Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

colbee harvest snaps warning


kasmel

Recommended Posts

kasmel Newbie

I just wanted to put a warning out to other celiacs. That they are either contaminated with an ingredient or are not gluten free at all. I had ate these before when first coming off gluten and did not notice the effects they had. I purchased them at Walmart yesterday and found out that they do affect me now that I've been off gluten for several months.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

I eat them and have no issues.  According to the website - they have no gluten in any of their products

kasmel Newbie
19 minutes ago, kareng said:

I eat them and have no issues.  According to the website - they have no gluten in any of their products

I am glad they did not effect you. and I have been to the website myself, reading the same thing. but this is the only different item I ate, (other than the papaya fruit) that I have not been eating in awhile. I also did notice that an ingredient in the label was white distilled vinegar. which can have gluten like symtoms... this is a quote from celiac support Association.

"Theoretically, distilled vinegars are highly unlikely to contain any of the celiac toxic amino acid fractions. Yet, a portion of people with celiac disease, up to 10%, self report "gluten" like symptoms after consuming specific products made with distilled vinegar"

so it may be rare, but with what I experienced last night, I wanted to give a general warning. So that either A. maybe others have had reactions from them but did not consider them as the problem. or b. just general knowlege, just in case. 

kareng Grand Master
1 hour ago, kasmel said:

I am glad they did not effect you. and I have been to the website myself, reading the same thing. but this is the only different item I ate, (other than the papaya fruit) that I have not been eating in awhile. I also did notice that an ingredient in the label was white distilled vinegar. which can have gluten like symtoms... this is a quote from celiac support Association.

"Theoretically, distilled vinegars are highly unlikely to contain any of the celiac toxic amino acid fractions. Yet, a portion of people with celiac disease, up to 10%, self report "gluten" like symptoms after consuming specific products made with distilled vinegar"

so it may be rare, but with what I experienced last night, I wanted to give a general warning. So that either A. maybe others have had reactions from them but did not consider them as the problem. or b. just general knowlege, just in case. 

Just curious - they weren't "dried " papayas were they?  Even if they were fresh - they were a new food for you, so you might want to keep an eye on them.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,791
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AthinaGR
    Newest Member
    AthinaGR
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
    • Manaan2
      I realize I'm super late in the game regarding this topic but in case anyone is still reading/commenting on this one-does anyone who is especially sensitive have their personal observations to share regarding Primal Kitchen brand?  My daughter was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with celiac and within 6 months, her follow up labs were normal and a year later vitamin levels significantly improving, but we are still battling GI symptoms; particularly, constipation, so much that she has been on MiraLax every day since she was 3.  We've managed to get her down to a half cap every other day but without that, she continues to have issues (when she has a known, accidental ingestion unfortunately it takes a lot more MiraLax and additional laxatives to help her).  I was searching for something else and found this and am wondering if anyone has any specific comments regarding Primal Kitchen.  I feel like we are so incredibly careful with diet, logging diet and symptoms to look for patterns (we've had multiple dieticians help with this piece as well), not eating out, contacting companies and of course, there is always room for improvement but I'm running out of ideas regarding where her issues could be coming from.  Even if the Primal Kitchen is contributing, I'm sure it's not the only thing contributing but I can't help but think there must be handful of things that are working together and against her.  The ingredients list distilled white vinegar, but also white wine vinegar and balsamic, then "spices" which I'm always cautious about.  However, after contacting the company, I felt more comfortable allowing her to consume their products but over time I've realized that the front-line customer service support people don't always provide the most accurate of information.  Thanks for reading to anyone that does.   
×
×
  • Create New...