Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Alcohol


LookingforAnswers15

Recommended Posts

LookingforAnswers15 Enthusiast

Hi all,

I have a question regarding drinking. I know that wine is gluten free and I would like to occasionally drink a glass of wine. It has been a few months since I stopped drinking wine since I had crazy symptoms and I wanted to eliminate anything that could possibly be causing them. I was never a big drinker but apart from wine, I used to enjoy (actually preferred) cocktails (but I have not had any since I was diagnosed with celiac). However, since I have not been feeling well and still have not learned what types of drinks are safe for celiacs, I just stayed away from cocktails. I also noticed that even after drinking 1 to 2 glasses of wine, I started to get headaches and would have a hangover in the morning. So, anyhow, I just stopped drinking BUT I am thinking it is time to try to have a glass of wine from time to time again. Since it appears that I have blood clotting issues, I read that alcohol can serve as a blood thinner and grape juice is also recommended. So, drinking wine might actually be beneficial for me. =) What are your thoughts? Have you noticed that your body reacts to alcohol differently now that you are gluten free? Thank you.

 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Darren Apprentice

Do a little Researchand you'll find what is safe for cocktails and as long as you stick to liquor and soda pop you're generally ok since distillation removes gluten even from wheat based drinks like whiskey. For wine, is it all wine that that gives you a headache or only red? I've always gotten headaches from red wine before i was celiac. Red wine is known to cause headaches in some people either due to the tannins or due to the body releasing histamines like an allergic reaction. Only happens with red. So if it's red that does this to you it likely has nothing to do with gluten and happen to lots of people. Cheers!

kymbp Newbie

Wine will dehydrate you which will leave you with a headache.  You might be having a hydration problem--which is easily fixed.  Drink a glass of water between glasses of wine.  Or drink a glass of water (or 2) after drinking wine.   If that doesn't fix the headaches then look for another cause.

Stormy one Newbie

I had been gluten-free for a while and started getting sick again so we cut out all gluten in the house. I felt better for a while then returned to being sick. Quit eating out and only ate whole foods and still got sick. I read that some celiacs react to alcohol even tho it has been distilled. After much more research and a LOT of pouting I only drink gluten-free alcohol, other than wine which I am now able to drink again. I drink Tito's vodka, rum, and i also found a whiskey online that's made from sorghum (I've always been a crown drinker). So for me it is a 2 fold thing 1. it has to be gluten free 100% before and after distillation and 2. I have to have been taking care of myself to include eating healthy and perfectly hydrated or I will suffer greatly. Another thing I do is make sure I have a plan for something safe to eat so once I get a couple of drinks under my belt so I don't throw gluten-free out the window. I usually ensure its something thats a splurge so Im not eating plain rice crackers while everyone else is eating something really good.   

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...