Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Sarsons Malt Vinegar


jonniecheesecake

Recommended Posts

jonniecheesecake Newbie

Sorry if this has been asked many times before.

But Sarsons Malt Vinegar, is it safe to put on my chips?

Trying to eat totally gluten free, but on doing a internet search i find i'm getting many different opinions on Sarsons Malt Vinegar.

the gluten-free food checker APP says it's OK and so does Coeliac UK, but many sites say avoid at all costs!

Very Confusing!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Gemini Experienced
5 minutes ago, jonniecheesecake said:

Sorry if this has been asked many times before.

But Sarsons Malt Vinegar, is it safe to put on my chips?

Trying to eat totally gluten free, but on doing a internet search i find i'm getting many different opinions on Sarsons Malt Vinegar.

the gluten-free food checker APP says it's OK and so does Coeliac UK, but many sites say avoid at all costs!

Very Confusing!

As far as I know from 12 years of gluten-free, anything with malt is a big no-no!  I am curious as to why Coeliac UK would consider it safe unless there has been real development of gluten-free malt vinegar! 

kareng Grand Master

"malt vinegar" is considered to contain gluten.  

jonniecheesecake Newbie

So why do coeliac uk say it's ok?

Open Original Shared Link

kareng Grand Master
7 minutes ago, jonniecheesecake said:

So why do coeliac uk say it's ok?

Open Original Shared Link

I don't know.  Maybe you could ask them?

 

in the US, we are told it is not safe -

Open Original Shared Link

"Vinegar is a solution made of acetic acid and flavoring materials such as apples, grapes, grain and molasses. For example, cider vinegar is made from apple juice; malt vinegar is made from barley malt, Balsamic vinegar is made from grapes. Distilled vinegars (including vinegars in foods and condiments) are gluten-free because the distillation process filters out the large gluten proteins so they do not pass through to the end product making the finished liquid gluten free. Patients with celiac disease should not be concerned about distilled white vinegar or foods such as pickles, which may contain it. The exception to this rule is malt vinegar, which is not distilled, and therefore is not safe to consume.  "

cap6 Enthusiast

Agree - in U.S. it would NOT be considered safe.

 

Jmg Mentor
15 hours ago, jonniecheesecake said:

Sorry if this has been asked many times before.

But Sarsons Malt Vinegar, is it safe to put on my chips?

Trying to eat totally gluten free, but on doing a internet search i find i'm getting many different opinions on Sarsons Malt Vinegar.

the gluten-free food checker APP says it's OK and so does Coeliac UK, but many sites say avoid at all costs!

Very Confusing!

Open Original Shared Link

"Due to the fermentation process involved, the finished product only contains a trace amount of gluten which is well below the safe levels."

Although that's just for 'malt vinegar not necessarily Sarsons. I avoid all forms in any case but then I tend to play it safe when there's any doubt whatsoever.  For instance when I drank I avoided gluten spirits like whisky, but Coeliac UK say that the distillation process renders them safe also. I think there are people here who are super sensitive that have whisky so I'm probably in the wrong there.

I do know that barley malt can affect me. I found out that I was reacting to a cereal brand which was once on Coeliac UK's safe list. When I rechecked it had been removed and sure enough when I removed it from my diet I realised I was reacting to it. 

Anyway, as far as vinegar goes I just switched to cider, balsamic or wine vinegar and don't miss malt really at all.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master
1 hour ago, Jmg said:

Open Original Shared Link

"Due to the fermentation process involved, the finished product only contains a trace amount of gluten which is well below the safe levels."

Although that's just for 'malt vinegar not necessarily Sarsons. I avoid all forms in any case but then I tend to play it safe when there's any doubt whatsoever.  For instance when I drank I avoided gluten spirits like whisky, but Coeliac UK say that the distillation process renders them safe also. I think there are people here who are super sensitive that have whisky so I'm probably in the wrong there.

I do know that barley malt can affect me. I found out that I was reacting to a cereal brand which was once on Coeliac UK's safe list. When I rechecked it had been removed and sure enough when I removed it from my diet I realised I was reacting to it. 

Anyway, as far as vinegar goes I just switched to cider, balsamic or wine vinegar and don't miss malt really at all.

Fermentation is very different than distillation.  Distillation is gluten-free as gluten protein molecules cannot rise up with the steam and are left behind.  Fermentation seems to be more spotty.

psawyer Proficient

I'm with Karen on this question. Vinegar in general is safe and gluten-free, but MALT vinegar is the exception to the rule. While almost anything can be malted, it is almost always barley (unless explicitly stated otherwise).

GFinDC Veteran

I am fairly sure that in the USA the FDA rules say if the product is made from a gluten ingredient (wheat, rye, barley) it cannot be labeled gluten-free here.  So malt vinegar (made from barley) cannot be labeled gluten-free in the USA.

I found something called coconut aminos (Coconut Secret brand) that is an alternative to soy sauce which is gluten-free.  There are also a line of rice wine flavored vinegars from Nakano that has some gluten-free versions.  I've used the citrus flavor and the roasted garlic with no problem.  I haven't tried others.

I wouldn't take a chance on malt vinegar myself.

Nakano rice wine vinegars

Open Original Shared Link

Jmg Mentor

I think <20ppm is the standard in Europe for labelling Gluten free. Recently the regs here were changed so that there are no separate allergy boxes on labels, but all allergens (or at least the main ones) must be highlighted on ingredients lists. EG: sugar, eggs, WHEAT flour, salt MILK, PEANUTS etc. etc. It works ok.  

It's not the first time I've seen people arguing with coeliac uk over labelling. They produce a guidebook which I found invaluable when I started the diet but there always seems to be some sort of controversy over their recommendations. Like you say given theres perfectly nice rice, wine or cider vinegars why run any risk however small?

GFinDC Veteran

I think you've got it right JMG, why take a risk?  We have enough minefields to avoid as it is, without taking a chance walking into one on purpose.

There was some controversy over the USA gluten-free labeling scheme also.  For one thing, it took years longer to be decided and approved than it was supposed to.  And the amount of gluten at 20 PPM is still a bit of a controversy, as some people do react to lower levels of gluten contamination than that.  But at least we did finally get a standard, that was in theory at least somewhat modeled after European standards.

As it is, it is taking some USA food companies a while to get their products ready for a gluten-free market.  They are still making mistakes in labeling for instance.  But that's not real surprising, as there are mistakes in labeling of other ingredients too.  So we do have to be alert and watchful.  Sometimes even things labeled gluten-free are not really gluten-free.  gluten-free is a big seller these days here, and some people are more interested in profit than details.  I guess that's always been true though.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,789
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Virogirl
    Newest Member
    Virogirl
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
    • Manaan2
      I realize I'm super late in the game regarding this topic but in case anyone is still reading/commenting on this one-does anyone who is especially sensitive have their personal observations to share regarding Primal Kitchen brand?  My daughter was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with celiac and within 6 months, her follow up labs were normal and a year later vitamin levels significantly improving, but we are still battling GI symptoms; particularly, constipation, so much that she has been on MiraLax every day since she was 3.  We've managed to get her down to a half cap every other day but without that, she continues to have issues (when she has a known, accidental ingestion unfortunately it takes a lot more MiraLax and additional laxatives to help her).  I was searching for something else and found this and am wondering if anyone has any specific comments regarding Primal Kitchen.  I feel like we are so incredibly careful with diet, logging diet and symptoms to look for patterns (we've had multiple dieticians help with this piece as well), not eating out, contacting companies and of course, there is always room for improvement but I'm running out of ideas regarding where her issues could be coming from.  Even if the Primal Kitchen is contributing, I'm sure it's not the only thing contributing but I can't help but think there must be handful of things that are working together and against her.  The ingredients list distilled white vinegar, but also white wine vinegar and balsamic, then "spices" which I'm always cautious about.  However, after contacting the company, I felt more comfortable allowing her to consume their products but over time I've realized that the front-line customer service support people don't always provide the most accurate of information.  Thanks for reading to anyone that does.   
×
×
  • Create New...