Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Question On Product (Link Included)


symphonyofdreams547

Recommended Posts

symphonyofdreams547 Rookie

Open Original Shared Link

 

I'm confused as it says gluten free with the exception of natural occurring glutamates.   so essentially that means it's not gluten free?  


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cyclinglady Grand Master

It should have no gluten, but the glutamate is MSG. It bothers some people with and without celiac disease. I am Wary of using a product that is not nationally recognized and is in powdered form to boot. I would not buy it. Let's see if anyone else has.

Oh, one of the reviewers does not recommend it for those with celiac disease. There is wheat processed in the facilty. Not sure how well they clean the lines or if shared. I would contact the manufacturer.

kareng Grand Master

That glutamate part doesn't make any sense. Wonder if Amazon or whoever is selling it added that? Glutamate is part of MSG but not gluten. It does naturally occur in some foods. I think there are a few other brands that you could try. Were you the one with that Thread this week?

symphonyofdreams547 Rookie

That glutamate part doesn't make any sense. Wonder if Amazon or whoever is selling it added that? Glutamate is part of MSG but not gluten. It does naturally occur in some foods. I think there are a few other brands that you could try. Were you the one with that Thread this week?

yes i was.  good cream of mushroom recommendations but still looking for onion soup mix

kareng Grand Master

This was the one I remembered

Open Original Shared Link

LauraTX Rising Star

It is also made in a facility that also processes wheat.  So in this case, if there are other options, I would go with the certified gluten-free one.  The glutamates statement sounds like ignorance of what gluten actually is, and makes me not trust the maker of the product to make correct statements.

LauraTX Rising Star

Also, would like to add that making your own cream of mushroom soup is very very easy.  You just make a cream sauce with mushrooms in it.  A recipe like this works great:

Open Original Shared Link

 

Just use your favorite gluten-free flour blend, or white rice flour, brown rice flour, etc (just not a nut flour no starch for the sauce in there) to make it gluten-free.

And if you want it to taste like the classic canned kind, add about a tablespoon of salt and leave out most of the mushrooms (Yeah Campbells, that was an insult).  Sherry can be left out, not really necessary.   If you don't have that exact combination of ingredients, just google recipes, lots of combinations of cream, milk, broth, etc.  Just use a gluten-free flour for the flour.  If you are not sure if yours will work, I will be glad to let you know what I think, I have tried a lot.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



symphonyofdreams547 Rookie

Also, would like to add that making your own cream of mushroom soup is very very easy.  You just make a cream sauce with mushrooms in it.  A recipe like this works great:

Open Original Shared Link

 

Just use your favorite gluten-free flour blend, or white rice flour, brown rice flour, etc (just not a nut flour no starch for the sauce in there) to make it gluten-free.

And if you want it to taste like the classic canned kind, add about a tablespoon of salt and leave out most of the mushrooms (Yeah Campbells, that was an insult).  Sherry can be left out, not really necessary.   If you don't have that exact combination of ingredients, just google recipes, lots of combinations of cream, milk, broth, etc.  Just use a gluten-free flour for the flour.  If you are not sure if yours will work, I will be glad to let you know what I think, I have tried a lot.

I actually found a gluten free cream of mushroom soup that tastes really good.   now i'm just searching for a onion soup mix and ya it does make me question that company so i'll have to make my own onion soup mix

LauraTX Rising Star

I actually found a gluten free cream of mushroom soup that tastes really good.   now i'm just searching for a onion soup mix and ya it does make me question that company so i'll have to make my own onion soup mix

Thats what I get for posting in the middle of the night, lol

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,798
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Brookssarah89
    Newest Member
    Brookssarah89
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...