Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Vanilla extract -Back Bay Trading


Stacy0w

Recommended Posts

Stacy0w Enthusiast

I've seen mixed info on pure vanilla extract containing gluten or not. I have a bottle of Back Bay Trading pure vanilla, but can't find info. I emailed yesterday but haven't heard back and I need to make a bday cake in the next few hours. I have a baby so don't want to go to the store if I don't have to. Couldn't find a phone number online so I'm asking here and hoping. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ckd0822 Newbie

I am sure that am sure that I have missed your deadline for the cake. It really depends on the alcohol used. Technically I believe all alcohol is classified as under 20ppm so they can all claim they are gluten free. I make my own, but that's a long process. If I have to buy, I dont purchase unless it says gluten-free

psawyer Proficient

Vanilla extract is gluten free. Distilled alcohol is gluten-free--anything distilled will be gluten-free. The gluten molecule is too large to pass through the distillation process.

cyclinglady Grand Master

I use the Costco brand or Schilling.  Like Peter said, it is safe.  

Stacy0w Enthusiast

Ok thanks, everyone. I read I could sub maple syrup so that's what I did for the cake. After reading your comments I will open the vanilla and be ready for next time :)

notme Experienced

i use back bay brand (on sale at big lots!  yay!)  ingredients:  water, alcohol, and vanilla bean extractives  :)  no problems and i have used nearly half the bottle.

Stacy0w Enthusiast

Awesome!  I bought it at a similar store for $3 and then panicked over the gluten thing so YAY for it being ok!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



notme Experienced

Awesome!  I bought it at a similar store for $3 and then panicked over the gluten thing so YAY for it being ok!

LOLZ!  mine was $3, too!  :D  that is too funny!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,798
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Brookssarah89
    Newest Member
    Brookssarah89
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...