Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Allergy test confusion, need help


JamieAR

Recommended Posts

JamieAR Newbie

I have been gluten-free per doctor recommendation for 2 years now. Since I was still having stomach problems, I went in for allergy testing. It came back as:

Highly reactive: wheat, malt, yogurt

Moderately reactive: barley, cows milk, mushrooms, cottage cheese, mozzarella, kelp, sesame, ginger

Mildly reactive: green beans, chicken, sunflower, cheddar cheese, safflower

I have never gone through official celiac testing; I simply followed the doctor's orders to rid myself of gluten and see if it helped. It helped tremendously, but I still had stomach issues, unexplained fevers, and fatigue a couple of times a month. Thus the allergy testing.

My question is, is everything labeled "gluten free" also malt and barley free? Are there hidden places I should be cautious of sesame, ginger, or the other allergens? I'm willing to eliminate anything...I just want to feel better consistently.

Also, I have three kids who don't currently seem to have issues. How hereditary are these problems? 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

"Gluten-Free" is a regulated term in Canada and the USA. It refers to wheat, rye, and barely content. 

It does not specifically refer to "malt" since, while most malt is from barley, other grains can be malted without resulting in gluten content. Your allergist is wrong if he says "malt" is an issue. Wheat is gluten; yoghurt is dairy; but "malt" is not specific. You may react to certain things when malted.  But it depends on what the malt is made from.

If it says "gluten-free" it does not contain wheat, barley or rye. Other top allergens are are listed in FALCPA, which came into effect in 2006.

kareng Grand Master

That is some odd allergy testing.  I don't get the separating the dairy?  Are you supposed to be allergic to the protein in dairy?  Then  it would be for all dairy.

 

like Peter said, "malt" isn't a thing to be allergic to.  Usually, foods with " malt" say  " barley malt".  Like a malted milk ball has barley malt.  But your "allergy test" should say an allergy to barley not malt.  

 

Sorry to say, I think you wasted your money on those " tests".  

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Welcome to the board. It is too bad your 'doctor' didn't test you for celiac before telling you to go gluten free.  Since he was neglectful in that respect chances are he didn't tell you all you need to do to keep yourself safe IF you have celiac.  Since you have children and celiac is hereditary you should consider going back to eating gluten and getting tested.  Chances are good that you are not as gluten free as you think you may be and that would be what causes you to still have periodic issues.  That is especially the case if you have other folks in your home that are still eating gluten.  It was very irresponsible of your doctor to simply tell you to go gluten free without testing and giving you the full info after diagnosis to keep you safe.  He virtually guarenteed that you will still have periodic issues so he could charge you for an 'allergy' test . As other posters mentioned the results of that allergy testing are very strange and IMHO should be ignored for now.  Please consider going back on gluten, a couple slices of bread a day should be enough, and get tested by a real MD in a couple months. Meanwhile do read the Newbie 101 thread so that you will know what you need to do to keep yourself safe if those tests come back positive. Also be very cautious with any herbals or supplements that 'doctor' may have prescribed.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...