Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Turkeys: 2015 Edition


lissuhllama

Recommended Posts

lissuhllama Newbie

Earlier today while researching gluten-free Thanksgiving ideas, I found out to my dismay that turkey can contain gluten! This is my first year eating gluten-free for the holidays and my head is absolutely spinning. I eat an all natural, organic, gluten-free diet. I need help finding an organic gluten free turkey! I've heard butterball is gluten-free, but I'm worried what they're feeding the poor things. Does anyone have any ideas where I can find gluten free turkeys? 

Thanks in advance!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



bartfull Rising Star

I've never heard of a turkey with gluten. Sometimes they put a gravy packet in with them but just throw that away. The solution many turkeys are injected with may have corn in it, but no gluten.

And it doesn't matter what they feed the turkeys (from a gluten standpoint anyway). Even if they eat a diet of nothing but wheat, it does not get into the meat. We all eat turkey and don't get sick. Just use gluten-free bread for your stuffing and then thicken your gravy with corn starch. Get some gluten-free rolls or make some gluten-free cornbread (yum). Find some gluten-free pie crusts and bake away. Thanksgiving is going to be great this year!

jerseyangel Proficient

I've been gluten free for 10 years, and have never come across a turkey that had gluten.  *Of course, a pre stuffed turkey or a gravy packet non withstanding.*

By law, any wheat ingredients (self basting turkeys for example) would have to be listed on the label.

I already have my Butterball in the freezer.

Alwayssomething Contributor

We have purchased an fresh Amish turkey from one of our local meat markets for many years, before I was ever gluten free.   They cost probably double the price per pound and the first year my parents thought we were nuts, until they tried it.  Then they asked if we could get one for Christmas.    They are fresh and raised cage free and the "old fashion way" not force feed to be fat over night and it makes all the difference in the world in the taste.    I live it Florida they come from PA so they arrive the Monday before Thanksgiving  but I have already placed my order for the sizes I need.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...