Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Uptons JackFruit BBQ meat alternative


Ennis-TX

Recommended Posts

Ennis-TX Grand Master

I found Uptons Jackfruit meat alternative in chili lime and BBQ flavors. Says it is vegan, and free of gluten and soy. See no gluten-free certifications on it though and I know the company also makes stuff out of seitan. Anyone tried this or heard anything on it? I am waiting on a response from the company about the way they handle and package it and if they will guarantee that it is safe for a celiac to consume.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kenlove Rising Star

We don't have uptons in Hawaii but do have The Jackfruit Company (by Global Village Fruit, Inc.)  which Ive never had a problem with.  Dont get it often since we grow our own. Tried one other companies too with no problem.

 

  • 1 month later...
Ennis-TX Grand Master

First few packages were fine this last one got me, swollen lymph nodes first sign after tasting, a bit on my finger, Then I ran it in a tester the BBQ one from the date codes listed are not safe. MAR 04 2018  tested positive for gluten.

kareng Grand Master
57 minutes ago, Ennis_TX said:

First few packages were fine this last one got me, swollen lymph nodes first sign after tasting, a bit on my finger, Then I ran it in a tester the BBQ one from the date codes listed are not safe. MAR 04 2018  tested positive for gluten.

I think some of the test strips  not meant for vinegar based things (I  assume a BBQ sauce has a vinegar) - they do not give a true result.  You might want to check yours?

Ennis-TX Grand Master

Perhaps, I am sending it to a lab. I tested the Curry Flavor I got that also has vinegar and it came back negative. Retested the BBQ and it came back positive, low positive but positive.  But your right I should hold off mentioning this til after we know for sure.

kareng Grand Master
Just now, Ennis_TX said:

Perhaps, I am sending it to a lab. I tested the Curry Flavor I got that also has vinegar and it came back negative. Retested the BBQ and it came back positive, low positive but positive.  But your right I should hold off mentioning this til after we know for sure.

What did the company say?

  • 2 weeks later...
Ennis-TX Grand Master

Lab results back in is negative, seems I was thrown off by the vinegar and the red coloring, What got me sick that week was something else in my diet I later pinned down. Sorry for the misinformation. I got it checked by watchdog also just to be sure, and it seems it was my mistake. Open Original Shared Link


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...