This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

When will I feel normal again?

mollylou

mollylou Newbie

Hello Celiac friends,

I am new to this world and I would really just love to get some advice and possibly some questions answered. 

I am 20 years old and I was diagnosed about one month ago. Since then I have been struggling to stick to my gluten free diet and also struggling hard to stay positive. 

Here are some things I have learned thus far:

1) Gluten hides EVERYWHERE.

2) Celiac Disease gets little to no recognition and I feel very thankful that I found out what I was facing before it caused more problems.

3) People without this issue, do not understand.

Before I was diagnosed I genuinely thought I was going crazy. Out of no where I suddenly had no energy and had immense trouble getting anything accomplished, which is basically the worst case scenario if you're a junior in college. This new sickly feeling then grew into severe anxiety and panic attacks. Then came the never ending diarrhea and loss of appetite. It got to the point where I didn't want to eat at all. I had never experienced any of this before and it caused me to become massively depressed.

Once I was diagnosed, everything seemed to make sense. I felt so ready to begin my diet and to return to my normal self.

Well here I am, a month in, and I feel slightly better but not back to wellness. I am still extremely tired, and my brain still has trouble functioning. I am bloated all of the time and I also experience almost daily abdnominal pain. I am frustrated and I need answers.