Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Trader Joe's / Vitamins


LookingforAnswers15

Recommended Posts

LookingforAnswers15 Enthusiast

Hi all,

When I was in the U.S., I loved shopping at Trader Joe's. My best friend was in the US and knowing that I loved this store as well as being afraid (cross-contamination) to buy any spices here, she bought me things that she thought I could use. So, do you know if Trader Joe's Spices of the World Turmeric and Ground Cinnamon are ok for us to use? Also, what about Trader Joe's toothpaste and dried cranberries? I am truly hoping I can use all of it. I miss cinnamon like crazy but there is no guaranty that the one here is not cross contaminated, so I am staying away. She also brought me Manuka Honey and I am so happy. For those who have not heard/tried it, I highly recommend it. Based on what I have read, it is super healthy and good for eczema, cough, immune health, wound healing, anti-bacterial, etc.

Is Organic tricolor quinoa (certified gluten-free) good for us? Is it possible to react to it? I have never tried it so I was wondering if it is ok if you are a very sensitive celiac?

I also ordered some New Chapter Vitamins from England and it says on the box that they are gluten-free. However, in a smaller print it says: Contains: fermented soy and fermented wheat (as food source for saccharomyces). Is this safe for me to use? I believe I react to soy so I avoid it. I do not want to sound stupid but I do not know how "fermented soy" and "fermented wheat" differs from regular ones and if I can still react to it.

Thanks a lot!

  • 2 months later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Celiac Nutritionist Newbie

I have spoken with New Chapter on this topic a lot, and unfortunately I love them but can not recommend them from anyone with Celiac Disease- You are best to avoid anything grown or fermented on wheat (although the fermentation process minimizes the amount of gluten drastically).

Quinoa is generally recommended as safe, although some celiacs have reacted in various ways. 

Take note if you try it and notice any symptoms.

 

Kendra

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...