Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Starbucks warning


SherriN

Recommended Posts

SherriN Newbie

Starbucks warning! I ordered a Banana Caramel Frappuccino, and they put something on top of it. I asked what it is, and was told 'crinkles'. I enquiried whether it has any gluten or wheat and was told no. aI felt assured. However the same night I started having bad tummy and bowel problems. I checked Starbucks website,and the 'crinkles' they put on my drink were actually graham, which is wheat! Huh. I was very,very sick for 3 days and also complained to Starbucks head office. They said they will talk to the staff at that branch and they then sent me £20 gift card to Starbucks. Huh, not good enough response imo to such a serious complaint, please be very careful if you drink/eat there.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Jmg Mentor

I've found myself choosing simpler drinks and food since I went gluten-free.  The fewer variables the less chances for something like this. Even so there seems to be so many ways you can get glutened. :(  

A soy latte is about as adventurous as I get now and as my palate changes the starbucks one of those seems too sweet. I had heard the chocolate sprinkles had gluten but never heard of crinkles before. Thanks for the warning and hope you're feeling better now!

kareng Grand Master

I don't think you can really blame Starbucks.  You could have looked  the ingredients or asked to see the ingredients, first.  That is why they have the ingredient list on Starbucks.com.  I think it was nice of them to send you a gift card. I guess where Starbucks is at fault is that the employees are supposed to tell you to check the ingredients or website.  They shouldn't have said whether it contained gluten or not.

Gemini Experienced

Kareng is correct......Starbucks is not to blame here.  In the US, I do not believe the Frappuccino's are gluten free. I never order those anyway. I would imagine that their drink ingredients are the same in the UK, just like any other chain does. As stated beforehand, simpler drinks are safe.  Soy chai's and coffee latte's are always safe......I have been drinking them since diagnosis 11 years ago and have never gotten sick from them. It really is up to each and every Celiac to decide what is truly gluten free and goes in our mouths.....not the waitstaff. Sprinkles, crinkles or powders should never be ingested by us unless confirmed to be gluten free via an ingredients list that you see yourself. 

Really, being offered a 20 pound gift card is pretty generous.  I have never seen that much offered in the US.....ever!

Missque Newbie
On 06/06/2016 at 3:56 PM, Gemini said:

Kareng is correct......Starbucks is not to blame here.  In the US, I do not believe the Frappuccino's are gluten free. I never order those anyway. I would imagine that their drink ingredients are the same in the UK, just like any other chain does. As stated beforehand, simpler drinks are safe.  Soy chai's and coffee latte's are always safe......I have been drinking them since diagnosis 11 years ago and have never gotten sick from them. It really is up to each and every Celiac to decide what is truly gluten free and goes in our mouths.....not the waitstaff. Sprinkles, crinkles or powders should never be ingested by us unless confirmed to be gluten free via an ingredients list that you see yourself. 

Really, being offered a 20 pound gift card is pretty generous.  I have never seen that much offered in the US.....ever!

Thanks for the comment about the chai. I had one the other day and felt sick but maybe there was some kind of cc. Glad to to know I should be okay to try them again. I've read the ingrediants a bunch of time but always wonder if im missing something 

cap6 Enthusiast

This is something learned with experience.  You may want to go with a simple coffee that offer less chance for cross contamination.  Starbucks offers so many different drinks and do not "celiac" wash the equipment.  

  • 2 years later...
Jennynogliten Newbie

The chai tea latte has malt syrup in it, it is not gluten free. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master
8 minutes ago, Jennynogliten said:

The chai tea latte has malt syrup in it, it is not gluten free. 

Every year or season it seems the ingredients change.  Might have been gluten-free 2 years ago.  Always check at you actual store.

kareng Grand Master

These are the ingredients I see on the website today.  Looks gluten-free.  Don’t see any malt syrup

 

Milk, Water, Chai Tea Concentrate [An Infusion Of (Water, Black Tea, Cardamom, Black Pepper, Ginger, Cinnamon, Cloves, Natural Flavours, Star Anise), Sugar, Honey, Ginger Juice, Natural Flavours, Vanilla, Citric Acid].

 

this is the US ingredient list

LilyR Rising Star

I contacted Starbucks once to ask about gluten-free drinks and they were not very reassuring and they do seem to claim to be able to guarantee anything to be gluten-free.  I basically realize I can't get anything there unless I want a plain coffee, and so far I haven't even bothered with that.  I don't dare order a flavor or even a plain latte since they don't thoroughly clean the machines in between each drink, so if someone ordered a latte with a flavor before you, and that flavor had gluten, you could get contamination. It is a bummer how many drinks we can't get anymore now with gluten issues. It stinks.  

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...