Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Land O Lakes Cocoa Classics - gluten-free?


sbojo32

Recommended Posts

sbojo32 Rookie

Has anyone tried with success Land O Lakes Cocoa Classics? I emailed Land O Lakes today, and their response was similar to what I've seen on other sites:

Thank you for visiting the Land O'Lakes Website and taking the time to contact us.
 

We understand your concern about potential food intolerances. Land O'Lakes, Inc. strives to provide complete and accurate ingredient information on its labels. For any specific product, we feel the best source of this information is the product ingredient listing on the package. 

The ingredients in LAND O LAKES® Cocoa Classics® Hot Cocoa Mix and LAND O LAKES® Cappuccino Classics® Hot Cappuccino Mix are gluten-free, as defined by the FDA. 


We hope you will continue to use and enjoy LAND O LAKES® products. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future. If you need to respond to this email, please use the "Reply" button.

Basically, the product doesn't contain any gluten ingredients, but there is a possibility of cross-contamination (or they don't test the product and won't guarantee it isn't cross-contaminated).

As someone with Celiac, what would you do? I know there are other brands that are gluten-free (Nestle, Swiss Miss), but I love my Land O Lakes!!!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



squirmingitch Veteran

I have never used the Land O Lakes mixes you are referring to, in fact I've never seen them in the stores I have been in but I don't see the problem here. They have not said there is any cross contamination so why do you think it's cc'd? They state it's gluten free as defined by the FDA so they obviously are confident it will test under 20 ppm.

Frankly, I can't imagine what Land O Lakes makes that would contain gluten that could possibly cross contaminate the mixes in question. 

As always, read the ingredients on the label EVERY time because ingredients can change. That's celiac living 101.

I would not be afraid to drink these. Land O Lakes makes milk, cheese, butter, whipping cream, sour cream, eggs & these mixes. Where would gluten be?

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...