Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

gluten-free Imitation Crab Meat


abenedum

Recommended Posts

abenedum Rookie

Since I am two weeks new to a gluten free diet I am still doing my research and learning the tricks of the available products.  Several websites, including this forum, say that imitation crab is a no-no.  However, I just found a gluten free imitation crab at Walmart.  It is transOcean Crab Classic and states "Gluten Free" on the package.  I checked the ingredients list and there is nothing about any wheat or wheat by product in it. 

 

I've had some already and did not seem to have a problem with it.  I also checked my Nori and the brand I use is just a roasted sushi nori, no soy sauce added.  Of course I just stocked up on gluten free soy sauce as well, so I am set for sushi night.

 

I was just wondering if anyone else has had this brand of crab meat with any different results?

 

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



LauraTX Rising Star

If you can verify it is gluten-free then eat up!  Things like that are just a heads up, since a lot of crab meats can have wheat in them.  The same thing is thrown out there with things like soy sauce- they do make gluten-free soy sauce and that is fine to eat as well, as long as you verify.  Awesome that you found gluten-free imitation crab meat... so can I come over for sushi night?  :D

abenedum Rookie

thanks for the heads up. 

 

I just checked the package again and it states on the back that Crab Classics is produced in a dedicated gluten free facility and made in the USA.  It does have egg and soy in it though.   And I double checked the soy sauce and there is no wheat in it.  It is San-J Tamari gluten free soy sauce made of 100% soy and certified gluten free.

 

So it is sushi tonight!!

mamaw Community Regular

This product is a new one to our gluten-free diet.. It is gluten-free ....enjoy your sushi night......I don't do soy so have a bite for me.....

Tricia7 Newbie

Trans ocean recently made the change to gluten free, I think they are the main producer of imitation crab, as I noticed as soon as they went gluten-free so did several store brands (kroger, food lion)  It wasn't always gluten free, thus you will often find outdated information on websites, books, etc. Always best to check with manufacturer's websites on status of gluten free or not. 

mamaw Community Regular

With the new labeling  laws in place I believe if  the product  states  gluten-free  then  it  must  be gluten-free  or a  big  lawsuit  would  happen... with new laws  in place  this  is the best  time  ever  to  be  gluten-free... there  still is work  to made  in labeling  every  product  for  every allergy..... I probably  will never see that in my lifetime  but  wishful  thinking...

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...