ingredient derived from milk, gluten, etc might actually even still contain gluten, a milk protein, etc. is small.

Casein is a milk protein and this sodium lauroyl lactylate is a salt? Not really the same thing.

Zebra007 Contributor

Karen, I believe we are both correct as Sodium lauroyl lactylate is a type of salt formed from the fatty acid lauric acid, a  white, powdery solid, lauric acid is found in high concentrations in coconut oil, laurel oil and the milk of cows and goats.  And whilst you may be correct that traces may be negligible with SLL, or even minuscule,  there is actually  little information  available regarding Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, I did find one article that mentioned people that have lactose intolerance would be fine with SLL but there was no mention of Casein, as I said there is not much information about it.  

 
I am also aware that people of course don't 'eat' their lotion, however you don't need to actually 'eat' something for it to be absorbed into your system, as ingredients can be absorbed into your system/bloodstream by applying creams and lotions to your skin, so therefore applying creams and lotions with any ingredient that can be absorbed into the system/bloodstream, should be used with extreme caution, and the ingredients checked and scrutinized carefully before applying.  
 
There are various ways that ingredients from creams and lotions can be absorbed into the system/bloodstream, for example as I am typing this email my elbows are resting on  my desk, however once I stop typing, and start reading, I  find my hands are always resting/touching my face and lips, and so if I was wearing moisturiser  that contained Casein or Gluten I am 95% certain that I would start to feel unwell, and it often surprises me that people don't believe this to be true. 
 
Casein protein is 23 times more toxic than gluten, which is why I felt I should mention it, and people with this intolerance can feel terribly ill if it is ingested.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,794
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MarciO
    Newest Member
    MarciO
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...