Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Barbecue Sauce Ingredients And Worcestershire Sauce


abenedum

Recommended Posts

abenedum Rookie

Two questions:

 

I am on a search to find a gluten free barbecue sauce and keep running across an ingredient called mustard bran.  I know that mustard flour is on the safe list, but what is mustard bran? 

 

BTW, I just discovered that KC Masterpiece Sweet Honey and Molasses Barbecue sauce is now listed as Gluten Free.  I will have to check their other flavors to see if it is the same.

 

Secondly, I have a bottle of French's Worcestershire sauce and based on the ingredient list it looks gluten free although it does not say it.  Other than the possibility of cross contamination from the facility where it is made, is it otherwise considered gluten free?  It does not appear on the forum's safe list.

 

Thanks! Any insights will be most appreciated...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

All parts of the Mustard seed is gluten free by itself.

Lisa Mentor

I use Lea & Perrin's because I think it's the best and gluten free.  It NOT gluten free in Canada.  For BBQ sauce, all of Sweet Baby Ray's are gluten free.

abenedum Rookie

Thanks for the tip on Lea and Perrin's and Sweet Baby Ray's.  Didn't know either of them were gluten-free.

CathyO Rookie

Maull's is another brand that had gluten free. It's my favorite.

LauraTX Rising Star

Stubbs BBQ sauce and Salt Lick BBQ sauce are gluten-free.  Salt lick also has really good salsa.  They may be local to the Texas/southwest area but darn tootin' they are good! :)

cyclinglady Grand Master

We love Stubbs!  Their chili mix is the basis of my doctored up famous chili and their wing sauce is so good!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



squirmingitch Veteran

We use Kraft Honey Hickory Smoke BBQ sauce & love it. Lea & Perrin's Worcestershire sauce is guud!

abenedum Rookie

Thanks for all the great suggestions!   I must have had an old bottle of Lea and Perrin's Worcestershire Sauce because it did not say gluten free but the new bottle does.  I gave away the French's since it does not specifically say gluten free.  Stubb's was on sale this week so I picked up two bottles to try.  Sweet Baby Ray's is next on my "to try" list!

 

Could not find Salt Lick or Maull's so it must be locally produced.  

 

Other KC Masterpiece barbecue sauce flavors are also listed as gluten free.

 

Thanks again for all who replied.  It really helped!

gilligan Enthusiast

We bought Two Fat Guys at a gluten free bakery to try (they just sell it - don't make it).  It was good!!  Then, we found it on clearance at HyVee for $1 a jar.  Needless to say, we bought all 28 jars!  Yup!  $7.99/jar for $1.  It must have been the way the store marketed it and where they shelved it because it comes in 4 flavors and is the best I've ever eaten.  Score!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...