Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

gardengirl77

Recommended Posts

gardengirl77 Apprentice

I saw Chex Clusters today and they said gluten free. Since it has oats though, I was wondering if anyone has tried this yet?

 

Here is the link to the product:

Open Original Shared Link

 

Thanks!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GF Lover Rising Star

Hi Garden Girl, welcome to the Forum.

 

The first thing I would mention is if you are a Celiac I would stay away because they are not Certified Whole Grain Oats.

 

If you are NCGI it would be your call.

 

Hopefully someone will come around and give a review. :)

 

Colleen

kareng Grand Master

Hi Garden Girl, welcome to the Forum.

The first thing I would mention is if you are a Celiac I would stay away because they are not Certified Whole Grain Oats.

If you are NCGI it would be your call.

Hopefully someone will come around and give a review. :)

Colleen

The Chex gluten free oatmeal products are made with gluten free oats. did you see something to say they aren't? There was some question about why they don't say " gluten-free oats" in the ingredients and they said something about thier interpretation of labeling laws not letting them say " gluten-free" in front of the word " oats".

Edited because - wow! That was some s$&!!y typing! Should not be commenting while hub is talking and I am eating

GF Lover Rising Star

The Whole Grain Oats in the ingredients does'nt say gluten free although as you stated the box says gluten free.  This is confusing to me.  I thought they could say "Certified" oats on the packaging?

 

All of the Chex Oat products contain whole grain oats.  All of the Chex Cereals except wheat and I think 1 oat are all made with corn.  It's interesting because I have no problem with the cereals but I do get stomach issues with the Oatmeal. 

 

I guess it's a toss up :)  I wish the new labeling laws would take things like this issue into consideration.

 

Colleen.

kareng Grand Master

The Whole Grain Oats in the ingredients does'nt say gluten free although as you stated the box says gluten free.  This is confusing to me.  I thought they could say "Certified" oats on the packaging?

 

All of the Chex Oat products contain whole grain oats.  All of the Chex Cereals except wheat and I think 1 oat are all made with corn.  It's interesting because I have no problem with the cereals but I do get stomach issues with the Oatmeal. 

 

I guess it's a toss up :)  I wish the new labeling laws would take things like this issue into consideration.

 

Colleen.

Chex has made statements about the oats being gluten-free if they say gluten-free on the package. It's a big company that already makes many gluten-free products.

There is a labeling law that basically says that you can't add extra words to ingredients - so you can't list applesauce ingredients like - "fresh wholesome apples". Some companies argue that the gluten-free in front of oats is necessary. So far, the govt has said they aren't going to make a fuss about " gluten-free oats" as an ingredient, but, technically, they could fine a company doing that.

GF Lover Rising Star

I thought Certified Oats and Gluten Free Oats were different.  Are the terms interchangable?

kareng Grand Master

If a big company like General Mills says the oats are gluten free, they have used or tested them to be gluten-free. I believe they said that they do their own testing and didn't see a need to pay for one of the "official" certifications. Also the " official certifications" don't actually test the products, they just give guidelines that companies say they will follow.

You can search. I think we have had this on here before and I know it's been discussed in some other on- line places.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GF Lover Rising Star

I also tend to trust the larger producers at their word.  I learn something new everyday, thanks Karen.

 

Colleen

notme Experienced

i've eaten them and i'm fine.  they also have the chex gluten free granola (which i love to sprinkle on greek yogurt)  i guess my body is just picky (REALLY?!!  big surprise.  HUGE......   :rolleyes:  )  because the bob's red mill didn't agree with me.  NOT because of gluten, just because........ blue. or whatever, idk.  or maybe i'm healed up more now - wish i had a little window so i could take a peek every now and again, ya know, just to see how my little villis are doing  ^_^

caro7 Newbie

I have eaten the Gluten Free rice chex with no problems, I am a little afraid of the clusters, maybe I will try them and see if they are a problem..I bought some corn chex for my husband gluten free of course. I have not tried them yet, so cannot judge.  I am not very brave when it comes to new things.  Arlene I laughed at your post.. i am like Colleen I like to think the larger companies are more carefull.

psawyer Proficient

The rules differ by jurisdiction. In Canada, no product containing oats can be labeled gluten-free because the regulation deems oats to be a gluten grain. You can, however, declare the product/ingredient as being pure wheat-free oats. I don't thing the "certified" adjective has any deifined meaning in Canada.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,791
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...