Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Breyer's Ice Cream


Em314

Recommended Posts

Em314 Explorer

Contacted Breyer's through their web site because for years now one of my previous favorite ice creams (Breyer's Blast Reese's Peanut Butter Cups) has not been listed as gluten-free despite there not being anything that ought to be gluten that I could see in the label.  I wanted to know if I was missing something of it this was just a CYA issue on their part.  Here's the reply:

 

 

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Breyers Ice Cream.

Through a new gluten-free program, Breyers is able to certify that these products do not come into contact with gluten in the facility where they are manufactured; therefore we can now call this property out on pack.

At this time, if a product does not have the “gluten free” label on the packaging, but it is listed on our website as gluten free and the ingredient panel does not list any gluten containing ingredients (ex. wheat, barley, etc), you can be confident that it is gluten free.

Please, always read the ingredient labels for the most up to date information, as recipes may change from time to time and gluten will always be called out on the label.

We hope this information will help, but should you have any additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact us again.

Sincerely,

Breyers Consumer Services

 

 

They now have labels right on the carton, and almost none of the "blast" ise creams are labeled as gluten-free.  I wonder if this is because of the candy included (Breyer's doesn't want to take responsibility for the safety of a third party's product), but if the candy is what they say it is, it's gluten-free candy.

 

Here's the product page:  Open Original Shared Link

 

So what sayeth everyone else on this issue?  Am I just not seeing the gluten ingredient on the list?

 

This is one of the few gluten-free foods I really, really miss.  Enough that I do wonder if it's worth risking an attempt to eat at some point (and I haven't knowingly "cheated" since I got diagnosed over 2 years ago, for context, lol).


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Looking at the ingredients - I would eat them.

cyclinglady Grand Master

We buy the Breyers ice cream just from the gluten-free list. I assumed that the ingrediants on the "Blast" products might have more of a cross contamination issue, but that is just an assumption! I never called the manufacturer.

Why not just add your own toppings? I make ice cream cakes, gluten-free of course, in a Springform pan. I soften the ice cream and that is the time to add your favorite gluten-free candy or cookies. Wrap well an freeze hard for 24 hours and then allow it to slightly soften just before serving and to help release the dessert from the pan. The combinations are endless. My family's favorite is raspberry sorbet and vanilla layers with chocolate ganache and brownie crumbles between layers with a chocolate cookie crust! It is to die for!

mamaw Community Regular

wow I really must live in the  woods--- I never  ever  seen Breyer's blast! :( sounds  yummy....

LauraTX Rising Star

I have seen lots of new breyers stuff. Haven't tried any of them, but it wouldn't surprise me if they are focusing growth in the south, given the absence of blue bell.  Before the recall it would take up more than half a texas ice cream aisle.   

GF Lover Rising Star

Going from the Company Statement, I would eat the non-gluten ingredient ice creams.  But....don't come back and say you've been glutened.  You've had fair warning from the Company :)

 

Colleen

bartfull Rising Star

I would have eaten it too before I got CC'd from the Blue Bunny All Natural ice cream I've been eating for years. I know they also make cookies and cream but I never had a problem before. I'm absolutely sure it was the ice cream now because I ate some from one of the two containers I had, then it went on sale the next day so I bought some more. Got glutening symptoms but wasn't sure what caused them. I ate from the new container and was fine. When that was gone I ate from the second container I got in the first batch and guess what? Glutened again!

 

I hate it that I can't trust it anymore! I just loved my ice cream. It got me through the dark times when my diet was so limited at first. It was probably a new employee who didn't clean the machinery well enough, or maybe a Friday end of the day run where someone got lazy. It would PROBABLY be alright to try it again but I won't. I'm just going to have to substitute with something else. (And no, there is no Breyer's here.)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



squirmingitch Veteran

Oh BUMMER Barty that you have no Breyers there. But then again, we have no Canyon Bakehouse here. 

CK1901 Explorer

Breyer's is making a valient effort to label everything and they are telling us very clearly which products are potentially not safe. i wouldn't eat it. Adding your own toppings takes like 2 seconds,.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Duzy
    Newest Member
    Duzy
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...