This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Beer okay after all?

MarieK

MarieK Rookie

I have only been diagnosed for about 5 months, so I'm still learning.  I haven't had any beer except gluten free beer in since dx.  However, a friend of mine who has had celiacs for decades was recently drinking a regular beer, and when asked, he said that the process of making the beer made the gluten in it no longer a problem for celiacs.  I found this article online about it.  Has anyone else discovered that they can (or can't!) drink regular beer?  Almost all the other articles say celiacs cannot have regular beer.  I guess I could just try it and see if I get glutened, but I wanted to ask all your advice.

https://www.craftbeer.com/attachments/0001/6865/Celiac_Disease.pdf

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

TexasJen Collaborator
48 minutes ago, MarieK said:

I have only been diagnosed for about 5 months, so I'm still learning.  I haven't had any beer except gluten free beer in since dx.  However, a friend of mine who has had celiacs for decades was recently drinking a regular beer, and when asked, he said that the process of making the beer made the gluten in it no longer a problem for celiacs.  I found this article online about it.  Has anyone else discovered that they can (or can't!) drink regular beer?  Almost all the other articles say celiacs cannot have regular beer.  I guess I could just try it and see if I get glutened, but I wanted to ask all your advice.

https://www.craftbeer.com/attachments/0001/6865/Celiac_Disease.pdf

The article is interesting theoretically but I am not sold...