Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Ice Cream


blahblah

Recommended Posts

blahblah Explorer

does anybody know any Ice cream that is gluten-free? That are real brands like Ben and Jerry's. I guess no one labels gluten-free because people will think it tastes worse


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



nvsmom Community Regular

Chapman's has gluten-free and nut-free ice creams, and really nice sorberts for those with lactose issues.  We usually buy them because of nut allergies, and most ice creams run the risk of nut cc.

cyclinglady Grand Master

We eat Breyer's. Their website lists more than a dozen safe flavors. Obviously, you can not eat Cookies and Cream or some Brownie thing, but I feel confident that they clean between batches.

kareng Grand Master

Open Original Shared Link

I usually get Eddys, too. I just read ingredients

celiac sharon Apprentice

Breyers has about 30 flavors labeled gluten free now, and Haagen das has a website showing gluten free flavors

psawyer Proficient

Except for ones with obvious issues, like Oreo or cookie dough,  almost all ice creams are gluten-free. Read the label, as always, to be sure. The ice cream itself will almost certainly be gluten-free, you just have to worry about added content. Mainstream stuff like vanilla, chocolate, strawberry and the like do not worry me.

bartfull Rising Star

Ben and Jerry's may not say gluten-free but if an ingredient was processed on the same line or facility as wheat, the label will tell you. I know that because I have checked out their peanut butter cup ice cream and those peanut butter cups ARE processed in the same facility.

 

I like Blue Bunny ice cream. At first I could only eat their all natural vanilla because all the others (like almost all ice creams execpt Ben and Jerrys and Hagen Daz) are sweetened with corn syrup and I had trouble with corn (although I don't anymore.) Well one day recently they were out of it so I got their regular vanilla. I didn't get sick but it sure doesn't taste anywhere near as good as the all natural so I won't get that again.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Tigercat17 Enthusiast

I like Edy's too! I called them last week just to double check and they said they will list wheat on the label if it has any in it. Just beware if it says cookies or cake you know it has wheat in it. I usually stick with Neopolitan or mint chocolate chip. :)

cap6 Enthusiast

Most ice cream is ok, just be sure to read the ingredients.  I splurge on a chocolate Dove bar now and then.  Most brands are ok.  Ice cream parlors where they dig out of open cartons is a separate issue and I won't indulge there.

  • 1 month later...
nvsmom Community Regular

Ingredients are listed on the side of all cartons. Dairy (milk) and sugar are safe for celiacs, although some celiacs are milk sugar (lactose) intolerant.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,798
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Brookssarah89
    Newest Member
    Brookssarah89
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...