Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Casin Free,


elisabet

Recommended Posts

elisabet Contributor

Hello all,

My son has a cfgf diet,but I would like to inroduce yoghurt again,has any one

did the same,?how was the resault.?

thanks


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cornbread Explorer

If it's a casein free diet, then NO dairy is allowed. I know some lactose intolerant people are ok with yogurt, but casein (the milk protein) is different to lactose (the milk sugar) - lactose can be removed from milk, but casein can not. Sorry if that wasn't what you wanted to hear! :D

tarnalberry Community Regular

On a casein free diet, no products derived from milk are allowed. Because the sugar content has been consumed by bacteria, yogurt has a HIGHER concentration of casein than liquid milk. You might consider soy yogurt.

jenvan Collaborator

i can definitely vouch that if you are casein free--yogurt might 'tear you up!' as tiffany said, lots of casein in yogurt. :blink:

Matilda Enthusiast

..

elisabet Contributor
According to the SCD theory goat milk has different types of casein to cows' milk and the fermentation process alters the shape of the casein molecules again. I've been making my own goat milk yogurt, fermented for 24 hours, and making goat milk kefir, for about 6 weeks now, mainly because I want the good bacteria, but also because I was craving yogurt and cheese. I don't know whether the SCD theory is right. I gave myself a good 4 months completely off all dairy after getting anti-casein abs from Enterolab, and might get them checked again in a few months. I'm planning to eat cheese one day...

Matilda

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

It is correct that frementation alters the shape of the protein and that is why I thought about it,do you get any reaction at all?(with in 24 hours)?

thanks

tarnalberry Community Regular
It is correct  that frementation alters the shape of the protein and that is why I thought about it,do you get any reaction at all?(with in 24 hours)?

        thanks

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

yogurt is not fermented, it's cultured. fermentation does not change the protein enough to render it harmless; yogurt is filled with casein. (I absolutely react, and any allergy doctor who's treating someone for a true casein allergy would absolutely make them avoid yogurt.)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Matilda Enthusiast

..

Claire Collaborator

My daughter who is highly intolerant of dairy recently made yogurt with organic milk. She had no problem with it at all.

Likewise she can eat (as can I if I chose to) cheese made with unpasteurized milk.

Some of you may know this - others not. Years ago when milk was pasteurized it was heated to approx. 105 degrees. Anything above 110 degrees kills all the natural enzymes that are present to aid in digestion. Quite a few years ago someone woke up to the fact that they could process milk a great deal faster if they turned up the temperature on the pasteurizing process and thus improve profits. Now most milk is pasteurized at about 145 degress. There are no natural enzymes left alive. Small wonder that lactose intolerance is a national epidemic. Casein of course is another story.

Whole Foods sells some wonderful 'raw' cheeses.

Of course None of this is appropriate if casein is the issue.

I am lactose intolerant but I am CF because of casein/gluten similarity. Claire

CMCM Rising Star

This whole discussion is interesting to me. I was born to a celiac disease mother, but at the time I was born she wasn't diagnosed yet (not for another 12 or so years!), so of course she was eating tons of wheat products. She tried to breast feed me, but I was in terrible shape with endless colic. Is it possible the gluten was getting to me thru the breast milk? I also could not drink cows's milk, but interestingly, my parents fed me goat's milk successfully for quite awhile. No one had any idea what was wrong with me, but that was apparently the beginning of my digestive woes. I've ALWAYS assumed my primary problem was something to do with milk products, but now I'm re-evaluating all this. But the goat's milk thing was interesting to consider....

jajus100 Apprentice

I have a question for all of you, and this thread got me to thinking. I started having some of my problems when I upped the amount of yogert I was eating... Hmmm. I know one of the first things the doctor did was to ask if I was lactose intolerant, and I told her I never drank milk, but I told her I had plenty of yogurt. She told me not to worry because there was no lactose, but neither of us ever thought about the casein. So, anyway, is their a blood test to check to see if I have a problem with casein? If so, what is it.

jenvan Collaborator

dang it! just wrote this post and accidentally deleted it! arg!

claire-interesting info on pasturizing...my dh doesn't like it. ie. he hates cider that has been pasturized...think it tasted very different than unpasturized. he also hates the warning labels they have to put on unpasturized cider :) although last time he drank some...he had D for 2 days ! :o may not have been the cider though...

jajus100--

if you are really interested and willing to pay some $$, you could do a food intolerance/allergy test. i had one and it confirmed by casein (and 30 other!) intolerances. many people here have used york labs for that: Open Original Shared Link i used great plains b/c they cost me a lot less, my insurance paid: Open Original Shared Link i also encourage you to read this post, which gives more info on food intolerances like casein, vs an allergy: Open Original Shared Link

jajus100 Apprentice

Jenvan,

Thanks!

traveljunkie Rookie

I agree with everyone about the yogurt. It affects me real bad...can you have soy yogurt? I have eliminated dairy from my diet exept for the occasional cheese, which usually doesn't affect me but last night I ate to much and I'm paying the price today! Horrible pain...had to cancel an appt. and just stay home for it to pass.

My advice is to stay away from all casein products.

Claire Collaborator
I agree with everyone about the yogurt. It affects me real bad...can you have soy yogurt? I have eliminated dairy from my diet exept for the occasional cheese, which usually doesn't affect me but last night I ate to much and I'm paying the price today! Horrible pain...had to cancel an appt. and just stay home for it to pass.

My advice is to stay away from all casein products.

Last line here is definitely the way to go - BUT if you are going to eat cheese be sure to eat only very aged cheese - better still raw cheese (i.e. unpasteurized). Also try making yogurt with organic milk. My daughter who cannot eat dairy at all can eat the yogurt she makes this way - no problem at all. Claire

Felidae Enthusiast
Last line here is definitely the way to go - BUT if you are going to eat cheese be sure to eat only very aged cheese - better still raw cheese (i.e. unpasteurized). Also try making yogurt with organic milk. My daughter who cannot eat dairy at all can eat the yogurt she makes this way - no problem at all. Claire

How do you make yogurt from organic milk? Do you just use a cheese cloth and wait? Okay, I just would love to try some dairy again and not have any gi symptoms.

Claire Collaborator
How do you make yogurt from organic milk? Do you just use a cheese cloth and wait? Okay, I just would love to try some dairy again and not have any gi symptoms.

Hers' sure wasn't that simple. :lol:

She used a yogurt maker. Starter was Yogourmet freeze dried yogurt starter.

You will need:

I qt. ORGANIC milk

1 tsp. unflavored gelatin

Starter culture

candy thermometer

For thick, firm yogurt:

Place cold, ORGANIC milk in the top of a double boiler. Stir in sugar or honey if a sweeter less tart yogurt is desired (optional). Sprinkle gelatin over milke and stir in - this is for thickening.

Heat milk to 200 degress F. stirring gently. Hold at that temp. for 10 - 15 minutes. DO NOT BOIL.

Now place top of double boiler in cold water to cool the milk rapidly to 112 degrees F. Watch temp. carefully as it falls rapidly once it reaches 125 degrees F. Fremove pan from water.

Remove 1 cup of the warm milk and blend it with the starter culture. Stir this gently into the rest of the warm milk. Temperature should now be 110 degrees F.

Pour immediately into clean HOT yogurt containers, cover and place in prepared incubator.

Process 4 hours. Yogurt should be moderately thick.

You can add anything you like to this - fruit, nuts etc.

Felidae Enthusiast

Thanks Claire. Yeah it sounds kind of labour intensive. But it could be very rewarding.

Rachel--24 Collaborator

I've made home-made yogurt a few times. It was a little easier than what was just described but for the most part similar. I didnt use gelatin and my "starter" was store bought organic yogurt. I let mine ferment for 3 days though...which was the part that really sucked. I would eat it all in one day but have to wait 3 more days to have more. :rolleyes:

Claire Collaborator
Thanks Claire. Yeah it sounds kind of labour intensive. But it could be very rewarding.

Sounds tougher than it is. You have to do it once or twice to get into the swing of it. After that it's a breeze. Takes about a half hour of prep work. The rest of the time it is doing its' own work. Claire

tarnalberry Community Regular

has anyone found any dairy-free starter? i've found yogurt starter at the store, but it's always a milk base.

Matilda Enthusiast

..

elisabet Contributor
I've made home-made yogurt a few times. It was a little easier than what was just described but for the most part similar. I didnt use gelatin and my "starter" was store bought organic yogurt. I let mine ferment for 3 days though...which was the part that really sucked. I would eat it all in one day but have to wait 3 more days to have more. :rolleyes:

Hi Rachel,

did you have any allergic reaction to It?

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,798
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Brookssarah89
    Newest Member
    Brookssarah89
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...