Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

General Mills cereal really gluten free?


juliev

Recommended Posts

juliev Newbie

Is the new gluten-free line of General Mills cereals REALLY gluten free?  They say on the box that they "remove wheat, rye, and barley" and only use oats.  However, I've read that oats, unless certified gluten-free, are usually contaminated.  The box says nothing about being certified gluten-free, nor is there any info on whether or not the facility processes wheat.  My child with celiac disease does not experience symptoms, but his bloodwork numbers for Celiac are through the roof (over 100 even after 18 months of gluten-free diet).  We're learning that he was getting cross contamination and are working toward eliminating that as much as possible, but I'm wondering about the possibility of misleading labels also causing issues.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



AUNT T 2006 Newbie

I AM WONDERING THE SAME THING I ALWAYS WAS TOLD AFTER I WAS IN COMA FOR 4 DAYS DO TO BEING ALLERGIC TO GLUTEN . THAT IS WHAT THEY HAD FOUND OUT AFTER DOING ALL TEST THEY COULD. I HAD TO LEARN TO TALK AND WALK AGAIN JUST BECAUSE OF THE GLUTEN. NOW I WAS TOLD THAT CROSS CONTAMINATION YOU SHOULD STAY AWAY FROM AND NOT ONLY THAT I WAS TOLD ABOUT THE OATS NOT BEING GLUTEN FREE. IT SHOULD BE GLUTEN FREE OATS. HOW TRUE IS IT. I WAS TOLD TO NEVER EAT OATS WHEAT, RYE, BARLEY EVER AGAIN

 

Scott Adams Grand Master

AUNT T 2006Please don't post in all capital letters...as it is considered yelling.

I highly doubt that a multi-billion dollar, publicly traded US corporation with the reputation that General Mills has would sell a product labelled "gluten-free" if it wasn't gluten-free. This means that you should never be able to find a box that tests over 20 ppm. Imagine if you could...the amount of liability and the class action lawsuits that would follow. It would be like VW's current situation with cheating on emissions, but far worse.

There is a small percentage of celiacs who also have oat intolerance. I would still recommend removing them from your child's diet, and examine their diet very closely, and re-test them after a few months. Is it possible that your child is in the ~25% of celiacs who cheat on their diet? 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,797
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JuneRose
    Newest Member
    JuneRose
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...