Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Warning - Revival Soy


bigapplekathleen

Recommended Posts

bigapplekathleen Contributor

Hi everyone,

I recently attended a conference and received some samples of REVIVAL SOY bars. They state clearly on the label: Does not contain gluten, wheat, yeast or egg. however, I got very sick after consuming the bar (and it was the ONLY thing I had eaten, so it's pretty easy to narrow it down). To top it off, I got the typical mouth sores that usually show up 2 days after I eat gluten. i called the company this morning and the rep could not tell me HOW they test for gluten and said no one at the company has that information. She did tell me that they make other bars on the same production line that aren't gluten free, so maybe it's just an instance of cross-contamination. She told me, however, that the MALTITOL in the bar tends to make people sick and she suggested that was the cause of my distress. I found that interesting, but the mouth sores ONLY happen when I consume gluten.

I am bummed...because the bar is very high protein and very low carb and tasted great. I was hoping I had found a wonderful new product... guess not.

Kathleen

gluten-free since Aug 2003


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



bluelotus Contributor

Sorry about your luck, and wow, I must say, their own lack of information is scary. How can no one know in the company how the company tests for gluten :blink: Pathetic.

darlindeb25 Collaborator

Hmmmmmmmm, could be cross-contamination or might you be sensitive to soy. That soy bar would make me ill for 3 weeks or longer. I can have soy lecithin and a little soy oil, but that bar would have made me so ill. Very little corn for me either. Deb

jerseyangel Proficient

Also, what the rep. said about the maltitol is true for me. If I eat anything with that, I get D and gas a few hours later. But if you ask me, what got you was probably cross contamination because of the mouth sores. That makes it look like a glutening. :angry:

Turtle Enthusiast

This is interesting....my mother's neighbor is Celiac and on the gluten-free diet & has been for a long time. She recently told my mom something about not being able to have anything w/ Soy b/c there is traces of gluten in it. Has anyone heard this before and know any further info on it? I was just getting excited about Soy Eggnog too but now i'm hesitant until I know more about this soy stuff.

jerseyangel Proficient

I've never heard that, either. Hopefully someone has and will weigh in :)

lovegrov Collaborator

I know nothing about Revival soy bars but my guess would be that they don't test for gluten. Most companies don't.

Soy itself does not have traces of gluten. Soy is gluten-free.

richard


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Turtle Enthusiast

Thanks Richard. I though it was an odd comment myself, which is why I posted about it to see if anyone else had any input. Not sure what doctor or what resource(s) told her soy was not gluten-free i'll have to get more info when I talk to her myself at Christmas. WEIRD!!

RiceGuy Collaborator

According to what I've read, Maltitol is made by hydrogenation of maltose derived from a starch. That could mean wheat I suppose.

It's a polyol (sugar alcohol), and we know alcohol can be made from wheat, barley, etc.

Here are two companies that make it:

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Perhaps the manufacturer's can tell you what they use.

RiceGuy Collaborator

I just looked at the FAQ for SPI:

Do SPI’s products contain gluten?

SPI Polyols utilizes various corn syrups as the raw material for our products. Therefore, they do contain corn protein at low (50-60 ppm) levels. They do not contain gliadin gluten from Wheat, Barley, or Rye grains.

The other site just says they use cereals - so you'd have to ask. Then try to find out the source of the Maltitol in the revival product, and/or suggest they use one that is gluten-free.

bluelotus Contributor

Wow, interesting info on maltitol....if anyone follows up on calling the companies, could you please post? Thanks!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,688
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Princess.dfc
    Newest Member
    Princess.dfc
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • knitty kitty
      Yes, some people with Celiac do react to quinoa.  I know i do.  Apparently, two different "breeds" of quinoa can stimulate the immune system. Read here... Variable activation of immune response by quinoa (Chenopodium quinoa Willd.) prolamins in celiac disease https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22760575/#:~:text=Cultivars Ayacuchana and Pasankalla stimulated,for patients with celiac disease. And some of us react to corn (maize) as well. Maize prolamins could induce a gluten-like cellular immune response in some celiac disease patients https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24152750/   P.S. @Brook G have you thought about getting a genetic test done for known Celiac genes?  
    • Brook G
      People who are Celiac don't have a gluten response to Quinoa, but some people who are gluten intolerant do.  I react to quinoa just like I do to gluten.  Freddies/Kroger came out with their own gluten-free Bread and I didn't think to read the ingredients.  I couldn't figure out where I would have gotten gluten in my diet until I read the ingredients in their bread... QUINOA
    • trents
      Thanks for the additional information. I was thinking of asking you if your daughter was taking methylated vitamins since she has the MTHFR gene but you beat me to it. To answer the question you posed in your original post, as I explained, celiac disease does not damage the colon but the lining of the small bowel. If the damage is pronounced enough and the doc doing it is experienced, yes, the damage done to the lining of the small bowel can be spotted with the naked eye.
    • cameo674
      I could not locate the correct Gary Brecka video where he explains the methylation process and specifically states things about how people with the MTRR homozygous gene mutation are known to suffer from heartburn due to a weakened valve/sphincter where the esophagus and the stomach connect.  My brother had the youtube video sent to him from 10x health which is probably why I cannot locate it.     I will have read up on mast cell activation.  I do not know anything about it.  Tums is my preferred gerd treatment.  I always figured a little extra calcium could not hurt me.  
    • cameo674
      Trents: Due to a genetic mutation, my daughter has inherited from both parents she cannot process the Folic Acid provided in the fortified American grains.   An MD told her to avoid eating fortified grains.   My daughter makes the assumption that unless she makes the food item, that the baker used a fortified grain so she has been limiting her gluten intake since 2020.   Her Psychiatrist was who tested her for MTHFR gene issue because she suffers from depression and severe anxiety. The Psychatrist also instructed my daughter to supplement with a methylated version of folate once she knew my daughter was homozygous, because the methylated version bypasses the mutated gene step so her body can absorb it.  Low folate absorption impacts serotonin and dopamine production.  My husband and I also both have two other homozygous gene mutations that interfere with vitamin absorption: MTRR and VDR taq.  The first interferes with B-12 absorption which requires us to take a methylated B-12 vitamin and the second with Vitamin D absorption so we have to take higher doses to stay within normal levels.   My brother, who has the exact same gene mutations, went through 10x health genetic testing for vitamin supplements (paid by his employer) and received a huge report saying the same things about which types of supplements had to be taken.  Gary Brecka does videos on how these gene mutations impact the vitamin absorption pathways.       If my brother had not gotten his testing through work, he would never would have started his supplement journey.  His testing is what triggered my getting functional health testing that tested similar biomarkers to his.  Again the celiac testing was an add-on test that I did off the cuff.  
×
×
  • Create New...