Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Talenti's New Stance On gluten-free Labeling


Mr. Pep'r

Recommended Posts

Mr. Pep'r Contributor

The other day while shopping I looked over the label of a Talenti Gelato product that once said “Gluten Free”, here is the question that I submitted to the Corporate Office:


Hello Sir or Madam,

I have a question regarding your product labeling. It seems that most if not all of the Talenti products no longer have "gluten free" printed on them., however when you check the products on your website it is only there where it is indicated to the customer if in fact it is "gluten free". I am a customer with Celiac Disease and I HAVE to remain 100% gluten free. The two simple words "Gluten Free" puts my mind at ease that I am buying a product that will not make me extremely sick. Those two words ensure that gluten is not hidden in some of the ingredients such as vanilla.

Is there a reason why "gluten free" has been removed from all the labeling? Can Talanti not ensure their products are in fact "gluten free"? If so, as a person with Celiac Disease I really need to know, since this is not a lifestyle choice for me.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to your response.

Rick



Here was their responce:


Hi Rick,

Thanks for reaching out and for being a Talenti fan!

The flavors that used to say gluten free are still gluten free, however with a recent packaging update all of the claims (including gluten free, kosher, vegetarian, etc.) were removed from the label. All of our products are made in the same facility and we do not have separate lines for our flavors that contain gluten. Although we follow all FDA regulations to avoid cross contamination and call ourselves gluten free, many people have different ideas of what should be labeled as gluten free, so we would prefer that our consumers check our ingredients and make the decision for themselves depending on their level of sensitivity. In addition to the gluten free discrepancies, there is also more than one definition for kosher, vegetarian and vegan, so we’ve removed all claims.

Our procedures and recipes have not changed, and all of the product information on our website is up to date and accurate. We have even added a “Gluten Free” filter to our products page to help our consumers easily search for a list of our gluten free flavors.

Check out our new and improved product page here: Open Original Shared Link

 Please feel free to reach out with any further questions – we hope you continue to enjoy!

 Best Regards,

Kelly


And this was my response to their answer/reasoning:


Although we follow all FDA regulations to avoid cross contamination and call ourselves gluten free, many people have different ideas of what should be labeled as gluten free, so we would prefer that our consumers check our ingredients and make the decision for themselves depending on their level of sensitivity. In addition to the gluten free discrepancies, there is also more than one definition for kosher, vegetarian and vegan, so we’ve removed all claims.

Hi Kelly, thank you for the reply and explanation of the current changes.  With this being said the new stance of Talenti saddens  me, unlike Kosher, vegetarian and vegan, which are all choices or beliefs with zero health impacts, Celiac Disease on the other hand is not a choice, lifestyle or religious belief.  Sadly for me and probably others with Celaic Disease we can not risk the exposure.  If FDA guidelines are followed and ingredients are 100% Gluten Free in accordance with the guidelines then there should not be an issue with having a Gluten Free, or better yet, "Certified Gluten Free" label on all appropriate products.  But instead I am reading that this guarantee will no longer be and it is up to the consumer to figure out whether or not they'll have an negative reaction to a product that is listed as Gluten Free on the Company's Website.

At this point I can only hope that Talenti will one day change their position on this topic, and sadly until then I can no longer enjoy their products that I was once such a big fan of.

Thank you very much for your time.
Rick

 

 

This is clearly just my opinion based on the inforation they have provided me, but sadly with my level of sensitivity to cross contamination I can no long purchase their product with the risk getting sick.  Maybe if enough people send in emails and stop purchasing their products they'll change their position.  And in the meantime, I will continue to enjoy Yasso Greek Yogert treats.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mbrookes Community Regular

My immediate suspicion is that they do not want to go the the bother and expense of testing for gluten. As I understand the law, the product must test at 20 ppm or below to be labled  "gluten free". If the company has not changed anything, you are in no more danger than when the product was marked gluten free.

 

I fear that we will see more and more products drop the "gluten free" label to avoid the expense of testing. 

kareng Grand Master

Same exact product - only difference is 2 words printed on the package?

Edit- ugh! Now you have me really wanting some Sea salt caramel Talenti right now! And I am all out! :(

kareng Grand Master

My immediate suspicion is that they do not want to go the the bother and expense of testing for gluten. As I understand the law, the product must test at 20 ppm or below to be labled "gluten free". If the company has not changed anything, you are in no more danger than when the product was marked gluten free.

I fear that we will see more and more products drop the "gluten free" label to avoid the expense of testing.

Actually, the law in the U.S. does not require you to actually test something to say it's gluten-free. But if you are challenged, it better be <20 ppm.
Mr. Pep'r Contributor

It is not worth it to me, I am not going to risk it.

My biggest frustration in all this is that Gluten Free gets thrown in with all the other claims and people and businesses do not take it seriously enough or in this case simply don't want to be bothered by ensuring the product is Gluten Free on their labels.  I have gotten sick COUNTLESS times from restaurants and breweries claiming to have safe gluten free options, in fact I was getting sick all the time from cross contamination and didn't realize it until just recently.  We recently moved to a new city that has three dedicated gluten-free restaurants near us, and for the past two months I have only eaten at these locations or home.  I am here to say my over all health has greatly improved.  In the middle of those two months I decided to dine at PF Chang’s to change it up, and I became severely sick.  Since getting sick, once again I have only dined at dedicated facilities, and once again, my health has never been better.  

I now have the proof that all these restaurants with so called  "gluten free menus" were getting me sick this entire time, some worse than others.

I guess the point I am trying to make is this, if restaurants say their gluten free, but commercialized food manufactures say they are not, then we will never know if or what products or meals will make us sick, until it is too late.

I for one will not buy products from manufacturers that do not say Gluten Free at the very least on their labels, and if my options become more limited then so be it.  I am tired of risking my overall health, and I am tired of trying to figure out which product or meal just made me sick.  I really wish more took Gluten Free seriously and not as a fad diet.

 

Sorry for the rant.

LauraTX Rising Star

Just sounds like a CYA move on part of the company.  Their gelato is delicious, and since it is a best practice to always read ingredients anyways, I will continue to eat their gelato.  In general with ice cream, no gluten ingredients means it is okay.  Of course, that is a personal decision each of us has to make.  With the Talenti pints already at around $5 each depending on the store, they probably don't want to do anything else that will drive up the cost.

 

So, now I am craving it too and will have to make a grocery run!!

  • 4 weeks later...
CK1901 Explorer

I don't think it's worth eating it. Seems to me like they are not compliant with the current FDA standards for using the term "gluten free" or they wouldn't needlessly risk losing that demographic.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,798
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Brookssarah89
    Newest Member
    Brookssarah89
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...